April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Funky Lincoln Saves the Day

by TheCze - Jam Entry

Evil hackers from the planet 2600 have attacked earths computers and disabled all main input methods. Only armed with the letters A-Z, Funky Lincoln needs to type fast to survive and restore human control on earth!



Funky Lincoln is a jump and run game with minimalistic controls. Instead of pressing SPACE or SHIFT to perform actions, the players need to type out the actions to perform then. The game features 15 levels that range from easy to lunatic, can you beat them all?

Hint: Remember to type NEXTLEVEL after finishing a level.






Funky Lincoln was created by Daniel Czeppel & Patrick Ulmer for the Ludum Dare 26 Jam in 72hours.
The game was written in Java using the libgdx framework. Thanks alot to the kind folks in the libgdx chat without whom we would never have been able to get the webstart working!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#17Innovation(Jam)4.04
#33Fun(Jam)3.74
#59Humor(Jam)3.27
#75Overall(Jam)3.67
#263Mood(Jam)2.98
#334Theme(Jam)3.12
#400Audio(Jam)2.16
#406Graphics(Jam)2.72

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:09am

Very interesting idea gj.

DBRalir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:11am

Very fun and difficult game!

dakeese says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:13am

I love this concept! At first I thought it'd be just like Typing of the Dead, but this is a very original concept!

Krahe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14am

Clever use of simple mechanic; enjoyable variety. I think I may have enjoyed it a little more if I didn't suck at typing, but overall a really sweet entrant.

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:18am

damn i hate looking at the keyborad when typing letters xD

Avrec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39am

Very well done! Managed to beat it but that was HARD; gonna have to give my wrists a break.

Otoris says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:21am

This style of game is amazing! I love the challenge of typing while thinking of what to type next.

Only complaint is that the audio is really sharp and painful with headphones on. Otherwise, that is quite amazing that was created in 72-hours!

Kudos!

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:37am

Wow, easy to learn, hard to master :) Had fun with this one! Well done!

mollymus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:10am

Cool idea! I just disliked that if you slide ~1 frame above the ground you still get it by enemies that are one tile above ground:< Happend so many times:(

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Very engaging mechanics. Nice idea and execution, although the graphics are a little hard on the eyes. Good job!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Wow that was a lot of fun. Awesome mechanic!

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Having to type pause to pause is evil. Love it.

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Wow - finally a game where i learn something. The idea is pretty cool, but maybe the game is a bit hard - or i should train my typing. ;)

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Great game! I like the concept of typing actions, but it's a little difficult if you can't type without looking at your keyboard :)

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Great game...and especially with the level design you did a great job constantly increasing the difficulty. Very challenging game where you always have the feeling it is you who screwed it up and not the level is too hard...(super meat boy-like :D)
Again, great job!

Entity2D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Fun, yet tricky game.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Such a cool idea! The sliding through walls glitches are really funny :D

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Really cool, nice way to play a platformer. Funky lincoln is probably the best character i've seen. Good job!

Harsay says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Challenging level design. Sometimes controls can be annoying (pixel perfect slide on air) but I like it!

ecool377 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:01am

Good start, kinda hard though.

chowdy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:07am

Really neat mechanic. Very challenging levels... frustrating but satisfying to pull off well.

cahman says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:13am

I liked it. That's the funkiest Mr. Lincoln has ever been! Maybe typing other words, instead typing the action name every time would mix it up?

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:14am

Great graphics and a fun take on the runner game genre. I kept having Megaman 8 flashbacks while playing this for some reason...

awppy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:28am

Funky Lincoln Teaches Typing

This game was really neat. Congrats on your clever idea - it was well executed and the difficulty ramps up quite nicely. Around level 10 I started getting bored of it, but kept going to see the end.

joekinley says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:35am

Gah what a hard game. I kept typing "JUM"... and waited to enter that P... same with SLIDE... i guess everyone did just that. But as soon as I had to slide mid air, i was just too bad. Kept screwing up that part.

Fun little idea, although I found it rather annoying to type in the whole jump. Yeah I guess that was the point there, still it was weird and all.

The sound was bad. It was totally annoying and loud. Well, at least it had sound.

Good work though. It ran great, everything seemed well done.

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:48am

Great idea. Rapidly difficult. Would be fun to learn keyboard.

vapgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Fun and hard!

fishbrain says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Brilliant! Really enjoyed this... got to level 10 and had to bail.

captainkraft says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:46pm

This game is a ton of fun. It gets pretty tough, which I love. If you make some graphics that don't burn out my retinas, you'd have an epic game haha. Well done

Qaterknan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:46pm

I broke my fingers. But it was worth it! :D

Ariake81 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:53pm

didnt work for me, just hung on a black screen?.... funky lincoln is an awesome name though!

SmilingCat says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:14pm

This played really well. Very original and very well polished.

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Pretty fun, but I stopped at level 6 which was a bit hard. I might come back to this one later ;). Too bad the scrolling is so jerky.

Kiwiboi says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Great game, even though it looks generic the controls make it pretty unique, well done guys! :)

May 3, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Hahaha so frustrating! XD

goerp says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Haha, funny. I played it with CAPSLOCK on just to be sure.
Why it had to be lincoln, I have no idea, but it makes it all the better.
It had the old skool vibe to it, including the bleeps (also from me) and the difficulty.
Good one.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Phew, took me a while to realize I have to type. I almost already failed at the menu screen :D
Very fun game, gets devilishly hard in the later levels ;)

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Awesome game! Typing mechanics are really funny and hard to master. Congratz!

zkenshin says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:09am

Quite a unique experience. :)

mildmojo says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:06am

I love offbeat typing games. Never realized how hard it is to type the word JUMP. That index finger has to hit 3 keys!

I feel like I just barely beat the game. The JUMPSLIDE was really satisfying. You did a great job at teaching new mechanics and then leveraging them in complex and difficult patterns.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Really good fun. Stuck on level 6 though. It got brutal!

Ryusui says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:33am

There was no way a game with this title couldn't be hilarious. I gave up at Level 10 - the timing was insane, and I'm pretty fast with my fingers. XD

dremelofdeath says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:15am

really neat concept you got here, but man level 10 is freaking hard, eventually just gave up there

May 17, 2013 @ 2:43am

Very well done, I mean it was bloody hard but a great idea. Good work

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:17pm

I wiped out at level 10 =\ Awesome game and concept! Really liked this one. I said What Da Faq?! out loud when you started doing slides midair.

MinionStudios says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Fun! Challenging my typing skillz.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Very unique idea. Definitely would have been way too simple without the typing mechanic. I liked it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]