April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pix Lore

by Bactopiad - Jam Entry

*The following was originally posted by the developer of my team, Retrostark. He accidentally submitted it as a blog post and I had to submit it under my account so we would still be eligible to participate. -Bactopiad*

And we made it! It was pretty close, but we were able to finish right on the deadline. Caatalyst (musician), Bactopiad (artist), and I (programmer) made an RPG that takes place in a 64X64 pixel screen.

We were able to stick to the minimalist theme quiet well. We had so many ideas for how the game would play out, but ran out of time and ended up being a series of mazes within the game. The plan will be in the coming weeks to update the game and get out a full RPG with no mazes and a Final Boss.

I hope you enjoy my first attempt at a Ludum Dare and check out my fellow teammates.

RetroStark (Programmer)

Bactopiad (Artist)

Caatalyst (Muscian)

WARNING!: We had some bugs with the audio and it will be fixed within 24hours. And the GM Logo Watermark will be removed than too.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:04am

Just a heads up that Bit.ly is giving a warning when clicking so you may want to change your URL so we can play :) Good work on finishing your first LD though!

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:09am

I love the aesthetics of this game! I feel like I'm playing on a gaming watch or one of those cellphone games back in the days! Really cool! I had a difficult time figuring out if I hit an enemy or not though...

Does this bug have something to do with not stopping the previous music track? :P Can't rate audio yet, but the music so far is good.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:32am

Cute game. I pressed K and saw a subtle change in animation but it didn't have an effect on enemies, did I need to collect something to attack (wasn't obvious).

retrostark says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:40am

hello everyone. there are some small bugs to be sorted out, here is an updated link https://www.dropbox.com/s/nhsn6kl93clns47/pix%20lore.exe later today I will roll out all of the bugs and have my friend Bactopiad update the link.

Bactopiad says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:41am

Thanks for all the reviews and such. Thanks for the bit.ly tip, Lianne! Pressing "K" near an enemy is supposed to kill them. The bug is exactly what you said ddionisio.

Threef says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:50pm

:( I can't play game. My graphic card is not supported.

AlexFili says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:55pm

I've also noticed the audio bug, overall the graphics are great and the sound is pretty nice. Killing enemies with K seems to be exceptionally hard. Would be better if it had an area of effect like Link's sword in Legend of Zelda.

Threef says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Oh! Sorry! I added comment to wrong game! :D My bad!
Graphics are good.
There's no 'newbie' collision blocking on obstacles which is good!
Ofc theres a bug with sound and annoying YYG logo on whole screen. ^^

retrostark says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:38pm

We will try to update soon. and Alex I did want to do a zelda like sword, but bactopiad wasn't up for it :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]