April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

<Title>

by rukbotto - Jam Entry

This "game" even doesn't have a proper name!

In this game you are a lonely mob wandering inside a dark maze. The goal is to get out of three consecutive mazes, each one more difficult that the last one.

Sometimes, just sometimes, the "game" seems to load in-game screens to slow.

Sometimes, the mazes are generated without an exit, so no hope for you :(.

Sometimes, the maze is so big you'll never get out of it.

You're supposed to pick up some lights from the floor but the time was over and I couldn't add some texture for them. You'll see green squares instead.

In any case, feel free to play it and tell me what do you think :)

Howto:

Up, down, left, right for movement.
Space to pickup lights from the maze floor.

At the beginning you have to guide the mob by hitting the walls. Sometimes you'll hear a bell-like sound. This is the sound of a light in the floor. Pick it up with space key and then light it on by hitting space again.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#207Theme(Jam)3.45
#259Innovation(Jam)3.00
#278Graphics(Jam)3.16
#291Mood(Jam)2.86
#300Humor(Jam)2.00
#326Overall(Jam)2.97
#351Audio(Jam)2.58
#431Fun(Jam)2.42
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:06am

Nice work! Bumping into walls was fun because of the animation and sound. I had a good time on the first level and then bumped around for quite a while without finding a flashlight on the second. Suggest adding a single guaranteed flashlight near the player at the start. Interesting concept!

rukbotto says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:43am

Thank you MaxSzalor!

anjack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:49am

I really like the game mechanics. The character animation when you hit a wall and the bell sound were cool. I also liked that the torches only lasted a short time, so you have to ration them out only when you need them and risk missing a side passage.

Well done!

PixelOaks says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:56am

This is an interesting little game. I missed the controls on the <title> screen though so I didn't know there were lights and was trying to navigate the maze using the sounds as indication to turn. This of course didn't work out too well, then I found out about the lights and all was well.

CNIAngel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:59am

Great job. This was a pretty nice take on minimalism.

Hayawi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:22am

Nice game, I cannot really say much else though

davidpeter says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:47am

I'm deaf and could really use a visual indication of a light being there :P

There was a lot of bumping around, and I "fixed" the fact I couldn't hear the sounds by mashing the space button. I liked that it fit the theme most, and I enjoy the cute graphics!

captainkraft says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:50am

Some of the screens load a little slow, which I think you know already, and it's a bit hopeless haha. Walking around with no goal. We need a goal.

Cool start to a game

Tyro says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:00am

So I started up the game, but for some reason there were no lights? I could still move around and bump into the walls though. The protagonist was pretty adorable for a block/robot/man creature.

sharbelfs says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:08am

The idea is good, but if i think if the player have at least one light bar.

Galvesmash says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:34am

Great Idea, but it needs something to indicate where the next light are (or something like that)

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Cool game. Congratz!

notepid says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Like the concept. Nice game! :)

May 17, 2013 @ 6:13am

Did this take FOREVER to load for anyone else?

hgouveia says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Well done, good game i like the art and the sound, but i spent too much time on the dark xD

May 20, 2013 @ 1:39am

While it fits well with the theme of minimalism, I think you could make the stages more fun if you could see a bit and designed the mazes a bit more intricately so it didn't just turn into a face-wall planting simulator.

JonRB says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:58am

Nice game, if a little tedious. I liked the navigation with sound and in fact the concept of the game in general.

foul says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Nice game with cool ambient, graphics and ... darkness :)
Only suggestion is that torches can be lit (i mean indication where they are) before you get them, because searching for one in complete darkness is really hard, specially with that timeout when hit by a wall.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]