April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

We Need Potato

by pl0xz0rz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I present my second Ludum Dare entry, We Need Potato.

I created the game in HTML5 without using third party libraries that weren't part of standard HTML.

The game refuses to run in Internet Explorer, I'll try to fix it.

About the multiple collision damage - wall impact damage depends on the velocity of impact, while dark orbs deal a fixed 6 damage each.

Also, you lose 1 hitpoint each 1.5 seconds.

The game is a mouse avoider, in which you have to avoid collecting items, that help you, while giving you points, that are bad for you.

Instructions: Mouse only, follow the ingame tutorial.

Edit: I forgot to replace the mute button. I don't think this would disqualify me, as it's a minor thing.

Edit: There are three levels now and two endings. The last level and the two endings were made in the compo 48 hours, however the path to them got broken when uploading to Dropbox, and I forgot to check the Dropbox version too.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#958Innovation2.55
#969Audio1.90
#1126Graphics2.26
#1197Overall2.45
#1213Mood1.94
#1250Theme2.59
#1300Fun1.77
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

Yacodo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:30am

Didn't understand if I got the control right, but it seem to be really slow to change direction. Also, look like the collision (-HP) take effect multiple time at once.

Gama11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16pm

The controls aren't even nearly responsive enough for you to be able to avoid obstacles and enemy bullets, which kinda ruins it. Also, I don't really like the idea of losing HP over time.

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:39pm

I liked the unusual controls/movement, especially the fact that one can bounce against the walls. Though, as the other commenters have said, a little stronger influence of the mouse position would have been great. I also find the connection to the theme rather weak. But other than that, good work!

sythe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Floaty controls make it oddly difficult.

Grouflon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:33pm

I've got to admit the game is very hard to control and is very punitive... Touch two walls = you're dead. I did'nt have much pleasure to play it... Sorry about that.

MaxSzlagor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Interesting idea that could benefit from more forgiving mechanics. Some possible suggestions: call out health more clearly, remove loss of health from moving around, make it easier to find a weapon (I couldn't find it anywhere in the 2nd level so I had no way to recover health). Also, the tutorial screens are jarring and I died several times immediately after the one that introduced me to the purple enemies because I was disoriented when going back to the game. Thank you for sharing!

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Like the fairy animation, almost like the click movement. Didn't like the speed, bit fast for me personally, not much time for thinking when flying towards lightning rune.

May 1, 2013 @ 8:23pm

I dont like the controls so strange :/

henrykun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:26pm

I like the idea but it's a bit hard to control. I love the character's effect, it looks nice.

cahman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:39pm

The game looks pretty slick, but I agree with the other comments. The controls make the game unnecessarily difficult.

May 3, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Controls were quite hard but this game is actually very unique. Despite the controls, it's a nice game.

Cosmologicon says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Agreed, it's really unforgiving and hard to control....

f7f5 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Man, I though my game was hard! :) I actually like the base idea, i just couldn't get the hang of it, sorry.

Puccini says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 2:11am

I don't like the controls and it's very hard.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]