April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

With The Wind

by GameRespect - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Settled on this extremely simple and short game because I had more to do this weekend than I'd previously foreseen. I did this up in about 3 hours, and I think overall, it is pretty decent :)
I'm submitting this at 2.44am, with lectures in about 4 hours :)
Hopefully I will be able to submit something better the next dare.
Go easy on it okay! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#135Theme4.04
#482Audio2.82
#539Mood2.90
#560Innovation3.12
#711Fun2.81
#721Overall3.00
#983Graphics2.48
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:48am

You know what would make this like 100 times better? Making the window bigger. Not making it bigger, and keeping the square small, I mean make it BIGGER. It's very claustrophobic to play this tiny game in a huge browser window.

Otherwise, I liked the idea. It's simple, it's fun. It's basically Brownian motion in action :)


Or am I thinking of Zero-point energy?

NiftyLlama says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:17am

I agree with the above comment, but it's good for a 3-hour game. Very Minimal.

itsZN says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:29pm

I like it!

Hatscat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:30pm

really like it

AaronYip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:11am

I've never played a game in such a tiny window. It has a very claustrophobic/on edge effect, as visibleatom mentioned, which is pretty interesting. It looks great this small though. (: Simple and polished, like it a lot.

Metamist says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Great game, but the window is too small. :/

May 1, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Nice work, especially impressed by what you achieved in so little time.

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Simple and clear idea, enjoyed it!

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Minimalist gameplay, minimalist graphics, minimalist music, minimal time spent... This surely fits the theme, well done!

imagnity says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:25pm

527!!! Yea boy! Damn minimal crazy fun game! Damn!!!

May 4, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Nice idea and very minimalist :)

Doublecaster says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Really simple and fun game. I agree with the first comment about the game size. My highest score was 591 :)

Sebastian says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:37pm

I managed 623, pretty fun.

lasergans says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:46pm

This really shows, how good the theme fits, if you lack of time.
Good job :)

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Beautifully minimal!

I did feel as though I was not in control some of the time. Are there any subtle in game clues about which way the wind is going to blow next that I'm missing? My strategy is to see which way the box is headed and attempt to push it back to the centre. But it seems at times that even with a direction key held from the moment the box started to drift it wasn't enough to overcome the wind. So it seemed that at some points you would have to predict the wind change.

JonathanG says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Fits the theme well but doesn't seem to be anything much to do other then move away from the wall until the wind decides you aren't allowed to any more.

Oye Beto says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:45am

-I came to play your game because your display reminds me of my game :P

-my score: 746

-For the post-compo version it would be cool if the wind intensity matched the music up and downs.

-For a 3 hours game this is pretty good.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]