April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pieces

by Husky - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*****************************************************************************
Hi, before you started playing.

I want to remind you that I had added the "mouse over + key 'Z'" as the alternative control of mouse middle click.

Thanks :p

*****************************************************************************

--

Hmm...I thought the theme would be like "Death is good". "Afterlife". "After the end of the world" or "Every Death is meaningful",
then I can make a horror game muhahahaha!

But it is not. *sigh*

According to these key words:
"Less is more".
"Simple is good".

and I saw the post: http://www.coffeewithanarchitect.com/2011/11/16/ten-representations-of-minimalism/

They give me a idea to make a game using plus/minus (difference/union?)as its gameplay.

I feel a little sad that the ideas of horror games, I want to use at the "Death" themes, are all gone.

So I was trying to make "Pieces" like a evil and horror game lol (well, maybe I failed).

I am using the same languages and tools as usual: AS3 and Lua.

This time, I was trying to make a music by TENORI-ON, it's pretty fun, but I still need lots of practice.

That's all, thanks for playing! :)

--

*****************************************************************************
The game is pretty short, so it's ok to put attention on game dialog ;)

oh, and the game has potatoes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#217Innovation3.58
#294Humor2.67
#326Mood3.18
#437Overall3.28
#468Audio2.84
#569Graphics3.00
#603Theme3.49
#720Fun2.80

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 2:25pm

I really loved your puzzles and the simple mechanic. Thank you. :)

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:41pm

This is really really cool! My only complain is the flashing when hovering over an object.. it got distracting and annoying fast.

DrGeraud says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Exactly the same as FuzzyWuzzie.
Really cool ! But objects flash way too fast.

Anyway, good job !

omaha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49am

I think I need to invest in a proper mouse. Hard to play on my trackpad.

Husky says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53am

@SuperlevelSebastian
Thank you!:)

@FuzzyWuzzie
@DrGeraud
Thank you guys!
I fixed the annoying flicking effect.

@omaha
Aw, sorry. I forgot the notbook users...
I add the "mouse over + key 'Z'" as the alternative control of middle click.

Thanks for your feedback! :)

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15am

It's a great idea and it fits the theme. Sometimes the click doesn't work.

caasi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:49am

(Y)
Did you put her in your closet?

lekochen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:52am

Whoa, what an ending!

Husky says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:29pm

@raincole
Thank you!
I didn't cause that situation, my mouse works fine here...
I will keep tracking, thanks for your feedback :p.

@caasi
rofl.
I have no idea what you're talking about~~~~ lol.

@lekochen
It's lucky that it's just a story XD.

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Interesting concept and charming game!

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:36pm

I liked the game, but I found that the puzzles kinda stopped making sense after a while and I was just clicking without thinking

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Tricky puzzles, I enjoyed playing this game

saggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:38am

This game is very cute!

alts says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:07am

I really liked this. The final puzzle in particular really convinced me. Excellent mechanic, and great execution of it. I wasn't able to middle click (the browser would intercept it before the flash embed). Luckily it isn't critical.

Jezzamon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:08am

Yay! Fit the theme really well! Great game!

There are a LOT of typos though, but it's forgivable.

How exactly did you make this? I don't understand how you could get the middle and right mouse click working if you used as3

starpixie says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:22am

I was compelled to finish the game and find out the ending! I would agree that this is a charming game. The music, sound effects, and story really helped draw me in, and the mechanic was pretty solid - and certainly minimalist. Excellent submission.

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:47am

Nice one! Couldn´t get middle click to workt though

Ezzam says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:53am

Pretty outstanding game with a very interesting and well executed mechanic.

Pitoum says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:59am

Too bad you didn't think to the players who don't have a middle click :(

tiffi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:14am

Wow simple and minimalistic and quite puzzling ;)

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:21am

A puzzling puzzle if I ever puzzled over one. Great presentation and the like! You really put a lot of effort into making this work with the minimalism theme.

rezoner says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:38am

Awesome idea! Very fresh and interesting. Enjoyed the calming experience.

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Thank you and your feedback, guys! :D

Sorry for my poor level designing and English/grammar...*sigh*

I had added the "mouse over + key 'Z'" as the alternative controlling of mouse middle click,
hope that can solve all the middle mouse problems...
My fault, I wouldn't use middle mouse in my gameplay next time. :s

Thanks again!

Dir3kt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Cute but had some difficulties figuring out what to do :/

domrein says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:00am

Very cool idea. The doll puzzle was pretty tricky though :( Didn't beat it. I think I'll go back and try again.

Skywilly says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:13am

It's not for my little brain... But it's a great idea !

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:50am

@Jezzamon
Hi, AS3 can use the event of mouse middle and right after FP11.2! :D

atraxgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:58am

A cool way to express a feeling, to narrate a story.

foul says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:54pm

lol i just created a really horrifying doll :)

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Nice puzzles and storie. Good job!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Intelligent puzzle. Congratz!!

May 4, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Nice Idea

Colapsydo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:40am

Nice mechanic for this puzzle game.
Sometimes it's a bit hard to find the right combination when we just have a text description oh the key, but it's also challenging.

glbs says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Simple mechanics but pretty beautiful game

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:00am

Such a smart game! I love the idea of adding and subtracting, and I love the way you approached the theme. It took me a little while to completely wrap my head around the game mechanics, since the Umbrella + Cat stage got a little complex. Great work. :)

Turtle says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:54am

@_@ spooky

May 13, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Quite a weird game and the concept itself is pretty odd but I have to score you high on innovation purely because of that.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:20pm

OW ? Great puzzle, I love it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]