April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Zzaxxaddriill

by ming_tea - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to Zzaxxaddriill, where there is something kind of messed up going on with the sun. You must match the color of your laser cannon to the color of your enemy to destroy them. You are impervious to enemy fire of your color, but not head on collisions. To counter this, the enemy will change up the color of their attacks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#827Audio2.23
#1013Graphics2.43
#1053Mood2.33
#1094Fun2.34
#1120Innovation2.24
#1206Theme2.69
#1234Overall2.38

Comments

terrivellmann says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:09pm

I like the idea. I feel like it could have started with less enemies and colors and gradually built up and got more complex.

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:33pm

way too difficult for me but interesting idea.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:27am

Heads up - chrome thinks your javascript is unsafe! Good fun bullethell game!

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28am

It was minimal and fun!

JFlegle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:29am

The problem for me is its too hard to switch to the proper color, maybe have an attack/switch button for each color?

ming_tea says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:47am

@JFlegle - I agree. I think it would have worked better with just two colors.

Thanks for the feedback everyone!

anjack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:04am

Bullet hell! I like the idea of changing color to avoid damage/damage the enemies, it keeps you on your toes.

Mystify says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:29am

too many colors to scroll through easily, that put a real damper on the game

GamingYourWay says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Nice Ikaruga like mechanic, but as has been pointed out far too hard to start with.
Also like the retro feel to the title screen ( Not loving having to press esc to return to the title screen, then space to start though ).
I'd love to play this with the difficulty curve sorted, but as we all know 48 hours is no time to fix these things.

T800 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Very nice game, really enjoed the 80s style one live standard

rxi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:11pm

As other haves said, I think this would have been much better if there was a single key for each color (like having to press 1 for green, 2 for red etc.). As it is I think it's far too difficult to choose the correct color!

That being said I think you explored a fairly innovative concept tagged onto a genre of game I think we're all familiar with. The visuals and sound were fitting and worked well.

BradleySmith says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Neat idea.

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:28am

I liked the art style!

spliter says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:50pm

This game is quite difficult. Setting a color to each key would probably make it more manageable since right now you have to scroll through all of them in order to become the color you want.

May 3, 2013 @ 12:17am

It's interesting how this game takes you straight into the action - with a storm of bullets coming your way and a pack of enemies requiring bizarre coordination on the Z key along with ridiculous button mashing on X. This makes for some good replay value, think i tried 20+ times, but a slightly more subtle start, as some recommended, might have been nice.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]