April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Boxley

by kacperski1 - Jam Entry

Boxley is a platforming game about a boy named Boxley. His peaceful land was attacked by ugly, non-minimalistic toasts! Destroy them before it's too late!
---
That's our second Ludum Dare entry.
I'm not really proud of this creation, we had so many ideas, but because of limited time we've managed to finish only about 40% of them :/

Anyway, have fun ^^

----------
UPDATE!
Boxley 1.0b (Bugfix update!)
> Fixed toasts' collision boxes (now they don't walk into walls)
> Changed SFML libraries to "Release" (more performance)
> Fixed lava texture showing incorrectly when it was touching wall above it

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#182Humor(Jam)2.53
#191Fun(Jam)3.11
#259Theme(Jam)3.29
#293Audio(Jam)2.85
#310Overall(Jam)3.00
#337Graphics(Jam)2.96
#460Mood(Jam)2.32
#512Innovation(Jam)2.04
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Good stuff. Game kind of got slower (performance-wise) as it went on. No idea why, could have been the gravity/colliders, but then it closed itself. Got slightly past the pokeball/portal. Reminds me of Meat boy.

kacperski1 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:56pm

@Prelucid - We're making a bugfix update right now, gotta change libraries from "Debug" to "Release", turn optimalization on and few other small changes. That MAY fix these things. (I don't know because I personally don't have any of these problems :/)

ericlass says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Very nice platformer. Played straight through it.

orange08 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:25pm

It seemed like it was lagging on my computer... sometimes the player would move really fast and then quickly go back to slow again. Weird. The platformer engine seemed slightly glitchy(the player never touches the floor) and for the most part this game seemed kinda like an average platformer. Nice work, anyway.

bowlercaptain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Good start. A few more platforming elements would have been nice. I especially enjoyed that the non-minimalistic toasts were the enemies - I would have liked to see other things like that. Music was pretty good, too.

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26pm

great game. but it really needs a highscore ;)

Beldarak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:04pm

I wasn't expecting a good game seeing the screenshots but I was wrong, it's a fun little game you made there ;)

smealum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:15pm

neat little game ! it's just too bad it seems to loack a bit of polish; collisions aren't quite perfect (there's this weird thing when you land after a jump; i also got stuck in a wall at one point), and it would've been nice for the player's sprite to have a different animation when in mid-air. also, the game feels a bit too easy, but other than that, good effort !

gameXcore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:44pm

I'm not sure if it was a bug of not, but you maintain velocity when going through a door, it was a bit off-putting.

kacperski1 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:07pm

@gameXcore - Honestly, it is a bug, but when I found it I thought that it gives some kind of illusion that the game is a one, big level. I hope you know what I mean. The only place where I'd reset velocity back to zero is in the falling level, but it's a bit too late to do this ;)

kacperski1 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:25pm

@gameXcore It's not bug, it's a feature. Really. ~MacronCPP

AaronYip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:23am

I can see where you guys wanted to go with this, and with the other 60% of your ideas, this could be quite fun and charming. Keep working on it! Post-jam version, please! (:

Potentialing says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:29am

I like the graphics and the little beat that this game has. Unfortunately, the level design really ruined what could have been a pretty cool game. Most of the time I found myself mindlessly jumping through levels, with little to no variation. Nearly all of the coins placed throughout the level forced you to walk to dead ends just to collect them, and the rest of them were in the way of the path-nearly impossible to avoid. While it's nice to give the player a sense of direction, I think the coins were a bit overkill, and most of the time I feel like the game wasn't really "challenging" me to play it, you know? I hate to be blunt about it, but that's my honest opinion, and I hope you consider this for your future games.

fr_automatik says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Nice game.

May 3, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Loved the player animation and the music. Could have been a bit more innovative, though, but it was a very nice game.

alcazar says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Pretty Gameplay

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]