April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

dotLife

by ddionisio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Note:

Action allows you to: Repels little moving things and gives you a small boost while you are moving. And sparkles.

After you enter the world, anything that touches you can kill you! So watch out! You'll know it's bad when you hear a 'tug' sound and the screen blurs!

Once you finish a level, it is persisted. So when you die you don't have to play it again. I don't have a reset save data implemented...

Post-Compo Fixes:
You now return to the last level you died after game over.
Better boosting action.

For those curious, the post-screen effects are as follows:

Bloom - Unity provided effect.
Quantize - This is the one that reduces the colors on screen, I set it to 8 colors.
Tiling - This is the blurring when you get hurt.
Noise Effect - Unity provided effect. I only used it in the gameover and win screen.

Code for both Quantize and Tiling can be found in the FXs link

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#54Mood3.82
#59Graphics4.11
#65Audio3.70
#114Overall3.74
#326Innovation3.42
#359Fun3.20
#498Theme3.59
#557Humor2.22

Comments

ddionisio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:15am

There might be an issue with music not playing the first time around...if it doesn't and the music is 'enabled' try refreshing the page...really odd.

Selliato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01am

A great and original game. Good job !

Oye Beto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:03pm

It's very complete and entertaining, I got to the claw level.
I liked the hp being represented graphically and the visuals in general.

btw, I'm a new programmer in Xibalba :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:06pm

The visual work here is amazing. Only one "life" then restart? Hardcore.

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Beautiful concept, beautiful execution. I can't believe this is a compo and not a jam.

Simply stunning.

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Perfect mood :)

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Really nice mood! I feel the only place that was let down was the audio. Otherwise, lush!

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:17pm

I really liked this. I really like the pixelization for health. Dodging everything was also fun. i like the enemies flocking at you and the moving obstacles. the only part i didn't like what trying to find my way. i got lost a lot. other than that, good game :)

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Best looking game I've played so far!

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:05pm

I can't decide what it says about me as a player that the first thing I really want to comment is I like the way you visually handle death.

I mean, not that I died or anything. <-- HARDCORE!!1

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Love the Graphics, nice game.

Prelucid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49pm

SO cool, those effects. Game is simple but I bet it wasn't simple making it hahaha

minibutmany says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:45am

The graphics were really stunning, but I found it was a little difficult and I didn't understand what the space bar was doing besides make me glow and a little zing noise? Mechanics and everything where really smooth and clean. Good job.

jackspinoza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:46am

pretty incredible work for two days, good going. I mean, it looks fantastic, even the way the shapes move and form. loved it but got a bit stuck on the claw.

richtx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45am

Really liked the tone of the game. Audio was fantastic. Gameing value a bit low.

BahamutZaero says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48am

Well polished and a great use of the theme!

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:25am

Thanks for the comments so far!

@Dark Acre Jack The game at least saves your progress...so once you finish a room, you don't have to go back there.

@minibutmany The spacebar repels enemies away and gives you a small push towards your moving direction (I probably need to strengthen it to give it a more impact).

GaTechGrad says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:57am

Nice, I liked how damage taken is represented by the pixelization of the graphics.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:34am

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH! Awesome! I love the pixelation to show damage. The overal visual style here is wonderful. Nice use of theme, and that flower with the leaves and vines... ugh so good.

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:16am

Hey thanks for checking out my game! Woww this is very impressive. Love the look and game mechanisms. Mind if I ask what shaders you are using to get that pixelated look? Very cool.

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:17am

Oh almost forget... 2 thumbs up on the music

wallmasterr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:17am

realy liked the rendering , looks alsmost like a pree renderd pc cutscene from the 90s, and the pixelated filter is awesome. Music suits realy well and realy gives a great overall mood.

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:29pm

That was sweet and beautiful :') Simple gameplay but very enjoyable, I love the FX you put in it. Very moody and atmospheric. Great entry !

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Nice, great mood in this game, the graphics and music were great.

You could have explained the controls and mechanics somewhere, even if just on this page. I only found out the game blurring as I took damage when that darn claw destroyed me.

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:13pm

@Travis Irby I added the shaders link, I put it in the description.

@AdventureIslands There's a description now. Sorry!

Colapsydo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Beautiful game on all artistic point of view.
The pixelization effect is really nice.

lucasncv says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Very nice game! I particularly liked the way you present the Music and Sound controls to the player :)

CMaster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Nice music.
Really quite a lot of content there for the size as well.

