April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mass Splitter

by scriptorum - 48 Hour Compo Entry

GOAL: In as few shots as possible, fill all three fireworks with enough orb mass to fill them all up with color.

INSTRUCTIONS:
0. Click on the game. (Or Flash ignores your keystrokes.)
1. Hold SPACE to start the orb mass splitting.
2. Release SPACE to fire the separated orb mass from the main mass, in the direction of the irritatingly rotating gun.
3. Tap SPACE to switch between active orb masses.
4. Press R to restart the game.
5. Large separated orb masses fire slower. Small masses go farther.

TIP: Aim 180 degrees away from the target, hold, and release when pointed at the target, for a good balance of orb size and distance.

Ran out of time for an intro screen or game over screen or score screen or randomized levels. Ah well!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#211Innovation3.59
#778Humor1.94
#839Audio2.21
#843Fun2.67
#898Mood2.54
#987Overall2.75
#1022Theme3.00
#1024Graphics2.41

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:13am

Lovely game... science fiction/culture fan? (ships converting mass all the time...) shame you didn't have the time for more levels. Also when complete lv1 (three yellow fireworks) is that it or could more be done ?

Alec Von Arx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:14am

Actually kind of addicting once you get the hang of it.

avidgamerNino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:16am

Liked at first then it just gets to a point where the noise starts echoing big time

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17am

Pretty clever idea, I was pleased when I finally got it, would have liked more levels.

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:53am

super unique idea and gameplay. Great great job!

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:38am

yes!

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:40am

Great idea, I would love to see this developed further =)

gokuhd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:42am

Very interesting. I didn't stop until I get the three of them yellow :). Nice concept!.

scriptorum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44am

Thanks for the feedback. If I had another hour I'd have put in more levels. I just ran out of time. Last LD I didn't even finish, so I'm happy with what I've got. ;)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:14am

Unfortunately i always stuck when orbs become one-pixel size. In this case it just don't shoot.

Awennor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:23am

Most innovative I have played so far!

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Cool concept, definitely would have liked some more content. Once I lit the targets up I used my remaining mass to fling myself around space... Pretty fun!

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Intriguing play mechanic, congrats on getting it out here!

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Interesting Mechanic

Tater_hater says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:25pm

its kinda cool, very different

fermcg says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:22am

It was really nice.

I think you should port it to mobile or tablets.

May 7, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Hmmm... super strange game...

Lythom says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Hi there ! I really liked this game. It really need some polish (at least a game over text) but I had fun playing it, the challenge is very well balanced.
For your next entry, try to find better audio too >.>
Good overall that could have been a very good with more polish. Thanks for the game !

HelkeGames says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:27am

Fun little game, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]