April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon of the Rectangles

by antonijn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*************** POST YOUR HIGH SCORES BELOW! ***************
You get to know your score after dying (so kill youself once you get bored)

FOR LINUX/OSX USERS: YOU NEED TO INSTALL MONO.
**********************************************
sudo apt-get install mono-runtime
**********************************************

Imagine Wolfenstein 3D, but simpler. You won't be fighting nazis in this game, we've got something better for ya! Here at antonijn we have developed a revolutionary technology, capable of only drawing RECTANGLES!!! You will be fighting these rectangles, and get addicted to shooting the crap out of them, after which you will pick up the health packs they drop, 'cuz you'll need em.

If that sounded rambly, that's because it's 3:34 AM in the friggin' morning, and I can't even seem to form a single coherent sentence.

Just play the damn game will ya?!

Tested and stable on Linux Mint x64, Windows 7 x86 and Windows 7 x64.

BTW: True beauty lies within. Have a look at the source code. No 3D OpenGL was used in the making of this game... It was the first time I made a 3D engine, so there are some bugs here and there.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#386Theme3.71
#512Mood2.94
#589Fun2.95
#663Graphics2.90
#721Overall3.00
#899Audio2.10
#1072Innovation2.33
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

metaldemon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47am

Even though I saw this game get made I think it is simple, fun and addicting. Great work on the 3D engine!

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Simple enough, liked watching the stream. The game is quite challenging, unless you slow play it. PTFOing got me to 37 kills.

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Neat game! Smooth controls and clean graphics with the theme in mind. The blur fit perfectly.
It was kind of difficult though, finding the rectangles shooting you. Anyway I like it! :D

Orni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:06am

Liked it.

The black fog created a really nice effect in combination with the graininess - although the enemies became really hard to see, but that's the point of it :)

well done

kddekadenz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15pm

It seems like you forgot to package the binaries for Linux :(

gre says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Please rename "All Platforms" by "Windows"

antonijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:54pm

@kddekadenz I did not. There's a "launch.sh" file included in the zip!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Like it! The noise gives it a nice touch.

antonijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:54pm

@gre Why would I? It works on windows, mac and linux.

pereubu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Waw, great work on tech for a ludum dare.
The game is really aesthetic (I would just have turned the healthpack in some kind of green rectangle for example, instead of a drawing to have it more minimalistic)

Really, great job :D

Jellycakes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:07am

Really cool stripped down fps. Enjoyable despite the lack of content and yeah it did get me addicted. Really good job!

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:38am

@antonijn: ok my mistake then, even if you still need to install "mono", it is multi-plateform :)

I enjoyed playing your game, it's a nice 3D shooter, a bit hard to play at the beginning but then it becomes really addictive.
I also like the idea that less you have life, less you can see, it remind me a game I worked on last year ( http://dta.greweb.fr )

PTSnoop says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Very atmospheric. I often found it quite tricky to see where I was being shot at from - clearly I've got too used to having directional you've-been-shot-from-over-here markers. But good game!

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:02pm

It could be more challenging and with a bit more content, but otherwise good job! Especially since you made your 3D engine ;P

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Great use of lighting and pixellating the walls, sometimes those blocks surprised me by sneaking up from behind. Well Done =]

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Both versions had bugs unfortunately. On the web version, invisible rectangles nooo D:

On the downloaded version, it froze occasionally :/. I ended up inside one of the blocks after it unfroze, once.

The rectangles are everywhere! I killed a lot but then I got stuck inside the block :/

Fun! I love raycasting.

lightsoda says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:00am

Nice effort, good job from a technical standpoint.

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Fun and nice design! Love the way it pixellates when your health is down. Sometimes it seems like the rectangles spawn right in front of you or in the walls.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]