April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Gon Of War

by Arihy - Jam Entry

Arrietty'm presents a minimalist RTS : Gon of War.
Ressource is time.
One production building.
Minimalist AI : only shoots your units if you approach.
Split units is the key.

Made with Unity for Ludum Dare 26.
First time unity for most of the team and first time coding for one of us.

No game over in this version, only rage quit.
to be continued ...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#183Graphics(Jam)3.58
#368Theme(Jam)3.00
#417Mood(Jam)2.47
#446Innovation(Jam)2.35
#517Overall(Jam)2.38
#517Fun(Jam)2.08
#1503Coolness41%

Comments

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:39am

Great visuals! I'm really impressed you went with a RTS for the LD, and I'd love to see more if this is further developed. Congratulations!

Leginar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:45am

Very nice aesthetic. My home base had a bad habit of disappearing. Is there a reason for this?

Npui says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:47am

Thanx for your comments ! We wanted to continue dev of Gon of War because all the bases (state machine and models) are done and working. In the futur 3 units will be available.
@Leginar : In fact animation is not done yet, but your main bat will be not available after poping 10 units... That's why it disappearred in this release.

lorancou says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:01am

Not really a game but a nice start :)

juaxix says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:29pm

It is a very good starting point, ...add a some short of a map, some visual fx for the attacks, and a lot of hud feedback (progress/life/energy bars, names, identifiers, numbers, etc.) and you have a good game :)
source?

Smaxx says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Movement reminds me of some old ufo movies. Really interesting, although I didn't get any enemies? Only my own orbs spawning for a while, then the big thing disappears and that's it?

Oleg Zhurko says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Nice visuals! I just can't beat the enemies and my base disappeared.

kyru says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Seems a little buggy, but great idea with a great look, Fits the theme nicely.

kibertoad says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:54pm

looks sexy, but not much going on under the hood. still, nice take on the theme.

Jacic says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Pretty minimalistic. The graphics are nice.

Yoni says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Very nice graphics. Seems like the game is missing though...

Hellequin says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Neat idea! I love the graphic and the art style of this minimalist game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]