April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tactical Spreadsheet

by atrodo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This will most likely not work on IE. Sorry.

Minimalism is the attempt to strip out all the unnecessary and leave only the essence or core of something. In games, this is done by removing all visual and technical hiding of the game and exposing the core, the raw data, of the game to the user. And when you think of raw data, people will tend to think of excel. Enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#139Innovation3.72
#153Theme4.00
#277Humor2.69
#1094Audio1.05
#1111Overall2.60
#1156Mood2.15
#1266Graphics1.97
#1303Fun1.76

Comments

Neten says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:39am

I would argue that the core of the game is not the raw data, but the gameplay.

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00am

interesting idea, liked it

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:10am

I love it! Spreadsheet sim :D Also apparently dragon > potato :(

uprightpath says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34am

I played around with it a bit. However, I kept dying suddenly (Negative HP) while exploring. Nothing seemed to have attacked. No clue what was happening there.

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00am

Excellent take on the theme

Mark Hildreth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:13am

I think I'll save playing this one for when I'm at work tomorrow and need to look busy :)

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:33am

Did not understand.

atrodo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Neten: I agree to point. The mechanics are certainly part of the core of a game, but useless without data. And data is not a game without the application of mechanics on it. After thinking about it for a bit, my position is that the core of a game is the application of mechanics on the data.

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Feels like pen and paper D&D -- an excellent application of the theme's spirit.

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Very good idea, A little repetitive, but really cool!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Very interesting take on the theme. I got one guy out but I quite forgot about my other squad members first time through!

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Fun game! Equipped with shotguns and potato sacks, my party made an alluring target for the local rat populace...
It would have been nice to get some detailed battle reports each round (i.e. rat gnaws member 2 in half for 15 pts of damage)

William Bundy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35pm

It's very hard to figure out exactly what's going on, which is impressive when there's so little to do. On the other hand, it's an excellent representation of the theme: a role playing game at just its numbers. Unfortunately, the spacial side of CRPGs really helps to convey the current state of the game world. Also, the excel spreadsheet theme would be vastly improved if you used the Windows UI font (Segoe UI, or even Tahoma).

caasi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33pm

You see: a Potato.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Very clever and interesting idea!

However, I think it's a bit cumbersome/unintuitive to use, especially considering that modern spreadsheets always support mouse input. Also, the tab system was confusing. I didn't know when things changed on other tabs or what those tabs represented.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Well I hadn't seen anything like this before o,O Too bad it's not working very well. I'd expect at least a "GO NORTH" kind of experience in the action field. But it's better then another pixelated platformer pretending to be minimalistic because pixels :)

Shugor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:11am

This is a very interesting take on the theme, and it looks well thought out. It gets somewhat repetitive, however; there's not much to do between encounters apart from switching armor. It's also hard to tell what some of the cells are for, like "Exit" and the Location number. The game's pretty well done, and it is undeniably minimal~

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:34am

Clever.

richtx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:34am

Fits the theme very well. Narrows down the dynamic to the most basic elements. Liked it.

AaronYip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:17am

Clever concept. (:

dreamlogician says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Amusing use of theme. Actually playing it felt a bit too close to my day job to really be "fun", but I think that's probably a sign that the concept was successfully executed. ;)

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:28am

Kudos to you on the creative idea and use of the theme). This type of interesting game is why I love LD.

domrein says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:45am

Interesting game idea. Somehow I ended up with negative hp. Maybe one of the potatoes killed me? This is probably the first game I've played that made me feel like I was doing homework.

Arcana says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:45am

Clever but I couldn't get it to "feel" like a game, I didn't understand what all of the numbers were saying to me. I pressed enter a lot and didn't seem to get anywhere. Maybe I'm misunderstanding something?

kyru says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:50am

Strange game, not sure what I think of it. I like the use of the theme though.

LTyrosine says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:01am

Nice fit on theme but more help would make it a lot better. Sometimes random values go crazy and I cant figure out why.
Overall, highly innovative.

mrexcessive says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:24am

Cool! Original !! Potato weapon!!! Win first encounter using only root vegetable kit... Seemed to run out of encounters after second one.

csanyk says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:20am

lol.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]