April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalistic House

by escence - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Enter the Minimalistic House, home of a strange professor, who invented the first time machine. Can you find out what has happened here?

Actually you can't, but that's because I couldn't add enough content. I ran out of time, and in the end I had to hurry. Nevertheless you can play it, and you can win it.

It is a java application packed in a "jar" file, so you "should" be able to play it under Windows, Linux and OS/X. I only tested it under windows, though. The game was made using the LWJGL- and the Slick-library.

The game is played with the mouse: Just click anywhere and see what happens.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#75Mood3.74
#186Audio3.33
#416Overall3.30
#582Innovation3.10
#590Theme3.50
#667Fun2.85
#1028Graphics2.40
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:20am

I didn't quite understand what happened at the end but it was very good. Really smooth and nice, good job.

Too bad it was a bit short

PeterUstinox says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Awesome game! Short but quite intense! Good job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:07am

I guess it is pretty obvious you had to rush through at the end but still have to say you did a pretty good job given the time constraints.

Leginar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:31am

Short and sweet! Also, kind of depressing. I enjoyed it though. Good Work.

Joror says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Nice mood music, a bit short, expected more of a twist ending. :)

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Cool atmosphere, too bad you couldn't finish it.

TaleLore says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Short but decent.

May 3, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Wow, quite creepy. Was a bit short but very interesting.

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Was alright, Didn't understand the ending but the puzzle was clever. Would have liked to have seen it finished. Good job anyway.

Drabiter says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:00am

Love the basic idea of the story. The music is nice.

May 17, 2013 @ 3:22am

This was amazing. Moosic set the mood so nicely. Figuring out stuff was fun, and the setup of each scene fit the game so well. I'm impressed and enjoyed all of it, even if it was so short.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]