April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Out of darkness

by Harsay - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your goal is to escape from darkness. Sound and light can help you.
Every new level is generated.
If you are away from quit the screen is darker. When close the screen is lighter.
Controls: W,S,A,D to move (1 press = 1 step) and ESC to return to menu
Remember to rate and comment! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#77Theme4.14
#316Innovation3.43
#326Mood3.18
#635Audio2.56
#812Overall2.93
#1002Graphics2.45
#1072Fun2.37
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

vgcharlienash says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Interesting, quite hard though!

Sh1rogane says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:43pm

You might want to limit fps maybe. I get about 3000+ fps ^^

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:53am

Nice approach :)

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17pm

This is really cool!

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23pm

This is really great, simple and yet effective. I loved the concept.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:34am

I escaped from the darkness! I was all ready to play another level after that, too - shucks. I did a similar take on this theme for my game too.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Full marks for theme.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:25pm

2deep4me :/

Dohan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Great use of the combination of sound and light to create mazes. I really liked it!

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Amazingly realized! I was hoping people would make games like this because it's awesome to traverse a world that you basically have to create with your own imagination.

Awesome job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:55pm

An interesting on lighting and exploration. The randomly generated dungeons are fun, however though there isn't much to it outside of walking around, hitting walls, and making the screen brighter. Works wonderfully for the minimalistic style of the competition, but also feels there could be more to make the experience fun. Getting caught up in a large dungeon definitely takes a while, though it is cool how you can scale it through player choice. An interesting lighting experience, but not really to fun as a game.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Really nice take on minimalism. Fun game but it could use a little more of something else happening. Otherwise it gets a little boring quickly. Other than that, really nice game!

Spiridios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:43am

I like the combination of blindness and light.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:52am

Good idea but I think it will be better with more things to guide you.

Ragzouken says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:38am

Interested take on limited vision - one of the few where I actually don't feel overwhelmed by an inability to tell where I am. It feels fair. Check out my game; I tried something similar but it didn't turn out as well. Good job!

May 8, 2013 @ 1:15pm

A nice take on a maze game. It is rater simple, but I think that works in it's favor.

psc1997 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:27am

I loved the concept ;-)
Very Good Job ;-)

rejooh says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:28am

Why is that game roasting my GPU? :P

MinionStudios says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Great entry! Very very minimal...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]