April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimala Jones & The Raiders Of The Lost Art

by krutech - Jam Entry

We finished.

Should work on win, mac and linux. Mac and linux is untested. Sorry

controls:
movement + jump = wasd / arrows
shoot a potato = space

We struggled with new tech.

From XNA and 2D to LIBGDX and 3D we lost some control.
The result is an interesting experience for us devs but not for the players. In retrospect we should have scaled down considering our challenges which we also can see in most other submissions.

We will be back, with more experience.

You might have to start with "java -jar ld26.jar -Xmx1024M"

All in all, we had fun, we learned, we potatoed.

/krutech

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#184Humor(Jam)2.52
#230Graphics(Jam)3.36
#273Audio(Jam)2.91
#355Mood(Jam)2.68
#365Fun(Jam)2.67
#402Overall(Jam)2.80
#459Innovation(Jam)2.31
#524Theme(Jam)2.31

Comments

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:51am

Nice game!

glisk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:56am

Game idea is nice, but I don't like how the jump is implemented (multiple jumps "in the air"). Anyway, nice game :)

DST says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:09am

Great game, I like the 3D-2D style and crazy boxey characters!

m64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:12am

Perhaps it's not the most original game ever, but considering the time it is impressive you have been able to do it.

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:14am

As you said, the controls are broken - floating through the air is somehow fun anyway. Interesting camera angle.

And potatoes!

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:18am

Looks neat! Wish my platform (mac or linux) was supported!

Mousseto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22am

Nice game, it seems to have some problems with jumps sometimes. Good job anyway :)

Geoege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25am

Really love that perspective, it's really cool.
Controls are a bit buggy, but it's ok.
The gameplay is really conventional but it works.
Nice done.

krutech says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:27am

@netguy204 it might work on linux/mac, we didnt try it ourselves due to lack of linux/mac computer.

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:29am

good game, but really buggy. + for minimala jones

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:34am

Character stopped moving a couple of times, even though I was still holding the button. I liked the victory music. Game seemed to freeze when I tried to start the second level after finishing the first.

Hyaku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53am

The collision detection is completely buggy and is annoying to restart the game over and over.
But, man, this game is hilarious, really fun.
And i love the graphics.

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:18pm

To get this working on linux/mac, you will have to rename

content/sfx/Jump.wav (upper-case J)

into

content/sfx/jump.wav (lower-case j)

Fabien Porée says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Maybe it's just my computer, but I actually really like how wonky and jittery this game is :)

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:29pm

As the testers before me said, it's pretty buggy - sometimes I got stuck in the ground, pressing jump repeatedly allows you to fly, lots of crashes, etc.

I loved that every level had its own art style, the music fits the game really well and the characters are gorgeous. With a little bit of polish on the collision detection, it'll be a nice little platformer and it's impressive that you pulled it off in such short time!

Also: What is that blue thing bouncing around on my level select screen after I've collected all puzzle pieces?

Paul Sinnett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:33pm

I like the camera view, it adds a kind of adventure dynamic to the game without complicating the game play.

krutech says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Semi:
Thanks for taking the time to test it AND fixing it for linux.
Regarding collisions and movement, we struggled with it and could not overcome the challanges in time. the 3D and 2D mix was also a new thing and had alot fun experimenting there.

The blue thing is an easter egg, a minimal piece of art.

/bitslap

davidB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Missing wasd support for azerty keyboard : zqsd (or arrow)

Fail to run "as is" under linux. File System is case sensitive :

➜ minimala jones java -jar ld26.jar -Xmx1024M
Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" com.badlogic.gdx.utils.GdxRuntimeException: Error creating music com.badlogic.gdx.backends.openal.Wav$Music for file: content/sfx/jump.wav
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.openal.OpenALAudio.newMusic(OpenALAudio.java:126)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.openal.OpenALAudio.newMusic(OpenALAudio.java:41)
at se.krutech.ludumdare26.SoundManager.<init>(SoundManager.java:34)
at se.krutech.ludumdare26.ludumdare.create(ludumdare.java:121)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:130)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:110)
Caused by: java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
at sun.reflect.NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance(NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.java:57)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance(DelegatingConstructorAccessorImpl.java:45)
at java.lang.reflect.Constructor.newInstance(Constructor.java:525)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.openal.OpenALAudio.newMusic(OpenALAudio.java:124)
... 5 more
Caused by: com.badlogic.gdx.utils.GdxRuntimeException: File not found: content/sfx/jump.wav (Internal)
at com.badlogic.gdx.files.FileHandle.read(FileHandle.java:132)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.openal.Wav$WavInputStream.<init>(Wav.java:86)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.openal.Wav$Music.<init>(Wav.java:33)
... 10 more
➜ minimala jones ls
content ld26.jar run.bat
➜ minimala jones ls content/sfx/
ambientgrass.wav ambientsand.wav ambientstone.wav enemydie.wav goodsong.wav Jump.wav level1.wav level2.wav level3.wav level4.wav shot.wav walkgrass.wav walksand.wav walksnow.wav walkstone.wav

krutech says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Support for arrowkeys and a renamed jump.wav is now in the release. Hopefully this means it will work on linux/mac without any issues. :)

villhest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Nice job, love the art style and music. Also, it's cool how the level select screen is a jigsaw puzzle. I was able to play through all levels (when relaunching in between), but it crashed after level one. I saved the log file if you want it. Btw, I can imagine being a team of 6 people was quite a challenge:)

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:53am

Neat perspective and visuals - the controls and movement were very wonky, but not enough to break the game.

Leginar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Pretty good, liked the camera angle but the controls made it really hard to play. Still a very good game though

Jyrkface says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:56am

I really like the perspective/angle thing you did with this, seems like it would be good for creating suspense. If you expanded it a bit this game could be really cool!

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Loved it! The characters were great looking and the levels were fun!

imagnity says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:10pm

I had fun playing it. You should polish it up.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]