April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Shmup

by mkpictures - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here's my compo. A simple shoot'em up ( Only 2 levels, and some sprites. I didn't have the time to make some other levels, because of a bad textfile structure :/ So I lost a shitload of time doing those 2 levels xD )

It's made in C++/SFML, and I used Visual Studio 2010.
I will maybe do a Linux version in a few days, if I have the time.

It was a really great experience for me, even if I still have a lot to learn.

Hope you'll enjoy this!

Controls: direction arrows to move the ship, space to shoot.
Enter to select in the menu

update1: added a frame limit to 60 fps to make the game playable on some configurations.

update2: Now it'll work on resolution >= than x*768 ( under that, I think the screen will be too small :/ ). I also removed the laser sound, as it was really annoying. And fixed a colliding bug on the boss. There should be less frame rate drop too.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1015Fun2.45
#1019Audio1.65
#1197Overall2.45
#1246Mood1.67
#1273Theme2.50
#1297Innovation1.85
#1300Graphics1.81
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:07am

You may want to limit the fps, it's unplayable as I'm dead as soon as the game starts.

mkpictures says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:27am

Okay, that's weird, because I enabled the vertical sync. I'll add a frameLimit to 60fps then.

foul says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:19am

The game is very hard in that speed. I tried the boss several times but failed. But it's good start as a shooter - if you don't remove the bullets of the destroyed enemy it will become even better.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:20am

It's a good start! The only bad thing was the shooting sound, too loud/repetitive, maybe add a background music to cover it up !

Adbook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:28am

The game is pretty good, although a bit difficult :)

Salamander3 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:28pm

I couldn't get this game to open on my laptop, sorry. Windows 7, 64 bit?

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:30pm

It's an ok shmup but it slows down too much for a this limited number of particles (you certainly may have room for optimisations). Also an energy bar would be great for both the foes and the boss. Still it works and it's a nice try before your upcoming hellish shmup. Because now you have tried you have to come up with a great bullet hell!

mkpictures says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:50pm

@Salamander3, which cpu/gpu do you have ? I developed it on a Win7 64bit, tested it on 2 win7 64 bit and it worked.. What's problem do you have ? Error message or something ? I'll try to check that out

Lythom says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:20pm

hi there, here's some feedback.
What I loved :
- game area sized for the game type
- smooth in animations and movements
What imo could be improved :
- bugs (you don't fire anymore when at the very bottom, ennemies projectiles disapear when they are destroyed)
- sounds (sry but... really annoying >.<)
- graphics/art style (could be closer the theme, more stylished)
- the feeling you (can) get stronger (a common design success in shootem up is the feeling you get stronger with new weapons or bonuses !)
- me (yeah I suck at those kind of games so I found it hard but most likely I'm really bad)

good overall, thanks for the game !

Nyyman says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:29pm

The audio was disappointing (not too many sounds and the laser sound is way too loud) but it was amusing, a good start :)

dray says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:17am

hey, same problem as salamander3 i think

fr : quand je le lance, je vois l'icone dans la barre des tâches mais aucune fenetre s'ouvre. je suis sous w7 64bit avec un amd turion II 2.3ghz.

mkpictures says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:30am

Okay, I found what's the problem... The game is supposed to run in a 600*800 window, so if you have something like a 1366*768 resolution it'll not work. I'll fix that now and up the new version tomorrow!

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Damn tortoise! (It's a tortoise, right?)

Nice game!

mkpictures says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:37am

Yeah, it could be a tortoise :D ( Actually, I don't know myself what I draw )
Thanks for your comments btw :)

kibertoad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:21am

I liked this entry. Not particularly good at shmups but i managed to defeat the first boss after like 3 tries. The second boss....not so much. Even so I liked it. You did well with the theme. Good job!

paulopn says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:30am

Looks like a great start for a bullet hell shooter. There's not much there, but what is there works perfectly. Great! =D

HelkeGames says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:31am

Nice game, well done!

imagnity says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Pretty good actually.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]