April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tamawatchi

by rykounanba - Jam Entry

A tamagotchi game made with haxe.

Installation help:
- unpack the whole game at the place you want it.
- go to the bin folder, open the ludum dare swf.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1775Coolness26%

Comments

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:23am

Could you please put up a guide on how to play the game. I have no idea how to open the game, I have tried putting the .swf into my browser, but I just get a blank page.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Nice game, I found the idea very interesting and innovative ;)

lanz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Can't run, same as Perry...

someone says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:06pm

I am also getting a blank screen.

KEFIR says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Reminds me one of my first games :) Cute!

aeveis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Not sure what the clock is there for and what some of the objects do, like the briefcase. It is a cute game though.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Same here, just a blank screen -- also -- if it's an .swf why did you label it as Windows only?

May 3, 2013 @ 6:26pm

That was weird but the idea is good. To people who can't play the file: you must extract the zip first, it won't work if you try to execute from the zip itself.

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Pretty cool. I liked it, it was bit confusing. But I'm glad the horse had no legs when it slept. Good job

rykounanba says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:54pm

The problem with blank screen should be fixed when you extract the game. If not please hit me up because I screwed something up. We could have done much to make it less confusing, but my partner in crime was highly frustrated as it was her first time working on a game. Thanks for all the feedback!

Jorjon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:38pm

The game resolution is is fixed to 1920x1080, so those using laptops can't play at all. Also, there are no instructions of what icon do what.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:41pm

I also got only a blank page, Win7 with Chrome (the game is extracted). Just opening in Chrome didn't work.

naughtyloose says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:33pm

couldn't get this to work.

ovenchips says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Tried dropping the SWF into IE, Chrome and FF. No luck I'm afraid.

rykounanba says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:40pm

I tried using it in my browser itself and it gives problems. Thanks for showing me this problem. I always run it as a shockwave flash, never trough the browser. Doing that would solve the problem. I think the problem with the browser lies in the NME loader class and needs the browser loader class in haxe. Also the resulotion is fixed to 1920 X 1080 currently but using the native flash you are capable to fit it to your resolutions. I tested this on another pc.

May 9, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Same problem. Blank screen.

Sheep says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:10am

It's a fun idea, it fits the theme. But I can't see any progess in the game, like how my pet is doing.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]