April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

John and the Stairway to Zion

by Dissing - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple jumping platformer.
Help John find his way to Zion.
Jump though 10 exciting and crazy levels!
Collect orbs to open gates.

In case of motion sickness. Try to disable "Shrooms" under Settings. (Forgot to change the name!)

Tested on Windows 8, OSX Mountain Lion and Ubuntu 12.10

Second Ludum Dare entry and first time composing music.
I think it went better than expected.
Did not have time for optimizing, so the game can take quite some CPU. If you get weird unregular controls, try setting messing with the options in the settings menu.

The crazy background color and rotation can also be disabled in the settings menu.

Hope you like it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#94Mood3.64
#236Audio3.24
#352Graphics3.33
#563Overall3.16
#584Theme3.51
#826Humor1.87
#908Fun2.60
#1181Innovation2.15

Comments

KoryWazHere says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:23am

Thomas Was Alone clone in 48hrs not bad :)

ella guro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29am

i realllly like the mood set by the environments. the lighting is really cool. but your character being a big orange-ish rectangle kind of clashes weirdly with the great style.

jami says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31am

Nice game! Great atmosphere!

johnste says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:34am

Very atmospheric, loved the music and the lighting.

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:59am

Really nice art style and good music but John is a little short. :)

glisk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:00am

Nice thomas was alone clone with great atmosphere, the music combined with graphics is really nice (I like the orange color for the player btw).

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03am

Agree with ella, the player being an orange rectangle looks kind of off.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:04am

Pretty cool version of TWA, jump collision felt a little splashy sometimes but the atmosphere\music, little touches like the gently swaying level all cool

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:06am

Great setting.
But some jumps were to hard to achieve.

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:07am

Really smooth game, the rotating room gave me a bit of motion sickness and the gameplay was a bit slow/sluggish but pretty good nonetheless!

KEFIR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18am

Got to the end! My game have almost the same ending and main character looks very alike :) A little annoying that you need to be maximum accurate in movements or you will fall and have to climb back again.. and again.. and again.
Very good level design work though!

The Jahn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:52pm

I like the ambiance, though jumping can be a bit iffy at times.

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Great! The graphics are super, the ambient soundtrack fits well. Only the jumping mechanic could use some work.

What are shrooms?

Dissing says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:03pm

@Yezu
Oh forget to fix that!
Shrooms was a reference to an internal variable. It should have said crazy mode or something like that. Disabling it removes the swaying and background color changes.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Great mood

William Bundy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:46am

The creepy music and lighting enhance the mood of this game, but the context set up by the dialogue snippets really define it.

May 1, 2013 @ 8:12am

Are the shadows rendered real-time? If they are, there's such a huge amount of potential wasted by not making something move in front of the light sources, it's almost sad. :/

The ambience was really cool though, and I was not affected by the dizzying effects, excellent job!

May 2, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Good game i love the music

May 2, 2013 @ 12:12pm

This was great, I really like the atmosphere. What you did with the shake-effect (felt like it all took place on a ship), the lighting and the ambient sound is really exceptional and totally pays off.
The only complaint I got is that it's really quite repetitive and a little too long (John seems to be of the same opinion). Other than that it is one of the best LD26 games I've played yet.

May 4, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Level design was good but maybe too repetitive. Good visual style, maybe need a bit more contrast between solid tiles and background for some colors.

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:46am

Excellent work. Please ignore any "Stairway to Heaven" or "Jacob's Ladder" references, lol.

cakemonitor says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:38pm

good sense of mood and nice to see a game which follows a character through a story. it was a little slow paced for me but a really nice game none-the-less

dector says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Reminds me "Tomas was alone".

dremelofdeath says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:28am

Didn't work for me, just printed out a stack trace and died :/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]