April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Controlled Diet

by euske - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Unique puzzle + platformer.

Control: WASD, Jump: Space, Reset: Escape

NOTICE: There's a game breaking glitch at a later stage. Use reset if stuck.

Source code: https://github.com/euske/ld26/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#131Innovation3.75
#428Humor2.42
#521Audio2.76
#802Mood2.63
#848Overall2.90
#864Fun2.65
#912Theme3.16
#1242Graphics2.06

Comments

Ty Taylor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:42am

I really the core idea of arranging the platformer you're about to play (the puzzle aspect), though this through concepts in very quickly and was difficult to follow and adapt tp.

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:20am

This is a great idea but the controls need work.

Excellent concept, though, and good design. Great music too.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:00am

Really clever idea!

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32am

Love the retro feel and music :)

pythong says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:16am

At first I didn't understand which playtform was meant, and I pushed the objects ontop the sun (I guess?)

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:41am

Clever little idea, nicely done.

GingerMess says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:04am

I like the idea of arranging the level you're about to do, I'm not sure I've seen that before.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:05am

I absolutely love the literal "puzzle-platformer" mechanic, but I hate the actual platformer gameplay. Is there something I'm missing? Because I barely made it through the first three stages since I can never get enough distance on my jumps, even the powered-up ones. I'd love to see this game through to the end, but the jumps are utterly unforgiving.

euske says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:50pm

@Ryusui All the levels are doable, but indeed it's very unforgiving. I should have spent more time for tweaking the jump parameters.

enzo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:48pm

MLG? major league gaming? wha-

May 1, 2013 @ 9:51am

EL EM GEE! Great puzzle concept behind this one. I think that it might do with a bit "freer" feeling controls. The platforming feels very stiff right now, to the game's detriment.

I do like the aspect of building out your path a lot. I think the enemies have potential, but more often they feel like an annoyance rather than a valuable part of the experience.

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:52am

Fantastic idea... nicely executed. First time you jump on left platform a small bit of brain goes "aha,clever developer"... I love those moments... thank you! Great music too!

CyberYeti says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Really great idea and it's a lot of fun to play. i had some trouble figuring out how to move the blocks at first though.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:37am

Very nice idea, altough quite unforgiving at times. Really felt like an older game, loved it :)

May 6, 2013 @ 7:38am

There's a great idea in here. Good use of the theme, gameplay was a bit frustrating for me. If this was a fully developed platformer with these mechanics it would be very interesting.

RedSounding says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:46am

Wow. Loved the sound FX and music, good job! The concept was amazing too. Designing a level as gameplay? Genius! Make a game that uses that and it'll be a winner. Collision detection needs work though. Good job!

May 12, 2013 @ 11:13am

Great concept! It was difficult to understand how to start the platforming session (could have been maybe a good idea to give a different color to the platforms)

dick_claus says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:38am

Nice idea, but strange working :) Sometimes i can jump very high, sometimes no...hm!

Xanjos says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:40pm

The platforming aspect probably needs some work as it's really unforgiving at times but the puzzle aspect is pretty cool.

May 12, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Nice idea, but kinda abstract and hard to get... when you understand it, it's cool! Solid game... !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]