April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MNML

by docix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Just a note, the downloaded version's sounds works just fine.
On the web... not so much. Looking into it!

But in any case,
Enjoy!
And let me know what you think!
Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#101Theme4.10
#103Fun3.62
#127Overall3.71
#163Graphics3.75
#274Innovation3.48
#342Mood3.16
#864Audio2.17
#1023Humor1.50

Comments

kogyblack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:26am

Nice graphics and idea.
The version for web does not plays music, although... I thought you didn't had time to create the music, than tested the Windows version.

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:41am

Is it supposed to change directions suddenly? Happened to me only once and it was the only time (except the first) when I lose.

Canyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36am

This is beautiful. Very simple and well executed.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Well done! Simple mechanics, minimalistic graphics. spot on.

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Such a simple idea but so great. The gameplay is fluid and plays really well.

docix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Thanks everyone! The comments are much appreciated!
Sound is only working on the download, I will get it figured out here this week for the web build.
And the counter rotation "bug" was a known when posting. This falls under the category of: "If I had more time, I would have..."
None the less, I am so happy you are enjoying it!

multitude says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Love the design, concept and gameplay. Very cool. The atmosphere works great. I only wish there was some sound to go with it. but all in all this is pretty awesome

PixelOaks says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:05am

Simple, but effective! Great job. Would be interesting on mobile.

peaveyj says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:08am

Great game! Elegant and fun gameplay. And it fit's the theme so well.

cwilloughby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:19am

Very cool. Like the art and minimal nature. Missing audio in the web version.

May 1, 2013 @ 3:58am

Cool little game concept, good style!

Snail_Man says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Loved the slick visuals. Very good entry.

acro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:58am

This is very relaxing and cool- it has a great mood. I like the look and feel, and it fits the theme nicely in many ways. I cant really work out how to "rate" the graphics: I mean, they look really slick, but ultimately they're simple.
Anyways, I thought the part where the circles reversed was quite clever and snapped me out of my lazy expectation that I'd get out of the start of that level just by waiting. You should've said it was a feature, not a bug!
I also like how the game starts without you really knowing that it HAS started. The first screen is supremely well designed in that regard. Going to play again now. :)

LTyrosine says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:36am

Liked the idea, really the best games in this LD26 is those that managed to found a path in minimalist theme while keeping fun factor. A hard formula for no doubt. Nice Work!

LTyrosine says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:37am

* are those

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Yay, 01:46! Lovely idea. I want more (oh and did the rotation flip in the last level? Nice twist!)

docix says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:27am

Developer time to beat is 0:47 ;)

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:14am

Very nice! I thought I had it all figured, and then, boom, the rotation reverses on me.

Very cool concept.

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:20am

Cool! No sound on the web, but still fun. On the last level one of the rings reversed direction, but I survived! 1:23! :)

mrexcessive says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:17am

Completed in 2:06 first time, about 4 deaths. Nice idea, nice implementation. Needs more to hold attention, but fits theme very well. Good job. As you say no sound on web (Chrome/W7)

TurboDindon says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:59am

Very cool, minimalist and fun! I managed 1:51.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

davidpeter says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Fun, but a bit too short. I won in 1:49, and I wasn't particularly trying too hard. Expand on this, this could be awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]