April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Folding

by raincole - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to the world of Folding.

There are only nodes and segments here, but for a minimalist, it's still crowded. Keep simplifying them, until only a simplest structure(i.e. line or loop) remains.

*Demo*:

For those who got confused: http://s9.postimg.org/abowma6ot/4_6_18_51_PM.gif

*Goal*:

Turn the structure into a straight line or a loop before you run out of moves(on the top-right cornor).

*Instruction*:

You can rotate a segment which has a handle(hollow circle) at its end. When it hits another segment, it stops if it's aligned to any axis(i.e. up, left, down, right), or it bounces back to previous position otherwise.

Only the outermost nodes will become handles.

*Control*:

Mouse: Select a handle.
WASD(or Arrows): Rotate a segment.

*Apology*: Sorry I couldn't code a geometric interpolation in such a short time, so if you have low FPS there will be some bug. Please use a fast computer.

*EDIT*: Beautify the web page. The game itself isn't changed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#75Innovation3.88
#95Theme4.11
#207Overall3.56
#310Fun3.26
#568Graphics3.01
#694Audio2.46
#788Mood2.65
#915Humor1.76

Comments

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41am

Cool idea. Liked the simplicity. The bounce back anim was cool. Liked the art and audio. Got confused a few times on how I should approach a situation, some hints or help would be great.

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:45am

This is hard, I took ages on each level trying to work out how the game works. It's a nice puzzle once you understand, maybe for the simple folk like me could you write out a description?

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:49am

I never quite feel like I know what's going on in these kinds of games, but this is a rather unique puzzle and was fun to solve. It could definitely do with some more levels to further explore the kind of stuff you can do with the mechanics.

ananasblau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50am

Okay, I get the idea but i'm never sure why I did fail and that takes away a lot of fun. Other than that it is well done.

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53am

I loved loved loved this game. Level 9 had me stumped for quite a while. Great job.

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:59am

I think a tutorial would help, but overall a good game.

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

Level 9 is great! That's a proper puzzle game.

I will say that I found the 'early' levels rather boring and simple. I would have preferred a few more using the concepts in level 9 (creating loops).

Great look, great concept. ::) :)

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

Sorry for the inconvenience. I had added some description on the webpage(and here). I hope it helps:)

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17am

Definitely a great game! A little confusing at first but it was a good kind of confusion.

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17am

Once I figured out what was going on it was quite fun :) Inventive mechanic, great puzzler.

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:19am

@ananasblau:

There are only two ways to fail: 1) you run out of moves(displayed at the top-right corner) or 2) you have fixed nodes(X) only so you can't rotate anything any more.

Zaszx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:08am

Very nice idea, great game. I ragequit at level 9, dont think I can solve that one.

patrickward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:57am

Wonderful game. Great puzzles. The bounce backs made me laugh. Great job!

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Not sure how far I got, I wasn't paying attention. Too busy solving puzzles...!

bms says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Although I sucked at it I really liked the game, maybe you could make the movable parts more obvious

Well done!

noa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:09pm

good puzzle indeed ^^

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Unfortunately, my brain just doesn't work this way, but I can definitely see the puzzle potential. Very original!

Tinco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Challenging puzzler :)

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Very nice puzzle game.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Clever, challenging puzzler. Made my head hurt, in a good way.

lekochen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Neat puzzler, good game.

Husky says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Fun!
I like the puzzles, it's full of challenge!

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Great idea, and really clever

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Simple, yet brilliant

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Only problem I have with it is that you can't fold the menu : ( there is a mild bug that makes you lose if you keep pressing the direction button when folding onto a cross. Loved it, great job on the game!

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Wow that was intriguing. Nice work and hard game play.

GaTechGrad says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42am

Nice innovative idea, but I'll admit I was just randomly trying things until level 5. That's when I really grasped what I needed to do to complete the levels. However, level 9 completely stumped me.

GaTechGrad says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:48am

Just figured out level 9. Had to think a little differently to solve it. Nice game!

Markusn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:32am

unique idea. admittedly made my brain melt. really hope you release this on mobile!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:02am

Really cool!
I love puzzle games like these. It would make a good iphone game.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:14am

I've never seen that before, it's cool :)

Korda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:33am

Really good. Well thought out puzzles. Bravo

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:41am

The concept is interesting, I think it's rather difficult to come up with a good idea for a puzzle. The game was easy to understand and fun to play, however it is kinda... minimalistic. I would like to see more content added.

Colapsydo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:59am

Powerful concept which fits the theme.
I spent some time on the last one.

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:15am

The puzzles are well designed - I played to completion - and the fact that your goal is to achieve simplicity fits perfectly with the theme. Well done. :)

Neonlare says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:00am

Neat little puzzler, enjoyed the mechanic for a while :).

Zccc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Great idea, I really liked the concept, even tough the puzzles were hard to figure out. But cool game!

May 1, 2013 @ 8:18am

Simple but clever and unique idea. Well done!

pjchardt says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:32am

Very nice puzzle game. Nice use of the theme. Found the menu confusing as I thought it was the first level and was trying to rotate the segments :)

JonRB says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:54pm

While the audio did get a little repetitive, I really liked this game. Simple, challenging and fun. I could see this being ported to phones and being quite succesful.
My poor little 3am mind can't handle it so I'm going to try and finish it in the morning.

Pokemonsta says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:49am

Awesome

mramaizng says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Nice puzzle game. Controls weren't very intuitive but the game was awesome. a

omaha says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:10pm

this was great. i found it pretty difficult.

May 4, 2013 @ 10:17pm

This is hard, but i like it, haha! I liked of menu.

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Nice puzzle. Fun to solve and to play again. Nice entry!

May 5, 2013 @ 4:37pm

On the one hand I think I really like the concept, but on the other I can't quite figure out the rules for what causes some lines to stick and form a structure while others keep rotating. The game feels like it should be simple but I just found that I was getting really unexpected results on every level.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:55am

Awesome idea, man!
I understand how it work only when I beat half of game. I beat it completely and it was cool =)
Excellent work! Really minimalism =)

namuol says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Great puzzle game that incorporates the theme perfectly into gameplay!

With some polish and more levels, this could totally be a successful mobile game.

alts says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:17am

Cool to see another game about pivots and rotation. Finished the game. I didn't feel confident until the end of the last puzzle about when or why a move would work with X nodes. Up until that point it was quite fun working through the puzzles. 9 I ended up winning just on a desperate guess. I suppose I didn't properly figure out the rules by that point.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]