April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Platonic Dot Solid

by Prelucid - Jam Entry

Windows 64 bit version here: http://www.prelucid.com/ludumdare/pds/PDSwinx64.zip

Full playthrough/spoiler on youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ecjr18MsCs

YOU ARE DOT SOLID. Formerly a one-dimensional dot bestowed with the power of two more dimensions, so that you may restore balance to the heavens!

Use WASD keys to move around.
After acquiring elemental vibrations, you can press keys 1 through 5 to select a power.

Shift Key may activate the special ability of the solid (except Wind & Water), but you must be moving.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#32Humor(Jam)3.65
#101Audio(Jam)3.50
#105Graphics(Jam)3.85
#112Overall(Jam)3.58
#140Fun(Jam)3.27
#166Mood(Jam)3.30
#167Innovation(Jam)3.30
#259Theme(Jam)3.29

Comments

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Adding that cry everytime he dies ... you are such a bad person! I had to see Mr.Box (that's how I'm gonna call him) die again and again and again ;(

Just kidding xD, love the game, well done!

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:11pm

I love the sound effects and art style, but I found the perspective very disorienting. I also died many times due (what I felt was) the overly sensitive controls. Overall, great visuals/audio and core concept, the execution could just use some work.

fussycashew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Great game! Really enjoyed it!

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:14pm

I love the visual style!

ddionisio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Great art style, story-telling, and humor! But, the perspective of the game is really hard to discern...there's no feel of depth and it's really hard to know which height your character is in. Looks like I'll have to adjust a little to get through the game, I really want to see the rest of it!

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25pm

One of the best entry I've seen ! I couldn't find the way to beat the boss, but I had a lot of fun ! I tried to hit him with fireball and try to water his face by jump over him. None of these worked :(

Prelucid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Apologies for the perspective/orthographic camera issues guys ~ it was intentional. I know, it sounds maniacal that I was laughing while I designed parts of the levels that looked like you could jump across to, but I hope death won't be taken too seriously in this game. As for controls, kinda the same deal, hahahaha... Thanks for the feedback!!

khahem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Same problems with perspective and controls, but loved the sound and graphics :)

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:59pm

This is great. It was impossible to ever be mad about dying when the character said "Ba-dum, ba-dum!" or "Embarrassing..." when he respawned. The graphics are also good, nice cartoony style, and the transition between shapes looked good.

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:36am

This was a blast; I was very embarrassed!

intrudergames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:47am

Nice! i think you have read Drunvalo Melchizedek, i have one circle chain of the flower of life as tattoo on my arm :-).
Great game and Theme!!

villhest says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:02am

Bwahaha I like it. Credits song is awesome.

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:40am

Looks like an interesting game, but I got stuck at the hallway with the crushing plates. I wasn't sure what to do to get by.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:45am

Your game is rather evil. But it is fun. Controls were a tad dodgy at times. but not game breaking. good job

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:09am

Lots of fun! Really like the style nice work :)

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:26am

The perspective really messed with me at times...but after a while I started to get used to it and loved the game. Cool graphics!

Jarrett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:04am

Some clever perspective tricks :P

dannycalleri says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:07am

Love your art style <3

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:55am

Very impressive amount of work! Maybe a bit too long beetween checkpoints in the beginning, however nicely executed!

enzo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:45pm

http://i.imgur.com/Othjf8s.png

goerp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Most beautiful game I have seen so far! You wouldn't think the game was made in a mere 48 hours.
It reminds me of old platform adventures like Head over Heels.
Looks and moves very polished. There is the thing about the perspective of course. But maybe if you added some shadow it would already be clearer.

GamingYourWay says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:42pm

I loved that, the best game I've played so far in LD26.
Little bit tricky in places, but who cares when the sound is that good.

Great work mate.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Excellent graphics and sound. Very fun. Lack of shadow of character, or something, creates confusion in depth perception... tricky to judge where you are

rodrigomotta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:11am

Oh man, yout game is so funny! Congrats!

rodrigomotta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:12am

Hey man, please play and rate my game. When you visited the link was broken, now is fixed. Thank you. Amazing your game. o/

Korda says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:42am

Cool art and sound but the isometricness made my brain hurt

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:31am

I really like the concept of an isometric platformer! Only issue I have, the jump button is WAY too sensible. I kept jumping over blocks instead of on them :(
Other than that, very charming, and amazing job with the audio!

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Maybe a bit of tweaking on controls when jumping would make a game more fun. Otherwise, nice job.

sharbelfs says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:25am

I love the voice of the character, hahaha.
Great game!!

May 2, 2013 @ 9:24pm

The style is this is really great. I think if the avatar had a shadow it would make some of the jumping portions a little less frustrating. Lovely jam.

littleball says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Wow, tricky but great!

rzfmzn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Just loved, best game so far =O)
found a bit difficult to find my self with the controls, will try later with a joystick =O)
gratz!!

spliter says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Loved it. The tone of the game was really funny and the mechanics worked really well (even though it was devilishly hard to figure out where in space the platforms were located).
Also:
Illuminatus!

Jorjon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:43am

Wow, impressive work. My favorite entry so far.
Dat voice acting..

Tyro says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:50am

Such a whimsical little game. I kept falling off platforms due to perspective, and the controls didn't want to cooperate at times. However, I enjoyed the transformations and their different powers. The voice acting was pretty crisp and humorous as well.

