April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Language

by Loren - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Create a rich world with your words.

Build minimalist works during a 10 second engagement. After 10 seconds, you have the opportunity to view the piece. You can start typing again to reset the clock and create something new.

Each keystroke brings something new to the creations. Experiment and discover your own expressions.

Have fun :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#21Innovation4.17
#71Graphics4.05
#89Theme4.12
#96Audio3.59
#97Mood3.63
#238Overall3.51
#663Humor2.08
#667Fun2.85

Comments

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:06am

Curious experiment! Love the aesthetics and the randomness of every creation.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24am

Great music and sense of style. It's interesting to watch and see what happens. Slick presentation.

Thein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41am

This is a really nice idea! I kept trying to make pictures by typing in the same word over and over.

whitetigle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52am

Great. I really enjoyed the concept!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:53am

Very cool.

netgrind says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:55am

This was a cool little toy, I had a lot of fun figuring out what keys did what and how you were drawing things.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:58am

Its a really cool experimental art maker. Exploring the key presses to understand what they do and how they interact is delightful.

artifex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10am

Cool experiment. Great sounds. Nice , very nice.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17am

Oh wow! What an awesome idea! I'm super impressed. Innovation = 5 stars for sure.

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30am

pretty.

gokuhd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:32am

Love the music and graphics. It's interesting what you can me with it.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35am

Ha, creating stuff randomly/haphazardly is fun :) . Although I have no idea what's going on in the grand scheme of things.

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

Very interesting. Liked the concept and the toy. I am an artist! Mood, art, and audio are outstanding. Keep it up!

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:08am

Awesome man! I saw your tweets all weekend and couldn't wait to try it out. It is more of an experiment than a game, but it's perfectly executed. Only thing I could possibly suggest is an infinite stream of text. Sometimes it's therapeutic to just type and see this image change, instead of getting an image and restarting. But great work!

Andrio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:21am

A fun experiment.

JigxorAndy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26am

A really pretty graphical experience! Nice job!

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47am

Thanks for the kind comments everyone, I really appreciate the feedback :)

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36am

Favourite one so far has been "ON", sadly when I went to take a screenshot it reset the painting :(. Very cool stuff. Literally the theme.

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:15am

I looooove random creation. :D
Although the patterns are a bit repetitive...

Nambew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40pm

This thing is curious, I try to find pattern but each world are unique making differents thing. I thing you can turn this in game like find the correct word.

LZAntal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Fun game. Like the music, and wordds with lots of "B" makes some nice patterns :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:11pm

no idea what is happening but it's super dreamy in the best way! :)

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Coooool.

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Cool game!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Very, very cool!

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Oh man so soothing! I love this thing.

I can do this forever

why do I keep creating worlds

oh what would this word look like let's try

oh god please let me stop

(accurately sums up my playthrough of the game forever)

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Abstract and beautiful. I'd love more concrete rules for each keypress - something completely predictable. Harsh sounds making sharp edges, soft ones making rounded ones... then again, perhaps this is already the case! Interesting. Great work.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

A very nice game! The music was great and the outcome of your text was very cool to see! Good job!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Really pretty art piece!

Sayaer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01am

Spent a lot of time seeing what typing in different things would do, had a lot of fun with this one XD Thank you for making this.

shinestrength says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:38am

Beautiful!

syawqy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:15am

great randomness

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:30am

Really really cool! This is a pretty great interpretation of the theme :)

Canyon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:13am

I really enjoyed this :)

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:16am

This is very well done :D

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:28am

This could make for a nice contemplative afternoon working out sequences and combinations. Very nice work.

Chman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:22am

Cool artsy experiment. Now I know what my name *looks* like !

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:33am

Nice experiment. I like.

jerombd says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:50am

Pretty experiment! The sounds are relaxing too.

rujo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:07pm

nice experimental entry, not really a game but a good effort on the theme

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:44pm

This could make for a cool music video :)

YsenGrimm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Create from the Unknown!

Zoidbergtron says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Really love how tight and cohesive this feels! As a fan of things that play with frequency analysis, I think this is really cool.

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Hard to rate. Really nice look/style (visual and sound impression), but for me the "experience" will be better with some game mechanics.

3.14 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:24pm

You already have won the compo because of the title :). It's more experimental art then a game now. I wonder how could it be expanded into something where you slowly explore the inner workings of the this picture generator.

Interesting. Good work!

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Crazy stuff. I think I might be seeing those colors even though I've closed the game haha.

Interesting game. Cheers

playvue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:29pm

I love how it's randomly generated based on input! I can only imagine so sweet enviro-effects if it had some sounds w it too. Although, I still got a boat. Is that supposed to happen?

playvue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:51pm

CORRECTION: I love how it's "NOT-randomly-generated-but-still" based on input! So, basically, I love it. That is all. You may now return to your regularly schedule gaming.

Loren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:03pm

You cool commenters you, thanks so much for making this Ludum Dare so fun :)

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:43pm

This is amazing. Blogged it here:
http://videogameartstyles.tumblr.com/post/49304582092/10-second-language
I hope you win!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Great experimental game! Wow. It's very unique.

hirsch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Really interesting experimental game :)

onzephyr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Fantastic experimental game idea. Looks good sounds good. and quite engaging. Overall very well done.

May 2, 2013 @ 11:59am

Cool! I find myself trying to suss out the system underlying system, but maybe that's missing the point.

Loren says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Enjoy it as you want :) Thanks for checking it out!

RobKat says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Random, but not random, mind explodes 0_o

Hopps says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:58pm

wow, it's beautiful! Fun to play with.

BumpkinRich says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:51pm

He he. Feels like I have control over the world.... I have no control...

Wonderful idea.

May 2, 2013 @ 9:47pm

The idea of translation from a tactile form to visual form is a really cool idea, I could spend all day typing in quotes and such. Great work.

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Really enjoyable just to watch the piece grow - the idea that I can learn what effect each key had and perhaps learn to purposely create a world is pretty cool!

brxtr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Interesting.

Zccc says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:04pm

I loved it! The colors and shapes are amazing, it really has a nice mood! Really nice!

Jacic says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:52am

Very relaxing! I had fun messing around with it.

SeanAtr0n says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:41am

Awesome, had fun conversing and then just jamming keys as fast as possible.

Someone needs to try this hooked up to voice2text

rogueNoodle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Pretty interesting experiment - perfect for the theme.

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:32am

Awesome experience!

Porpentine says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:14am

oo holding down one button makes the screen flash...pretty

SamoojaMies says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:19pm

cool!

Prelucid says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Cool, artsy

drkrunk says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:18pm

I really liked this. It was almost soothing, with the music and sounds you added. Really nicely done.

dansludumdare says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:22pm

I like keyboards. There are lots of "create art from a strange input" things, the "canonical" example I can think of is otomata. But this one uses the keyboard! Something about the way I understand keyboard makes this feel more like I'm exploring a giant space of possibilities rather than painting random stuff with the mouse or whatever.

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Watching the colored film overlay interested me. If you continue to develop this, I did not pick up on the mapping between the grammar and the graphics.

metalcan says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Fantastic stuff. Lot's of fun to mess around with it. Also, if you write "pointy birds" you actually get a picture of pointy bird that appears to be inflating a balloon. Go figure.

lorancou says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:21pm

I really fell drugged !

danblack says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:33am

Nice looking web toy and I liked the audio. Not a game though.

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Interesting concept and clean graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]