April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Quest

by Scott McBee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Quest is an RPG boiled down to it's most basic form. You help The Witch by managing the three most basic stats: Health, Mana, and Money. Buy potions, drink them, Heal yourself with magic and be sure to use Blink, your get out of jail card.

Note: you can only buy potions in town, which is the cobblestoned area

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#251Overall3.49
#256Audio3.21
#261Graphics3.51
#353Mood3.15
#365Innovation3.37
#425Humor2.43
#496Fun3.05
#937Theme3.12

Comments

jcmoyer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:54am

Bug: Some of the tooltips are off and say Blink when they shouldn't.

Suggestion: A scoring mechanism would add some sort of goal to the game.

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:04am

Really interesting concept. I have never seen anything like it.

roaet says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:05am

This is a good concept. I've seen a game like this on iPhone but never played it. This game inspires me to make something like it. Good work!

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:06am

Very cute game, never played a 1D rpg before ;D

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11am

495 points. Reminds me disturbingly of the FFXIII battle system, which isn't given enough credit. Good work! The music quickly began giving me a headache.

spilth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:37am

This is well done. Very simple to play but still challenging. Not sure the music fits with the setting though...

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:08am

my favorite DEATH screen so far.

Behemoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35am

Ahahaha, very nice. Gets a little hectic after a while.

ananasblau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37am

jolly good music you got there. I almost made it to the graveyard but I died at its gates. Great game.

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37am

Very cool. The tool tips are a little messed up. Once I got past that I really enjoyed it. Liked the balance of power. Didn't understand what Blink would do till I used it - could have used more of a head's up. Liked the art and audio. Great work!

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:38am

Neat idea. I like games where the character is semi-autonomous. Great graphics too!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:42am

The music loop was really catchy, and it was great that the sprites and resource indicator moved with it; it had a real flow. There was a bug with the tooltips saying blink when they shouldn't, but that was the only issue I had.

magicdweedoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54am

This is interesting, I like it. Nice one.

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05am

Fixed the tooltips. WHOOPS!

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20am

How delightful. I felt so much purpose. Quibble--I couldn't figure out how to spend money.

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09am

Ahh! I really like the simplification of the RPG concepts, turning this into a planning / resource management game. Well-done! My score: 270.

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12am

I really love RPGs that semi play themselves. Fun to watch them, I wish there was a game like this, but with talents and customization.

sparksgently says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20am

I like it. In particular, I appreciate how seamless of an experience this is. It's easy to see your character and the upcoming dangers. It's easy to see the character's status. It's easy to differentiate the buttons. It just... works. Great job. :)

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Crabs took all my money! :)

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Very nice work!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Really lovely! :) 370.

KevinZuhn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04am

I had fun surviving, although I felt like the random generation could sometimes stomp my progress (since it seems like towns don't appear with reliable regularity).
Ghosts and crabs felt like overkill, given how much mana and money they can suck out of you. The skip spell was a great addition, though, and added a lot of strategy. I always tried to keep enough mana around to skip in case a crab came my way!
Score 310 so far.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:40am

Really liked the idea! Gameplay felt underdeveloped, but with only 48 hours (or less) to work with... Really cool idea.

May 1, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Really cool idea, pretty well done. This could very well be a base to develop something truly epic on :D

cardboard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:00am

285. I'll be coming back to this game later :) Pleasant atmosphere and fun game.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:11am

Very good, with a leveling system it'll be awesome !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]