April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Trial and Error

by Stiju - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Search your way to the end in the shortest time.
Walking with A and D, jumping with Space.

I decided to try out SFML for the first time... should have prepared for that before LD.

Anyway this is my first LD entry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#294Theme3.82
#309Mood3.19
#332Fun3.23
#382Overall3.34
#465Humor2.36
#467Innovation3.23
#604Audio2.63
#706Graphics2.84

Comments

Tyro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:20am

Not bad, not bad. Hope you enjoyed your first LD and will stick with it!

Stiju says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:48am

I had a great time participating and will most likely join the next time also.

TP2k says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Really enjoyed this, good work :). Would be nice if it showed you the whole level once you completed it.

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Haha I like it!

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Red square = death team representing =D Fun game but I think giving the player a small sight radius rather than total darkness would have been more enjoyable. Trial and error only goes so far.

Gama11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Kinda remineded me of Closure.

While the concept is acutally a nice idea, it gets repetitive really fast, as the only way to explore a level is die over and over - trial and error, like the title of the game says.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:17pm

You didn't tell us about the red ones! Needs more levels!! Needs nightmare mode where the map resets on each death!!! Great job!!!!

Pickehut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:23pm

This may be my favorite game so far :)
The concept is a lot of fun and fits the theme well.
I would have loved some more levels though.

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Good idea and well executed.

GFM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Nice game!
I really liked the main mechanic (i.e., the need to uncover the map). =]

manabreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:57am

I found this quite enjoyable. :) Well executed!

Stiju says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:08am

Thanks for the feedback everyone.

GingerMess says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:09am

Certainly lives up to the name! Nice entry, and you've stuck to the theme perfectly.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:15am

Cool concept. One suggestion: red blocks should always be visible. This way it is less based on trial and error.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:27am

Really absolutely awesome!

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:29pm

nice work!

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Nice game! Great Job :D

PPLo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26pm

462 secondes, 22 deaths.
Very good execution of a simple concept. Really nice, too bad it didn't have a few more levels ^^.

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:18pm

This game is genuinely fun, which I definitely can't truthfully say of all of the games I've tried so far. It's not the best theme-fitting game, but the theme wasn't so good itself. It could have fit the theme Exploration really well, though - I couldn't have imagined it being this interesting to explore a small platformer level.

avidgamerNino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Maybe just not all the way dark and a just a couple lit areas to help/fool. Stuck to them and it was fun.

Cybearg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:51pm

This could have easily been a tedious, annoying game, but because of the strong visual style, the quick restart turnover, and the sense of exploration as more of the level is revealed, it ended up being quite enjoyable, in my opinion.

Kudos!

KHANanaphone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:25pm

It controls nicely, but it's really sort of just annoying to play once the red squares are introduced.

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Really enjoyed this, good work :). Would be nice if it showed you the whole level once you completed it. +1

Hope to see you again next time.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:20pm

I'm on a Mac, sorry :(

Stiju says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Had a few problems trying to compile it for Mac, but I finally did it.
So now even Mac people can play it, at least I hope they can.

I don't have much experience working with Macs and don't know for which versions it will work, but I compiled the game on an Intel based Mac with OS X 10.7.5.

Blinked says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Very cool game, but it's kinda unfair because there's no way of knowing where you will and will not die.

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:25pm

250 secons, 25 deaths. I enjoyed it. Cool concept!

Ryusui says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Impressive stuff, considering it's the first time you've used that framework. I love how the platforms and walls fade in when you touch them. If I could make one recommendation, it would be having the "death" areas visible from the onset - I know the game is called "Trial and Error," but it was a little frustrating going from "explore the invisible maze" to "make one wrong move and you die."

naufr4g0 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Very good use of squares! :D
I really like the gameplay. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]