April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mondritron: 2026

by Dotanukii - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Mondritron: 2026" is a top-down shooter inspired by "Robotron: 2084" that takes place in a Piet Mondrian style environment. The twist is that the player has the ability to change his or her character and shots to the primary colors, while the enemies each spawn as one of the secondary colors. The player then has to shoot the enemies with the corresponding complimentary color.

Controls:
WASD to move
ARROW Keys to shoot
LEFT SHIFT and SPACEBAR to cycle between colors
#1-4 to change color freely

*I would have added more levels if I did not run out of time.

Edit: I changed a small typo bug with the collision where the player would not take any damage if he or she stood still. And I changed the small "tutorial" button to a larger "Rules" button because people were having trouble seeing it and then not knowing the color combinations that are crucial to the gameplay.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#412Audio2.95
#475Theme3.62
#625Fun2.91
#640Innovation3.02
#652Graphics2.91
#756Humor1.96
#758Mood2.68
#790Overall2.95

Comments

netgrind says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37am

Small bug where the enemies never touch you if you don't move. What color destroyed what enemy confused me a bit at first as well.

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:42am

I actually enjoyed this game quite a bit. I'm surprised it was over so quickly. I feel that the controls could use a bit of tweaking, though. I didn't like having to tap the arrow keys every time I wanted to fire. I felt it should be more like robotron, where you hold down the direction and you keep firing non-stop.

PhilZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:18pm

It reminds me of Zombie survival type games, and honestly I never enjoyed those kind of games. The controls aren't the best. I would have liked if I could have used my mouse to fire at the blocks instead. This game needs more work, and it's overall and okay game.

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:41pm

I LOVE color theory games! A really cool take on Mondrian's work too. I found it really difficult though.

jackspinoza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:18am

pretty darn tricky, I liked the music and the colour opposites thing. good work

kingsman142 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

It was a great game, but the controls were a bit different and it was hard to adapt to at the beginning because of the colors.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:29am

Good use of graphics and sound, and I found the gameplay to be fairly unique and difficult for a shooter. Good work!

notepid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:02am

Good take on the theme. Bit hard game to play. I believe the difficulty ramps up too quickly. Having a more slower introduction to colors and enemies would make the game more enjoyable. I like it though!

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Interesting concept, a bit hard to play. It gets really hard after the first level.

Potentialing says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:33am

Nice game. The concept was creative, and the game was very active. I had fun with this one, and it had a nice atmosphere+music.

ethankennerly says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:49am

Shooting the complementary colors interested me. If you continue to develop this, have you considered slowing down enemies in the beginning?

CyberYeti says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:44am

Ya definitely, I'd like to make the controls better and create a more natural progression of difficulty and add more levels.

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:05pm

I cannot rate your game since it's WASD. Could you add a ZQSD option or other key binding please?

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Very hard to play, but great potential !

SuperDisk says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:40pm

It got tricky trying to match up the color with its counterpart. Also, the fading thing doesn't really work that well. Cool game anyways.

euske says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:45am

I need two more fingers to effectively play this.

Leginar says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:41am

Pretty solid game. It would be nice if I could use mouse controls though instead of arrow keys

avidgamerNino says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:23am

Its two hard at first, maybe start with just a couple colors and some instructions in game. I had to look at the page for controls.

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Awesome idea. Using Mondrian's art makes for a great style and for a cool-sounding name. ;)

But my left and right hand coordination skills are just a bit too low to play this game. It would be nice if the first few levels started out a bit slower, so that even people like me would have a chance. :D

Nehmulos says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:06pm

It's sad that it's so short. Also the game gets hard pretty fast. I kept confusing the colors pretty fast in all that hectic gameplay. It would have been nice if it would have started very easy with just one color and added more with each room.
Though I must say that it created some nice moments:
running away with the last 3 blocks just a few pixels away form you, while you painc trying to figure out the correct opposing color.

kyyninen says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:02am

Game mechanic didn't work with me at all, I honestly just kept cycling through all the colours in hope of hitting the enemies with something effective! Maybe my brain just isn't wired up properly with my eyes and fingertips... Nice mood, nevertheless.

gameXcore says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Nice idea, but far too hard.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:01am

Really liked this one, wish it was longer. I found that it very much rewarded button mashing. Good work!

Yoni says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:12pm

I could not get past the second level, and it took several tries to beat the first. It's too hard :(

Regarding the opposite color mechanism, while it's intriguing artistically, I think it unnecessarily adds to the difficulty of the gameplay. I ended up mashing space and trying to hit enemies with all possible colors because I would never remember which color is the opposite of which, except black-white.

Also, the first time I played this I hit "start" and I did not know what to do to beat the non-black enemies. On-screen instructions would help, or just lose the "rules" button - show the rules as soon as "start" is pressed (or even better - in "real time" during a sloooooooow and easy tutorial level).

The "rooms" in the background were very interesting artistically, and it's a shame I couldn't get to see much of it!

May 17, 2013 @ 12:21am

The concept is neat, kind of reminded me very vaguely of ikuraga, but heh, i destroyed all the levels and finished! xD I thought it was funny by the end as i was just spamming every color and killing all of them. it was like shooting rainbows.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]