April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

xro48

by larb - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-Use Chrome browser. The game works in Firefox, but Firefox will not have audio.

-Controls:
A, W, D
or
Up Arrow, Left Arrow, Right Arrow.


-Game length is about 2 minutes.

Thanks for playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#38Theme4.27
#39Audio3.90
#111Mood3.60
#113Innovation3.79
#200Graphics3.67
#344Overall3.39
#952Fun2.55
#984Humor1.63

Comments

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:05am

I REALLY liked the graphics ad the visual effects, it is very minimal, and beautiful. The audio is quite amazing. I did not understand how can I survive(the controls are complicated)

Liikeaturtle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:33pm

The graphics are great and its very unique but I'm having trouble understanding what the point of the game is

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52pm

I don't get how the game works tbh but great interpretation of the theme.

jmf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Brilliant mix of sound with gameplay. *Love* the art style. Definitely a gem.

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Yeah I have no idea how the game works but it looks really cool and the control mechanism is really unique. I gave it 4 stars

scorder says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57pm

I simply tried to make music. It is minimal but very nicely executed in that sense.
I'm not sure what the end scores mean, I wished for a longer playtime instead.
It works for me!

Hamumu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:58pm

The controls are pretty frustrating, but I really liked the style... although I only marginally understood what I was doing on my second try. Since my score was -781 (and also +9? I don't get much about this game...), I'm guessing I didn't understand that well. Really good job with the minimal style and atmosphere, but a little explaining would've been good (perhaps outside of the game if you want to be artsy).

uberneen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09pm

This was relaxing to play around with. I think I might understand some of what I'm supposed to be doing now but some additional instructions would be helpful.

multitude says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Love the retro graphics. the sound is cool too. reminds me of the old c64 times. the ship is a bit hard to see when it turns black on a black background. but all in all this is a nice little game :)

larb says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:26am

Wow, thanks for all the comments.

I left out instructions on purpose for the minimalism theme. I just wanted to let people to explore and experiment. Backfired maybe? :D

There's really not much to it. Just move around and enjoy for 2 minutes. You can't lose.

But here's the scoring system I tacked on. Touch a colored square to get 1 green point. When touching a white stripe, you start to flash, and you lose 1 red point per animation frame. Touching a colored square makes you invincible. (Invisible too.)

ovenchips says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Wonderful game - a fresh, original concept. I can see you being able to build this out into bigger game. Some feedback on how the player is performing would be cool (but maybe that isn't minimal!). Well done!

Jim Haslett says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:19am

I loved the sound and how it related to the events on the screen. I have no idea what the object of the game is.

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:03am

Beautiful and mesmerizing. Reminds me of 2001: A Space Odyssey - high praise, in my opinion.

mattperrin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:03am

I think you're on to a potentially really cool idea. Hope you continue working on it.

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:17am

It took me three games to fully understand all of the game rules, but now that I do, I really like the concept. I think if there was a slower difficulty ramp-up, the rules would actually become self evident without requiring multiple play-throughs or explanations. The visuals are good and the audio is beautiful and perfect. However, the control scheme and avatar were quite frustrating. I think a freely moving avatar with direct positional control with a mouse or touchscreen would have worked better. Overall, a very nice piece.

Grouflon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:33am

Pretty hard to figure out what we're supposed to do and how the controls works. But there's a real work on the overall mood, I had a beautiful time playing this game :)

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:09am

I like the graphical style, it reminded me of the early Atari video games. The mixing of the audio with the visuals was brilliant.

JohnnySix says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:49am

Really liked this - the controls were a little difficult to master once the white lines started hitting fast and wide, but still fun. I scored +17, which I was proud of. :D

madballneek says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Pretty much a near perfect use of the theme. I've had similar design ideas myself in terms of the use of music and audio, but you've executed it much better than I ever could!

runonthespot says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Liked the tie-in with music and that famous minimalist work. I think when I next see Mondrian style work, I'll be thinking in piano notes :)

Mesene says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Beautiful entry, I enjoyed it a lot.
Thanks :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]