April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Another Minimalistic War

by psychomonster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello World! SO here is my first submission at a compo ever... Hope you had a lot of fun this weekend... I had a lot of fun. Now lets see:

Game by Benjamin Vockenberg (psychomonster.com)via GameMakerStudio

Game "Another Minimalistic War" has been created for Ludum Dare #26.

Instructions:
Movement : W,A,S,D or Arrow-Keys
Aiming : Mouse
Shoting : left mouse
restart Level : right mouse
Exit Game : ESC
Start GAme : space
Buy Ammo : dodge the Ammo-Shop-Icon near the Spawn
Buy Life : dodge the Life-Shop-Icon near the Spawn

Mission:
Kill the purple Guys and gather the Money!
You need 500$ to open the Gate at the right...
Be Careful with the ammo... If you are out of Ammo
you need to rebuy ammo near the Spawn at the shop...
ammo prize is 20$... You only have three life
points... If you need more life you can buy life at
the shop near the spawn.
Kill them all :D

€: Sorry for the little debuggin-Bug :D I was setting the players credits to 500$ to test the win-requirements... I will not update... compo ends and I will stay fair :) No you can see the Winner Highscore without grinding 500$ :D

You can find me at twitter: @technokrat
You can find me at my Blog: www.psychomonster.com
And you can E-Mail me to : benjamin.vockenberg@gmail.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#271Humor2.70
#676Fun2.84
#871Audio2.15
#987Overall2.75
#1097Mood2.26
#1108Graphics2.29
#1174Theme2.75
#1225Innovation2.06

Comments

Tyro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:56am

Cool game that you could easily expand upon in the future (more enemy types, faster spawn rates, etc.)

Congrats on your first LD entry and good luck in the future!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:28pm

I felt like I was slaughtering Lemmings! Hahaha
Glad you had fun with LD. Please come back for more! This was my 8th. It has become on obsession now... lol

QXD-me says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Pretty fun. Somewhat of a mess aesthetically, but mechanically solid (apart from being a bit easy). Nice first entry.

p.s. that enemy death sound made me laugh way more than it should have - one of those "so bad it's great" moments

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Was a little incoherent on the style and gameplay front - a mix of pixel and particle fx with the graphics, and a bit too complex with the ammo buying part.

hockeygoalie5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Good game, but it became boring quickly. There was little challenge or reward to motivate me to continue.

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Works well enough for what it is. Feels like a grind though, getting to $500 takes a good while, some change, like a different, harder enemy type with a bigger reward could have changed it up a bit.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25pm

planed to put three diffrent types of enemy... but time ran out so quickly... this is why the remix of pixel art and particle fx... next time i know better how to use the time :D

Daisuke909 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:35pm

So many Wilhelm screams... congrats on you first game.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13pm

@Daisuke909 :D thx... Thats was a really good weekend :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:02am

hehe good job man.. and props on the wilhelm scream :)

Markavian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:08am

Splat.

KHANanaphone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:58pm

I find it interesting how you can just run to the right immediately and win.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:31pm

damn... was setting the credits to 500 to test win-requirements :( Kinda noobish fail ... sorry for that... but please try to imagine how it could be if you had to grind all the money :D

jwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Decent concept. I keep wanting to write that it needs more variety (weapons, enemy types, etc.), but that'd probably work against the theme.

I like the fact that you can accidentally destroy the rewards (makes for some tradeoffs in play decisions).

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:43pm

nice game, but it´s basically the classic shoot and upgrade game

danpm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Nice game, congrats for your first LD entry!

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:57am

Gotta love the Willhelm Scream. interesting idea, though for a laptop user with a touch pad mouse I found the experience a bit exasperating. :P The graphics felt a bit mismatched, but otherwise it was an enjoyanble experience, more like a zombie shooter than a war 'sim'.

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:25am

There's a bug where you can't get hurt if you don't move. Other than that it was really fun. Love the Wilhelm screams.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:25am

nice job on your first ld -- pretty fun -- kinda like killing the lemming like creatured -- nice effort -- nice killing sound too

richtx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:26am

Felt guilty at first, then I hit my stride. Liked it a lot.

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:29am

yeah sorry for that non-alternative-controller-setting, time ran out so quickly :p... touch pad is really bad... But many other trippleA-Titles are requiring mouse too... a Laptop without an external mouse is not constructed for playing games ^^

Hayawi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:39am

Very easy after you kill like 5 guys

Boiúna says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:00am

Cool game and funny sounds. Very addictive. :)

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:11am

Very fun! My only conplaint is that it is too easy to entrench on my home. Also, more enemy variety would make this awesome. Very addicting.

saggiosoft says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:39am

There's some work to do in order to make it a refined game but the basis is very good. Great and fun!

kreischweide says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Nice first entry! Had fun grinding, but could really use some kind of bait for the mind to stay focused.

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Nice game, like the concept very minimalist :D

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Congratulations on your first Ludum Dare. Good effort.

someone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Nice game. Could do with different enemies or bosses to keep it interesting.
Perhaps I should have read the mission, I ended up with a score of 11000 waiting for something to happen.

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:57pm

@someone ... hehe read first ^^

Tifu says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Right click to restart without any confirmation message!?! aghhh
Good job completing your first LD. I do believe if you look at the rules fixing minor bugs like the debug $500 thing is actually allowed after the deadline, just no major changes.

TuxedoFish says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:20pm

It was quite fun for a while and the graphics were quite nice however the audio for the enmies dying became irratating because they didnt reward you enough so you could mow through them for ages and only have like 100 dollars so it felt kind of unfair. But overall it was quite fun(:

naufr4g0 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:48pm

They are lemmings with a different hair style! :D
Quite fun in the first minutes, a bit boring after a while.
Why bullets don't rotate along with the gun?
Game needs different kind of enemies, too.
Anyway good game for a first entry. =)

psychomonster says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:29pm

@TuxedoFish :Yeah I think 500$ is a little bit to much... 150$ would have been enough :) Thx for playing...

@naufr4g0 : Oh yeah this little guys are inspired of Lemmings... but this hairstyle is no hairstyle... that are helmets :D yeah The Bullets... There was not enough time to plish the that much... next time at LD27 I will have to change my stratigy a little bit :D Thx for playing

dannycalleri says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Nice, but probably you should work to vary the gameplay a little bit. I read it's your first LD, so congratulations ;)

MinionStudios says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Fun, but really short...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]