April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cimi Mal

by Jesper Oskarsson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An experimental 3D puzzle platformer.

Gameplay Video: http://youtu.be/c3r7ifCvqgA

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#36Innovation4.07
#107Theme4.09
#135Overall3.70
#210Mood3.36
#245Graphics3.56
#416Fun3.14
#580Audio2.67
#1058Humor1.32

Comments

PaidGEEK says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:00am

I quite like it. The style is easy on the eye.

bytegrove says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Slick puzzle game! It felt really polished and I really like the dynamic world, and I liked that you used the core mechanics for several different kinds of puzzles. The moody lighting creates a somewhat claustrophobic atmosphere, which reminds me a little of Portal. :) Great sound effects and I appreciated the tutorial! The music was a little repetitive though, and could become quite annoying when trying to solve a puzzle. The learning curve might be too steep as well? I got stuck on the second level after having reached the second light.
All in all, cool game and concept, really nice atmosphere! :D

bigbazwa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Great style, cool puzzles.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Best award of innovation !

Diamonde says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Very innovative and interesting little game!
I like it when the blocks are really cool when they react differently to their neighbors. Also the sound and overall mood is very nice!
The second level is a bit frustrating though, but when I finally finished it I was very pleased :D

May 1, 2013 @ 8:16am

@PaidGEEK: I'm glad you liked it!
@bytegrove: Thanks! Yeah the music can use a bit of work. ;) Thanks for the feedback!
@bigbazwa: Thank you!
@EdoMiyamoto: Heh, Thanks! :)
@Diamonde: Thanks! Yeah the second level was made in a rush so I need to spend some more time on it. Thanks a lot for the feedback!

May 1, 2013 @ 8:43am

Looking good, cool sounds! Couldn't figure out what to do, however... :( But thats just me...

May 1, 2013 @ 8:54am

@Martin_Monosys: Thanks! How far did you get? Yeah, game in general could be more clear on where to go.

kyyninen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Loved it! Second level was truly tricky, level started again every time when I tried to go beyond the part with the second red cube. If falling from too high kills player there should be a mention of it in the tutorial.

M0N0QUARTZ says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Graphics are beautiful, Love it. good job

May 1, 2013 @ 2:13pm

@kyyninen: That is indeed what is happening, it should have been in the tutorial but had to cut it due to lack of time. Thank you for the feedback!

@M0N0QUARTZ: Thanks! :)

MrHalfman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Awesome game. Polished & relaxing. I really loved this experience.
Thanks!

SirJson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:48pm

I love the style :D

Hadyn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:55pm

A really interesting and innovative idea, though perhaps hampered somewhat by a lack of clear direction. It generally feels as though you ask the player to solve a puzzle that will reveal a goal, rather than showing them the goal first and asking them to solve the puzzle to get there. This takes away some of the intentionality in player behaviour, I think - it's just trial and error until you find a place that works, that seems like the way forward. (This might seem hypocritical if you play my game, but I think it's a different kind of experience... maybe...)

But - and this is important - it's a really, really neat idea. Full marks for innovation, and I rate it high overall =]

fysx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Fantastic game! Brilliant mechanics!

The second level was very tricky! Took me ages to find out what to do with the second cube.

May 1, 2013 @ 4:24pm

@MrHalfman: Thanks! I loved making it! :)
@SirJson: Thank you kind sir!
@Hadyn: Couldn't agree more! This is probably the biggest thing I bring with me from this LD. Fantastic feedback, thanks!
@fysx: Thanks! :) Yeah the second level needs more work.. Will definately revisit it.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:45pm

The second level felt very difficult, even after I realized where to go, it still took me a while to discern how to get there. All those extra red blocks floating out in the air really mislead me. Still fun though. Nice atmosphere, interesting concept that I'd love to see more levels for.

May 3, 2013 @ 10:10pm

This is a great idea! Just walking around the level is fun :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:29am

amazing! love to see how you go the object to move like that

Spiridios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:58am

Giving you high scores for innovation, but I wasn't really having fun. I think you need to work on balance a bit and provide some way to lead the player from point a to point b. It seemed a bit random as to where you were supposed to go and how to get there.

May 4, 2013 @ 10:13am

@SnoringFrog: Definitely, I'll have to remove the floating blocks and work on guiding the player more. Thanks for the feedback!
@matthias_zarzecki: Thanks! :)
@MinionStudios: The unity project is included in the source, but basically every column in the level calculates an average of the distance to all of the glowing cubes in the level and adjusts their height based on that. :)
@Spiridios: Yes, very fair feedback. I will definitely have to work on that. Thanks!

Orni says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:20am

I love the concept and visual style - the game is very interesting as well

nicely done! :)

BrothersT says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Great game! Very clever.

juaxix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:50am

I'm loving the modifying-world based on the player movement, it is really interesting, if you put a little more art you will have an original fun game!

gregdevice says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:42am

Love the concept!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Looking pretty well. Growing world around the player is completely awesome! This idea is cool! Pity that I can't figure out how go through water in second room.

Erunaamo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Exploring this world and its rules is pleasantly disorienting. Love the bobbing water cubes.

Didn't finish but will return to play again.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]