April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tundra King

by deathray - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tundra King is a game of conquest by peaceful means. The tundra is filled with a scattering of natives with no leader. If you can convince them to unite together, you can become the TUNDRA KING.

The philosophy and desires of each person is represented by a color on their chest. Through conversation, you can exchange cultures - spreading some of your color, while absorbing some color of others.

The concept for this originally involved equal parts social negotiation, crafting, harvesting and war, but I had to cut back on the crafting and combat. I left some functionality in the game which has no practical use: chopping down trees, harvesting berries, a health gauge, etc.

The art style was originally going to be much more minimal - with only black and white - but I ended up liking the pixel guys and trees I sketched up, so I went with that. The music is meant to be reminiscent of Philip Glass, the famous minimalist composer. Finally, just in case you want even more minimalism, there's a special Minimalism Mode available at the start.

Tags: HTML, HTML5, JavaScript, CSS, jQuery, Raphael, Pixel art, web, browser

Edit (04-30) - I added a post-compo version. It currently has a few menu changes and some minor fixes to make it iPad-friendly. Any additional features will be added here.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#284Humor2.68
#350Audio3.04
#363Graphics3.32
#543Innovation3.13
#598Mood2.83
#861Overall2.89
#1083Fun2.36
#1174Theme2.75

Comments

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24am

Aww it's so cute :)

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:26am

I like the concept of talking to people, but I wasn't sure what to do besides just run around and talk to everyone, trying to fill up my ally count. Never made it past 11/12 though.

Waynetron says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:25am

Took me a bit to work out you have to talk to everyone. I also didn't find any use for the items or the action button. I like the concept of talking and becoming friends though.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:29am

Wow, really really original game. Like it :)

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:08am

Too bad you dpn't have all the planned features implemented. I liked the idea very much, but I haven't noticed strong feedback from other... people? And without it you can just run and spam E and win eventually.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Very original, i like it! , but i wasn't sure what i need to do

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:27pm

12! I have 12 friends! I AM THE TUNDRA KING

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Seemed a bit too easy and what are the rocks for?

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:56pm

nice and original idea

deathray says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:03am

Thanks for all the feedback so far! I'm aware that it is much too easy. I wanted to make it so the natives of an opposing color were actually hostile, and add a whole combat mechanic based on crafting spears, but didn't get to it. Updates and info on the creation: http://deathraygames.tumblr.com/tagged/LD48

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:29am

Liked the art style and the music a lot. Also the talking sfx and bubbles were sell done. Like others mentioned, I wasn't sure what to do besides walk and talk. I gathered resources but had no idea what to do with them. I became King then stopped.

shawn42 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:04am

A fun short game. I'm not sure what the items were for / did?

elbowroom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20pm

This looks more like an interactive sandbox and a base for a future game more than a game on it's own. I like the concept of travelling in a world and collecting allies. It could be fun if there is a challenging goal to face.

rodrigomotta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:18am

Man, I cant understand 100% of your game, but the concept is amazing. Congrats. I think you can evolve this concept. So, please play and rate my game, when you visited the link was broken, now is fixed. Thank you.

rwos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Well, the game itself is a bit unfinished - but I don't mind, the sound is so great I could run around and press "talk" all day! :-) I also like the art style a lot. With a bit more gameplay, this could really be a great game!

jamioflan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:43pm

I love the colour interaction, even if its a little simple. I'm impressed to see iPad support (I played the post composed version) and it held up OK. Overall a decent idea, but it's a real pity you never implemented all the little things

DaveDobson says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:54am

Neat look and cool idea, but not much game there. Very appealing concept and graphic style.

Stiju says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:07pm

So confusing but... I can't complain about it, I made 12 new friends and became king.

Zccc says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:44pm

I really like the idea, well done :D

Spiridios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Audio doesn't work in Firefox, which is too bad because your audio adds a lot.

tacograveyard says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:47am

Interesting, but I am not entirely sure I get it.. I became the king, but I don't know what the collectables were for.

jacklehamster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:03am

Must have been inspired from Teletubbies

lasergans says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:55am

Love the simplicity of communication in your game. The idea has potential. :)

MrBlade says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Wonderful job! Keep up the great work! Love the sound, very fun to play. :D

sparkleswirl says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:22am

I like the feel of the game, but having the inventory and the tree cutting and stuff really broke the minimalism mood, especially since they don't seem necessary for the completion of the game.

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:54am

Is there anything else to do beside talking to the other guys? Maybe it hasn't been finished in time (too bad, but it in that case it seemed to be a pretty good start :)).

evilDan says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:41am

Really an interesting idea but would have liked to have seen the mechanic expanded some.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 5:27am

the theme was great but not sure what to do -- maybe i dont like talking to people -- nice job

ethankennerly says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Talking charmed me. Listening to the cyclical music induced me to contemplate. If you continue to develop this: I didn't find a way to use the resources that I picked up from the rock, bush, and tree. I didn't feel challenged; it seemed I just won by talking to everyone, so I'm not sure how I would develop my skill.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]