April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dehumanizer

by UltimateWalrus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Youtube video!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gx9F5a23fVQ

Post-compo version (better sand physics, gamepad support, extended background):
http://ultimatewalrus.com/dehumanizer


An ultraviolent platforming shoot-em-up done in 16x16 resolution, by Sebastian Janisz (Ultimate Walrus).

You are the Dehumanizer, a bio-weapon capable of taking out entire armies. You were engineered to be the perfect weapon, but the intern who was supposed to put the obedience chip into your cyber-core accidentally put a violence chip in instead.

Now the corporation that made you, GoodWeps, wants to kill you! Fight for your life!

My website: ultimatewalrus.com
My page: facebook.com/ultimatewalrus

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#15Theme4.40
#57Audio3.74
#82Overall3.82
#85Fun3.67
#102Mood3.62
#195Graphics3.69
#211Innovation3.59
#277Humor2.69
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51am

Kewl! This sure is minimalistic. :)

PaidGEEK says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51am

Very nice! This fits the theme perfectly and well done for making a game with only 256 pixels! xD

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03pm

I don't have windows :(

minibutmany says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12pm

This is awesome. Really fun, nice gameplay.

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:13pm

that was awesome and also a little creepy once you realize that your using the corpses of your fallen enemies to gain height. :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Awesome work and great interpretation of the theme! Looks and plays great and it's even got multiplayer support!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Wow, I could play this for a long time, very nice

klianc09 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Really nice game. The controls are a little bit annoying (Not everybody has Z directly besides X) but otherwise well executed.

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Really fun and very innovative!. it's impressive how you've managed to fit the theme

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Love the intro!, and very well done! :D

Kitch says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:25am

wow.. once i figured out the controls.. (i'm a bit slow).. I had a lot of fun with it. great audio and and really liked the really big pixels.

cadin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:34am

I saw your video for this. I'd really like to try it. Any chance of making a Web version?

May 1, 2013 @ 3:06am

thanks very much for the comments guys! they're overwhelmingly positive! it makes me happy! thanks for playing! :D

@cadin: unfortunately with the engine i used and the way the game works, a web version would be impossible. is the reason you can't play because you're on OSX? if so, people have had some success running my games within the WINE emulator.
http://www.winehq.org/

Benjamin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:11am

This game is really fun. I must have played around 20 tiles, ( my highscore is 160 ).
I didnt go into the cave or wall strategy, I prefer to keep a flat ground with a little peak somewhere. When its high enough I climb and take a jump. A lot of differents strategies for a very small game. Brilliant.
Oh and also congrats on making a whole world with just a scrolling background of 16px width, it really work : I wanted to climb mostly to see a larger part of the bg.

Benjamin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:14am

I forgot one cons : the jump is not feeling so great, I think that some different jump level depending on the presskey time would make it more usable. I often had a small gap to jump but launching the big jump was a terrible risk to take in some situations. I ended using jump only in desperate or scroll-up situations.

jerombd says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Well done! But the difficulty is low: the fun begins after 15!

bytegrove says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Really clever interpretation of the theme! Cool idea having the enemies become a part of the terrain as they died. Fluent controls and nice choice of colours, nice work!

Skywilly says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Really cool concept. I love these visuals, very "UltimateWalrus" for those have already played at your games. And the music is, like always, very fun. The minimalism of the concept is the strenght of this game. Great job !

BNeutral says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:38am

Minimalistic!

TheBenjaneer says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Very Nicely Done. 16x16 ultra-violent shooter indeed XD

May 5, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Amazing work!

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:51am

Fun! Really enjoyed it. Good job!

whilefun says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Very good entry! :) The music and overall aesthetic is sort of "Terminator"-esque, even though it's 16x16 pixels. Very original, and fun.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 5:23am

not much more minimal than this - great job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]