April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Disk

by Lokno - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first successful(?) Ludum Dare! I tried to enter last year but spent too much time planning. This year I was able to produce something by keeping it simple. Disk is a single-screen survival space shooter. Keeping with the theme of Minimalism, the entire game is rendered using only circles, the text being an important exception. There is one class that handles these primitives called "Disk," and it draws everything from the player to the stars.

As you shoot, you start to shrink in size, until you're too small to shoot and need to wait until your energy replenishes. While holding shift, you can absorb enemy fire and grow bigger! I think this size mechanic could be interesting in a larger game, where you need to manage your size to get through obstacles.

The enemies move in a Hilbert Curve, following a string of commands created using a Lindenmayer system. This is regenerated every time the game is initialized, even though the output never changes.

There are two original source files: index.html and Disk.js
The game uses two Javascript libraries:
mathlib-min.js : Used for 2D vector operations
http://www.kevs3d.co.uk/dev/canvask3d/k3d_test.html
jquery-1.9.1.min.js : JQuery 1.9.1
There are no pre-rendered assets.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1979Coolness10%

Comments

DdlyHeadshot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Doesn't run for some reason...

Lokno says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:49pm

@DdlyHeadshot it requires HTML 5 Canvas, and I forgot to include an error message for older browsers. I will add one.

vico87 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Very slow in Firefox 20. Works flawlessly in IE 10.

Really minimalist shooter. :)

DaveDobson says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Interesting game. It is a little bit easy, which makes it not sustain interest. I like the path taken by the enemies. I think the regenerative shield thing you can do would be neater if you had a better idea of how much energy you had - a gauge or something would help. Nice work.

mildmojo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Congrats on finishing! Runs great in FF 20 on my i5 laptop, but it's a recent machine.

Not bad. The animation is fluid and I liked the snaking enemies. The scrolling background added a good sense of movement.

I never felt the need to use bullet absorption. For one, I typically killed enemies before they fired a shot. If I chose to farm them by letting them fill the screen, I could grow pretty large (albeit slowly), but that didn't seem to give me any benefits. It would be great if there was a solid incentive to absorption, like a higher-power burst attack.

pikmin4000 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:30pm

I got a score of 1270! This game starts off slow but then excuses itself when it starts to get hard with the enemies random path movement and shootings. However, it didn't get much harder after that making the game just way too easy. Some suggestions would be that every bullet you shoot would destroy itself after hitting an enemy, or that their bullets cannot be destroyed by your bullets

GameNacho says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:48am

Good space shooter, maybe there could have been bigger collision boxes on the enemies though.

mrexcessive says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Nice idea. I like the red movement patterns. The shrinking to show power available is a good idea. Works great in Chrome on W7.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]