April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Parasite

by jahlgren - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Parasite

** Please don't rate the game bad because you fail. The game is meant to be hard. **

Instructions:

Move with your arrow keys. Eat blocks by pressing C. Blocks will be eaten in the direction you hold the arrow keys. Shoot (vomit) by pressing X, this kills enemies.

Kill all the enemies to advance to the next world (You must also enter the door that is open).

If you get too hungry you die. Eat blocks to dampen the hunger.

Eating causes you to loose stamina. Stamina is needed for eating blocks.

* Boss at the end :) Mabye a Pot*** ..

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#30Overall4.00
#49Fun3.80
#58Graphics4.12
#196Mood3.38
#240Innovation3.54
#284Humor2.68
#407Audio2.96
#498Theme3.59

Comments

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:48am

very polished game - the controls are precise as well

I liked it, one of my favorites so far.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Gorgeous game, instantly very captivating.
Easily the best game I have seen so far.
Its also freakishly hard, or perhaps that is just me.
It would be nice to see a video of how it should be played.
Great game though.

kreischweide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Very nice indeed. Only sounds could have been better (less agressive in tone) and some kind of music would help it alot.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Hard, but not frustrating. I died because of me, not because of the game, so it's "good" difficulty. Controls are spot-on and this whole hunger/stamina balance makes the game very interesting to play. Good work !

bushmango says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:41pm

I liked it but man is it annoying to have to start over from the beginning every time. Cute graphics :)

techmonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

One of the most playable games I've tested tonight.

The controls were rock solid and the game had a certain feeling of completeness.

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:04pm

very cool! I loved it!

jahlgren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

I made a playthrough that i uploaded to youtube. http://youtu.be/Vx5XsO9myM4

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:06am

This is very very well done. Audio and graphics are superb, and I really like the gameplay too. Great job :)

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:12am

Love the feel of the controls.

Really hard, but in a fair way. I didn't feel frustrated by the system, I felt like I'd lost the game. That's the sign of a well designed feedback loop.

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:15am

Cool game, really difficult, but really polished too. I couldn't finish but I will come back for more later. Good luck :D.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:22am

Awesome game - this is something I'd probably pay $5 for on Steam. I just wish there were checkpoints of some kind, or a slightly more forgiving hunger/stamina system in play!

Tahooey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:36am

Very nice game, difficulty was a very good level, I like it :)

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:39am

Very good game-play. Similar feeling to the Super Meat Boy game. Job well done, nice graphics too!

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:58am

So hard ! Thanks to the video playthrough, i could watch what is after level 2 ^^ Your game seems very complete and huge. For a 48h entry, its incredible. Have you plan to make this game before theme has been announced ?

JokerDen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:32am

Cool game. Did you used Setcyl for it?

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:35am

Really cute and the graphics are incredibly nice for such a short time period. Especially like the wall sliding animation, looks smooth!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:38am

Good fun and cute characters, but insanely hard! I'd have played for longer if there were checkpoints rather than starting from scratch every time I think.

tonic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Pretty challenging. Nice style. :)

igrowbeards says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:43pm

I liked this a lot - really fun, and super polished.

Zed says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:43pm

It's cool, but you could fix your steep difficulty curve by maybe saving the progress you make along the bottom when you die.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Fantastic - it took me a while to figure out what I was doing but after that it was an amazing game.

hulahulahest says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Quite fun. I was annoyed when I died of starvation while in the middle of the "go through the exit" animation. Feels like I was cheated out of winning the level.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Very good game ! A little difficult at first, but it's fun and original and the gameplay are good.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Liked the gameboy-style graphics. Well polished, though I must admit I didn't make it beyond level 3 at any point.

jahlgren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:16pm

@hulahulahest Dying in the middle of the "leaving room" animation is a bug. It should not happen, but it can if your hunger is full. I will fix it in a post compo edition

@JokerDen I made it with As3 using the Flashpunk framework

@lotusgame No plans. I actually made something different the first day. But it was not fun to play so i started over :). So this was actually made in one day.

I thought of making checkpoints.. But the game is so short that it would defeat the point of being hard.

