April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Serendipity

by AnnaGavaldaKedavra - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arrow keys or ZQSD


Beyond Jupiter and even further :
The Zebra in his essence,
The knowledge and the lights.
Is it Chaos, is it Order?
Or is it you?
One only thing remain,
Serendipity.
Serendipity.
Serendipity.





It's my second entry. I still hope for the WTF award.

Just one little bug : The blue light is really hidden (it shouldn't be).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#249Audio3.22
#277Humor2.69
#420Mood3.07
#640Innovation3.02
#1047Graphics2.37
#1053Theme2.96
#1242Overall2.37
#1261Fun1.96

Comments

LeafThief says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:50am

Huh. What just happened there?
Oddly enough I liked the music.

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53am

wtf?? :)

Simon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:11pm

You should have called your game insanity.

omaromeir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Lol this is definitely the weirdest one yet. I hope you win the award you're aiming for :p.

ZeroDivide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:08pm

I'm... not quite sure what I'm doing.

lucasncv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Haha, amazing. 5/5 WTF.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Thx. Did u manage to finish it? Does it return to the first screen? I changed the end and never tried it.

lucasncv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:28pm

I can't seem to get past "All of the lights"!

lucasncv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Ok, now that I did I wish I didn't.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:03pm

It's the zebra structure. I Knew i should have playtested my game. :)

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Are you fucking with my brain ?

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:21pm

SPOILER ALERT : There is an underlying logic and a Zebra.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:08pm

What the Zebra ! :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Seriously confused, very deserved of the WTF award. If the aim was to mess with my mind you've succeeded! Nice

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Zebra zebra zebra. Interesting experience. Cool music!

Galvesmash says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Zebra is in my mind now! O.o

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35pm

DAMN! There is a small bug with the blue light, she's hard to see...Also i just played it and the end is More brutal than it should be.

saguaro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:37pm

The zebra cube is the soul.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:40pm

SPOILER ALERT 2 : This is not a game this is BLACK MAGIC, next time you see a Zebra you'll become black (well it doesn't work on black people plus it's not racist).

patrickward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25am

I saw the Zebra the first time, now it just stays on the word "Space" when i go back to it. Definitely belongs in the WTF category! Interesting experience the first time.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:36am

DUDE!? Did you broke my game?

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:50pm

???

I lost, against the dragon in the second stage.

peaveyj says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:17am

Haha. WTF indeed. I like the music, and I think you definitely achieved your goal ;). I liked the music as well.

Tater_hater says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:18am

It was... trippy. i liked it but the repetition was a little overused

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:50am

I found all of the lights and then took the black exit... it works with real life zebras or pictures of zebras too?

May 1, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Dude! It even work with black stripes. BEWARE.

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:16pm

wtf

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:13pm

WTF mood 5/5

Chronodrax says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:24pm

WTF did I just play ???
I don't even.
What has been played cannot be un-played.
This experience will remain in the subconscious part of my mind until the end of time.
And now I understand serendipity.

deepnight says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:11pm

I can't honestly say I understood the underlying mechanic, although I have a really vague intuition about it. Golden WTF reward :)

May 2, 2013 @ 10:05pm

@chronodrax : lol ;), it can't be un-played but i just saw that it can't be played again when you press escape at the end.

@deepnight : ABRACADABRANTESQUE, and the truth is that it's not black magic it's just the "Lost" Opening + Beyond jupiter from "2001: a space odyssey" plus a zebra. And even if the zebra is a plagiat, i'm pretty sure when you put together 3 plagiat it's not a plagiat ASK MY LAWYER!

May 2, 2013 @ 10:08pm

DAMN! i thought i was writing in my head, now the magic is gone.

BTW there is no overall stars so please feel free to put the WTF stars in the overall ones.

Aevek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:27pm

I don't even know what just happened...

sharbelfs says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Yeah... I don't get it at all!

AaronYip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Uhhhhh. Uhhhh, ummmm. Uhhhhhh. Ummmmm, mmmmmmm. Uh?

Pierrec says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:28am

WTF award indeed.
I love the mood of this and I think I even got what I was supposed to do. But I think the game lacks some feedback, the player doesn't really know if he's doing right or wrong (unless I was doing wrong all the time^^)

May 3, 2013 @ 12:19pm

:) Yeah i think one more day could have been a good thing

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:11pm

The WTF award is yours, for sure!! Nice entry!

May 3, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Yeah, this is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
DEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP!
Sorry I had a beer too many... XD!

rezzish says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:06am

I didn't figure out the mechanic but I enjoyed what was happening regardless.

mrexcessive says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Indeed "wtf" seconded. Feels a bit like a puzzle from Assassin's Creed, crossed with a light dose of Zoolander ;0)

Taro Omiya says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:38am

I strongly appreciated the forced perspective applied to the text such as "Zebra" and "Monolithe," providing a sense that you are falling. The darkness helps accent the critical gray block, providing a single, minimalistic point of interest that, despite its small size, forces you to move around the screen. The fleshed out colors appearing at "All the lights" provides a gorgeous commentary on the old RGB TV tubes. This, combined with the fact that the zebra photo looming in is not really black or white, but rather a mixture of the primary light colors is a fascinating meta-commentary on perception of art. Indeed, is that a zebra, or merely a computer screen imitating as one? A truly profound thought exercise. As you enter into each light, it helps the player realize that they, too, are the participants of this mind-trickery.

The audio embraces the silence, fitting with the game's emphasis on hollowness, and similarly, light. The fact that your action has no bearing what-so-ever on its speed or pitch defines the very importance of this game: the feeling of helplessness, the lack of hope. This thorough sadness is only added to the fact that even when the player has finally gathered all the light, instead of greatness, they're met with blindness. Only then will they truly realize the true meaning of this game...

It deserves the WTF award.

May 9, 2013 @ 8:16am

Well, I collected the colors, and I made the world white.

Then I steered allllll the way over to the left as the blackness approached, and for some reason the little box started jittering uncontrollably. It drifted back to the right, endlessly.

I... Um...

I liked the audio, actually.

May 10, 2013 @ 5:40pm

You deserve the WTF award. I'm so lost and confused :)

Roupette says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:51am

I looked
I do not remember who I am
I listened
I do not remember where I am

DST says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:23am

Very weird ^_^ A nice experience!

May 20, 2013 @ 3:04am

...I didn't get it.

Jesse111 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Spoiler alert?
I made it to a white screen where a tiny flickering (version of myself? moved slowly from left to right and left the screen.

Was that the end?
I didn't seem to be able to control anything from that point on (unless I lost my cursor offscreen somewhere

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]