April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Stomp Space

by dark_hunter - Jam Entry

Take control of a new experimental weapon and shrink enemies and objects, while trying to escape!

If you find yourself unable to "jump" the pit, look around. After all this is part of the puzzle.

There are very rare random crashes from the external physics library. If this happend, just restart the game (Again these cases are quite rare).

NOTE: We didn't really like the theme, but we have inspiration for a good looking game. So we didn't follow it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#118Humor(Jam)2.88
#161Graphics(Jam)3.66
#191Innovation(Jam)3.23
#238Audio(Jam)3.02
#255Fun(Jam)2.95
#355Mood(Jam)2.68
#362Overall(Jam)2.89
#475Theme(Jam)2.57

Comments

BigBlackBeard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:36am

"Honey, I Shrunk the Kids" :)
A very good game !

timtimtimtim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:46am

interesting concept. couldn't figure out how to jump out of pit

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:49am

Awesome game! However, I also could not figure how to jump. It has great graphics but they don't really follow the theme. However, I enjoyed it!

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:53am

Pretty amusing, I also got stuck

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:00am

On a mac, so can't play this one.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:02am

With some more polish and some levels this could be pretty sweet. Maybe even a left click shrink/right click enlarge kind of thing too.

notepid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:43am

Good concept, but I do not see how this fits with the theme.

manabreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:52am

Crashes after the first "press any key to continue" screen.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:13am

Wow very good! I was hoping that a box falling on a tiny mob would kill him but i had to it myself !

MRvanderPants says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:20am

Really cool game. I loved stomping the enemy's. Cool graphics and audio.

syre says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42am

oh, i thought it followed the theme because you were making things minimal. didn't have any jump troubles. good game except for the giant wall.

GingerMess says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:09am

Very amusing, but could do with a way to reset the level or navigate back to the menu when you get stuck or die.

TehSkull says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:40am

I don't think there's a way to beat this game. Way hard at the end. The glitchy stomping and the inability to jump or turn left, or turn your gun past a certain angle made it more difficult.

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:23pm

cool idea...

pikmin4000 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Graphics and sound effects are done really nicely, but level design feels incomplete and there were many instances where I had shrunk something too much, or got stuck in a pit, or got killed and then did not know what to do, having to close and reopen the game. My suggestion would be to add a checkpoint, add variety to the enemies, and when you die only show a death screen for a short amount of time before putting the player back into the game. It was also frustrating to not know when I was going to die or near death.

moomoo112 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:46am

would be better if I could face the other way too, and there's no in game reset when I died

angelk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:19am

The audio made this extra fun :) I liked the literal use of "minimal" with the shrink ray. Even though you used someone else's character, I liked that it put me in a specific frame of mind. I agree with the gameplay issues about being stuck; perhaps a respawn button that only sets you back a few units in the world?

robotality says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:54am

Nice idea, I had the problem, that I could get stuck in places and would not come out again.
With some polish this could be a really fun game. Especially when you could shrink even more stuff in the world :D

kibertoad says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:07am

Beyond impressive production values for a jam platformer and a clever nod to the theme.

rzfmzn says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:05pm

I like the concept, nice work =OD

Spiridios says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:59am

Very fun game with a great interpretation of the theme. Needs a bit of polish still. Would have liked a way to restart the game, but I know that can be problematic at times (my own game can't restart due to an audio bug I didn't have time to fix).

OU GDA says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Lol, pretty good use of shinking mechanics imho. Could have been interesting if you could turn it back on yourself to get past certain puzzles.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Gorgeous theme and nice idea, unfortunately awkward controls (stomp hitbox approximative, no turning back and so), keep it up tho

May 13, 2013 @ 6:26pm

ha,this was pretty fun... i wish it could be full screen, cuz it's kind of easy to click off the screen accidentally and get whacked.

even though you said you didn't like the theme, it kind of fits in that you are "minimalizing" your enemies :D

GarethIW says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Great idea, pretty fun aside from the slightly janky stomping. Would like to play a polished/full version!

MinionStudios says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Fun and crazy... love the shrink ray

imagnity says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:12pm

You should redesign the levels. The mechanics are already there. The level design is not complete.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]