Got fed up of going back to the start on failure though, especially as once you'd taken a few hits it got a lot harder to see. Regenerating health may actually have been nice.

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:14pm

@CMaster You're right, it's better to return to the last level after death. Also, the regen is actually there, you just have to keep moving. I made a tweak so that you regen faster while idle.

Also, boost is a little better.

Those are now in the game, makes for a better experience.

Thanks for the feedback guys!

QXD-me says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42pm

This was really good. I especially liked the atmosphere of it. My only criticism would be that I found the audio a little annoying, not a huge problem.

Also, you shouldn't really be tweaking gameplay after the deadline, we're supposed to judge what was done in the 48hrs so that stuff should go into a post-compo version instead.

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Really like the graphics man.
Curious game.

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Sweet thanks for sharing the shaders! I havent gotten into shaders at all yet, but really want to so I can pull off stuff like this :)

ddionisio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:24am

@QXD-me I was thinking about it...since it is still beatable in the original form, I decided to put the original version.

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Nice mood and well balanced difficult.

orange08 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Very nice. I tend to prefer games that have an easily recognizable goal, but nonetheless this was very fun to play. Great job with all the effects and stuff! :D

Zener says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Very good game, it's fun and music fits very well! I like how it tells the users the health of the dot.

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Very cool concept! The graphics, sounds, and gameplay all fit the mood perfectly :D Nice touch putting the settings in-game!

Mesene says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Nice entry!
I enjoyed the atmosphere you managed to create. You have improved a lot from last LD congrats!

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:45am

ooOOooh, swarm behaviours, lovely! :) I like the graphical effect as well (posterization, is it?). I'm going to have a sneaky peak at the code for this one!

PsenFilip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:40am

I did not manage to play lots of levels because it was pretty hard to my current brain state.

So, into the game:
Nice take on ingame interactive options and a free space to learn the controls. Also the player damage status thing was creative.

It's a good take on the art but I think the generated light looks odd. Not a big deal. I get your restricted palette style on there. Also, interesting stack of screen space effects.

Music is good and overall aesthetics/design is also on par supporting the core concept.

Jan Marcano says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:00am

Really awesome game man! The idea was really distinct.

I couldn't beat it, but I had some good fun with it! Loved the graphics and the music/sound effects.

Nice work

patrickward says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:54am

This was a clever game. I particularly liked how the screen became more pixelated as you lost health. Visually stunning and the game play was fluid but challenging.

May 5, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Inspiring stuff here man, cheers! Gonna delv into the source, I'm facinated by the lighting effects and could use them on another project. What type of shaders did you use?

DST says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:04am

Hi there, and thank you for telling me my link was not working! :)

You've got a beautiful game there! Very sweet use of effects! And a solid game mechanic.

Mark Hildreth says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Was unable to run Linux build:

mark@gobo:~/Downloads$ ./dotLife.x86_64
Set current directory to /home/mark/Downloads
Found path: /home/mark/Downloads/dotLife.x86_64
There is no data folder

ddionisio says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:50am

@Mark Hildreth, did it extract with an actual folder? There should be a 'dotLife_Data' folder. TBH, I don't have a Linux environment ready...I just recalled that UnityWeb doesn't support Linux yet so I built a stand-alone for Linux. It's not tested, I guess till now...Gonna try it out on my gimp laptop that has linux on it.

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:33pm

The curved flowers lured me and the music enchanted me. If you continue to develop this, I lost interest while navigating the moving parts of the maze. The avatar has a bit of impulse to it, so it may drift into a wall, and the walls seemed to be disarranged, so I was not clear what technique or skill I was training.

Xanjos says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:06pm

The pixelisation mechanic was pretty cool.

Orni says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:12pm

I simply loved it - great game!

mildmojo says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:09pm

I played the Linux version. Good controls, nice flower art, felt a bit like the PC/XBLIG shooter Compromised with the exploration and flocking enemies. The sound effects and pixelation to represent damage worked well. At some point I guess I explored everything and ran out of things to do.

Just two things: it'd be great to have a key to quit (like Esc), and please use a more standard archive format like zip instead of RAR.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Very nice graphics (and effects) and music. Good atmosphere.

Catman says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:35am

Awesome style, made with so little... good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]