Ariake81 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Great little retro g

Ariake81 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Great little retro game, with excellent graphics, animation and sound. The stamina system can at times feel overly harsh though. I seemed to be beaten a few times by impossible deadlines rather than my control (controls by the way are incredibly slick and tight). A great and complete game!!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:47am

Excellent work!
Well made minimalistic fun game!
I impressed by game mechanic with hunger =)

May 2, 2013 @ 8:14am

Well done graphics and mechanics. Seems the hunger meter should start out slower as you are learning the game and get faster later?

mortus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Great game, it was hard only first three levels, and then became challenging (which is good). Could be harder to be honest. ;D

Alink says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:41am

Very good. The stamina/eating/digging mechanism and the semi-random levels are cool innovations.

GranaDa says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Nice graphics and gameplay. Would love a windows version to play offline. Awesome jobe!

May 5, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Very nice entry! The controls are perfect and the graphics is very cool! I like the idea of eating blocks to survive. Well done!!

Norgg says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:36am

Nice game, really polished. The movement feels really satisfying and responsive.

May 8, 2013 @ 12:17pm

it's great in all aspects except i need to start from the beginning after death :)

cakemonitor says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:28pm

very nifty game, but tricky! great job :)

lasergans says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:34pm

I really like your game :) Feels polished, the controls are very good. :)

kddekadenz says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Well-balanced and appealing graphics.. However, it does not motivate me to play for long.

mollymus says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Very cool game! Well polished and fun!:)

May 10, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Great game, please continue developing this game it is one of the best games in the competion by far

Sebastian says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:04pm

This controls very nicely and is a TON of fun!

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:27pm

I hate you T_T This game is amazing, but insanely hard. But amazing. I down-voted "fun" a little because the hardness reduces the fun, but I gave you really good ratings anyway ;) Good job.

Kvisle says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:53pm

A bit unforgiving, I think - having to start from the beginning makes it a bit too hard for me.

Are the levels generated, or are they picked randomly from a pool?

The game is pretty, and the mechanics are solid.

Angerus says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Excellent, just excellent! I only wish a more easy start but well, the die-retry system is a cool one!

someone says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Very nice. Good fun.

madlee says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 1:26am

Probably my favorite of the competition. Not ashamed to say that I played this for about and hour and a half before I finally beat it! Very impressive!

mildmojo says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:20am

Excellent controls, very much like Super Meat Boy. Much harder than SMB, though, with the hunger/stamina mechanic. I tried a bunch of times but could only get halfway through. Watching the playthrough, there are some good strategies for getting through some of those levels quicker.

Very complete; I don't know how you did that in a day. =)

Zccc says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Really hard, but addictive!

madlee says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:47pm

I've actually come back and played this game some more after beating it, just because I like it so much! Do you have any plans to expand on it after the competition period is over?

jahlgren says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Thanks for all the nice comments

@Kvisle, The levels are picked from a random pool. I wanted to have much more levels to choose from, but I did not have the time to design them.

@madlee, I do have plans to make this into a full game. Keep an eye on greenlight, it might pop up there :)

May 12, 2013 @ 9:58am

Fun platformer with neat 2D art! :) Inspired from Meat boy?

finefin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:24pm

ooooh nice animations! the game is hard but the style makes up for that ;)

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Eating blocks interested me. If you continue to develop this, at various screens I was not sure how to eat my way to the exit or what the timing was to jump and eat or if I was running out the ability to eat.

TheSheep says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Nice graphics, very tight controls, cool idea. Shame it's another platformer though, and I totally suck at keeping track of 5 different things at the same time (running, jumping, eating, stamina and shooting).

May 14, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Interesting, but a bit hard...

michail says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Nice mechanics, I like the random level idea. Yeah, it is very hard, but it is OK for me.

Dotanukii says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:24am

One of the best entries I've played yet, the concept is brilliant and it's creates an incredibly fun and urgent mood. Great work!

Roupette says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:55am

Nice ! Want to eat the world :p.

Xanjos says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:09am

Loved the visual style whilst the general gameplay concept was actually pretty interesting and had quite a lot of depth and strategy to it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]