Good entry, overall. Great going! :)

May 3, 2013 @ 3:38pm

This is a very good game. My only complaint is that it was sometimes quite hard to gauge your jumps. Other than that: nice graphics, nice use of powers, challenging obstacles, entertainingly melodramatic plot. I had a great deal of fun beating it.

SPOILER

It could have done with a more rewarding ending than just the "you have won" screen, but I appreciate the fact that you put an original song in there.

May 4, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Love the Soundtrack and Art Style. The camera position is very frustrating, because i died overly without know where i trod. I would like to collect the checkpoint and finish the game, but i don't was able.

ilovepixel says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Wow! I felt I was on an M. C. Escher's drawing. Really great idea, enjoyed all the way. The sounds were hilarious and art very ad-hoc. Great game!

GaTechGrad says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:36am

Could't figure out what to do on the last boss, otherwise great game!

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:01am

Nice artwork on this!

mortl8324 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:23am

Awesome game

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:52am

Very nicely done! I'd just argue that an isometric 4 dir movement was probably not the best choice here.

tsb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:06am

Awesome, it looks as if a lot of work have been put in this game.

PsenFilip says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Concept and mood are awesome.
I love how the overall artwork looks like!
Hm... Good intro music beat. Voice over!
Character is funny! Animation is smooth.
Badam Badam. Pretty humorous!

The only thing I would say is review your jump controls. They sure take a bit to get the hang of (inherently because how the perspective is laid out) but it feels odd. (The player stays in the air for too much maybe? - I don't know)

Had a fun time playing it. Congrats!

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Hahah I kept laughing everytime he fell of the stage! Really great man!

Floko says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:18am

Interesting! The animation is nice and smooth =]

Floko says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:43am

Rated =]

Xgor says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:14am

Boy the controls is awkward. Also a good idea if you doing a isometric platformer, Have a shadow so you can see where you land.

WiseGAMER says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:54am

This is one of the best games I have ever played! I like the funny voices so much! keep it up!

robc says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:20am

Really fun.

Did find myself cursing a bit with the jumps, but as others have said - the respawning happened to make it less of a pain.

Certainly some grounds for a great game. Will try to go back & finish it.

lasergans says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Nice style. I found the controls a bit too less precise.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Good game. The character is interesting, but physics and controls are weird. If you press the arrows with a normal force and jump, the character goes really far. Congratz anyway!

Shigor says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Controls are quite awkward, I was constantly falling down and dying, sometimes because I couldn't see where I'm going to jump, sometimes just because I was too clumsy....

Pixelboy_85 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Nice animations and sounds. The different shapes and abilities are great. I found the level design unnecessary difficult. It was frustrating most of the time. It doesn't feel very satisfying to get through an obstacle with the ball, reach a checkpoint and fall to death instantly, because there is a pit closely after it. The game doesn't seem to benefit from the orthographic camera too much, it feels rather disorienting.

lathomas64 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:00pm

fun quirky game, it got difficult at times to tell perspective though. Failing jumps is fine but when I have no idea what i did wrong(was i too short too far up or down?) it gets a little frustrating.

radmars says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:01pm

hahaha! excellent. As everyone else has been saying controls are pretty infuriating(maybe tighter movement (more friction) so you dont slide all over the place would help? Overall though, really excellent game. I like the brutal level design, especially those escher-esque drops. The characters are damned adorable. Well done :D

Prelucid says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Once again, thanks for the feedback guys -- I'm working on a proper sequel and have taken out the orthographic camera, while tightening up the controls, A LOT.

The character also projects a shadow now, and there's a mini-map. Levels will be puzzle-oriented as opposed to itself being a disorienting puzzle, hahaha.

LionelJitro says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Haha, lots of fun.

Love the graphics and sounds.

May 8, 2013 @ 6:05am

Lovely aesthetics that stay true to the theme. Good job!

MrShoestore says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:12am

I like this a lot. the audio was pretty sweet if you ask me. I think i would have liked to see a bit more design go into the boss fight, cause it can give you a 'stuck' feeling. but, you know, game jam... so overall, great!

FREEZX says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Pretty sweet game, but I couldn't beat the boss anyhow ;_;

Awennor says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:52pm

One of the best overall I've played so far! Though the difficulty balancing did not seduce me...

Spiridios says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:46pm

The web version takes quite a while to load. Controls are toast on some non-gaming keyboards. This particular keyboard can't read up, left, and space simultaneously, so I was stuck just past the first checkpoint. Will rate later when I can do this on a gaming keyboard.

Spiridios says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:58am

OK, now that I'm on a gaming keyboard, the controls do need work. You have a great, fun game here marred in controls that you're constantly having to fight. And there were a couple Nintendo Hard parts where you just have to blindly jump and hope you make it. Still, high scores for a fun jam game.

Prelucid says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Sorry you had problems :/ -- I didn't even know there were keyboards that couldn't do all those keys at the same time. Is it a common problem? I just figured WASD+SHIFT+SPACE was standard. It's concerning to me as I still want my game playable with a keyboard. I suppose I could add Q or E for angular movement. I put up a post-jam link to the sequel with new controls and the original map included.

lanz says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Padam-tadam!

Spiridios says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:43am

@prelucid yeah, it's common for non-gaming keyboards to have issues like this. The cheaper the more likely. See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rollover_%28key%29 I don't blame your game, I blame the cheap keyboard I was on at the time.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]