April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

DownGrade

by barkergames - Jam Entry

One Definition of minimalism is a work which is set out to expose the essence or identity of a subject through eliminating all non-essential forms, features or concepts.

In that spirit, our game, DownGrade, follows a protagonist (subject) who has been assimilated by the Cyborg Nation, and is attempting to reclaim his humanity (essence or identity) by ridding himself of his cybernetic implants (non-essential forms, features and concepts).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#202Innovation(Jam)3.20
#283Theme(Jam)3.22
#316Humor(Jam)1.96
#317Mood(Jam)2.78
#408Audio(Jam)2.11
#452Overall(Jam)2.66
#487Fun(Jam)2.24
#489Graphics(Jam)2.35

Comments

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23pm

The text is quite hard to read the art style is quite interesting.
The game however starts quite hard and confusing, you die and spawn someplace different feels weird

Destroyer40k says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:39pm

I like the basic idea of the game where it becomes progressively harder as you pass the levels, but it's pretty hard from the start. There's just tons of guns firing at you and you have a huge hitbox without a possibility to even crouch. Otherwise the gameplay is good and I think I recognize the audio effect for punching a wall from Unreal :)

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11am

This game starts off quite hard, and controls of space being jump and the use of the mouse made my hand hurt very quickly. As a suggestion, use up as your jump, and put the speed dash on "E" and "Shift" then you should be able to hit all the controls comfortably on one hand for keyboard and one for mouse.

Mystify says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15am

it is a pretty good idea, but the gameplay is not that fun. Its a platformer, where you are slow and clumsy with a huge hitbox

manax says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:19am

Yeah, agree respawn was weird. 3rd area I was in was particularly difficult, kept hitting these stationary spikes and falling back a long ways, didn't see any way to get past...

Good concept though.

moomoo112 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:22am

the character felt too big for the levels..

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:25am

Nice and interesting concept, stripping down to the essentials is very much minimalism. The fact that you created a level generator of this complexity is somewhat impressive, but the first level I spawned in was unbeatable, I couldn't fit through. The gameplay leaves much to be desired, the graphics were all right, no music. I'd say it's a good start, but you might want to remake the core mechanics if you go any further.

Avrec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:56am

Went until I hit a point where the level wouldn't let me go any further; I couldn't fit through the only open space. Are the levels procedurally generated? That might be the problem.

Hayawi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:52am

Felt unfinished and untested, even for an LD game

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:02am

I like the idea, but the game became more frustrating as it continued and I eventually gave up. In-spite of the labels on the downgrade screen I had a hard time figuring out what would happen when I selected on.

Cybearg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:43pm

The idea of downgrading as you go is a clever twist. I like it!

Personally, though, I found the level design to be too cruel to actually be much fun. There are lots of unavoidable hits and very difficult precision platforming segments. In the end, it's not a very fun game, but the concept behind downgrading as you go was a clever one.

Maybe if the levels were done differently, it could work really well.

CheesyRamen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:10am

I really enjoyed your implementation of minimalism in this one. Good job! :)

hardycore says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:21am

Removing upgrades is a good concept for the theme and the story fits extremely well with it. The ever-shrinking instructions page before each level is a good touch.

The levels felt like they were made for a slightly smaller character, but overall they worked well enough. Some levels are hard or even impossible without certain upgrades; good thing the game generates a new stage each try.

The game is very enjoyable with quite a lot of content already considering the LD timeline, and is very scalable; by adding new levels, new implants, and a layer of polish, there's not really much of a limit to how good this game could get.

barkergames says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:45am

Thanks for all the constructive criticism everyone.

Sadly we didn't get enough time to play test as much as we would have liked :(

I agree that the levels and a bit of the game play need some work.
Music needs to be added as well.

Ryusui says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:06am

I think it's a clever idea, but I wish the level design involved more than just tricky jumps and dodging gunfire.

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:53pm

A great entry! Powering down different parts of your super character is a great idea.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:20pm

I'm on a Mac, sorry :(

Tainted_Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:05pm

VERY strange respawns but awesome concept and nice sound effects!

itsZN says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:13pm

I like the concept, but the gameplay is a little difficult. I don't get why it keeps teleporting to random parts after each death.

BrothersT says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:40pm

I love the Cheetahmen-style controls, graphics and difficulty level. All that was missing was the funky soundtrack ;) That said, it was a bit too difficult, especially after I accidentally reduced my sight range! It became almost impossible to play after that, since I kept falling down holes.

May 7, 2013 @ 1:24am

Fun, great idea a couple times the spikes didn't work though.

Andy West says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:35am

Sorry, but this crashes immediately when I try to run in on Windows 8 64-bit.

LionelJitro says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:24am

Really cool concept.

I didn't quite understand the level generation and re spawns. The difficulty tended to fluctuate a lot.

It was really hard to make a choice about what to downgrade. I liked that mechanic a lot.

kibertoad says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:39am

Impressive entry, but character movement feels painful even with all of the upgrades. Maps should more open space for stuff like hovering to work properly.

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:46am

That was pretty darn difficult but a ton of addictive fun :D

The sound effects were obnoxious at first, and the whole way through really. Definitely the weakest point of the game. I also sometimes clicked outside the window when trying to aim down really quickly, confining the mouse to the window would have helped.

The level design was challenging, especially with the very stiff controls, but it was hard in a good way. Kept me trying to get better at it, trying to master it. Having to downgrade a component was really cool, if a bit of a nail-biter decision (which is good!).

Holding down shift and having the power drain while not doing anything was a tad annoying but I got used to it pretty quickly.

All in all, great game! I think you've got something really cool here and you should definitely keep polishing it! :)

dremelofdeath says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:38am

The audio in this game is really well done. I was a super fan of it. Unfortunately, I found the controls really hard to use and didn't really get far enough to see the theme execution.

DaveDobson says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:33am

Really interesting idea, to give up powers, and lots of variety in levels. I like the instant restart with a changed level - means that you can't get stuck on one thing for long. I made the mistake of giving up far sight early on, and that made the game muuuuch harder. Good backstory with the text, and cool sounds. Game physics was a little wonky, but once you got used to it, it was cool. There were some obstacles it was just impossible to jump over or avoid, which was a little frustrating.

Jellycakes says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:45am

Was a really nice game. I started out running and gunning everywhere but the more upgrades I got rid of the more it encouraged careful gameplay. Everything was a bit fidily to maneuver around though as the character seemed giant and it only got a little easier when I got rid of seer sight. Other than that, great job!

avidgamerNino says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:23am

When die am I suppose to start at different levels? A little away from the theme, but it was an addicting game.

May 12, 2013 @ 10:45pm

It felt really confusing and hard. As someone already said, the character is way too big compared to the level.

Komradus says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 10:02am

Really difficult to get a grasp but damn, I could not stop playing, good stuff.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]