April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hopper

by AndyBumpkin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*** Update - now on Google Play for Free! ***

Hopper is about jumping! How many times can you jump before you lose?

------------------------

Hey everyone, thanks for checking out my little entry into LD 26, great to be here!

When loading the game it can take a few seconds for the music/sound to stream in. Sorry about that, I'm still learning the HTML5 ropes here.

Tools used:
Code - Monkey
IDE - Jungle
Art - Paint.net
Music - Renoise
SFX - BFXR

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#196Audio3.31
#448Fun3.10
#521Graphics3.07
#650Innovation3.00
#664Overall3.07
#714Humor2.00
#752Theme3.34
#852Mood2.59

Comments

ElScootro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Nice game! I didn't pick up on the health bar the first time around, but otherwise, easy to jump into and fun to play!

If you choose to keep developing this game, I would love to see some motivation for the player to jump regularly and bonuses for pulling off hard jumps. I found myself trying to jump between tight spaces just for the challenge!

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Super fun to play! I love how you used pong as a base and turned it into a completely different game. Also cool graphics & sound.

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:48pm

P.S: Highscore! (37) :D

Jod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:49pm

43 jumps! Glad I made it that far. It took me a while to figure out that jumping was the way to score and that the bar was my health. But once I did that, it's kinda fun to try and 'stunt' your way through the mines.

Love the music! Simple but good!

MaxguN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Fun to play but moving on the left feels tedious as it goes at the same speed at the spikes. Also some situations feel a bit impossible (3 following spikes at the height of the bar).

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

fun to play! highscore 43, will definitely play it again!

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Thanks for comments so far guys! Lovely to see you found it fun, and it's quite tempting to keep developing it!

Btw, my highscore so far is 73! I'm sure someone can smash that though ;)

CharlesBoury says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Highscore = 52 jumps !
Am I the best here ?

Also, as @MaxguN said, it feels very tedious to move left and right. I would very much move faster !
It reminded me of jumping in World of Warcraft. You jump for nothing, but you give yourself rules and you have fun.

qgi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Nice and juicy gameplay. Great visual fx and nice audio.

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

This was surprisingly simple and fun, also loved the audio.
A respectable 50 points on my second attempt.
Nice game :)

Orni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:30am

you made some excellent game design decisions - for example the shrinking platform representing your life (although it would be even better if you could move it independently from the ball - so you wouldn't loose the game because of some mechanic, but because it's way harder to catch the ball with a small platform)

the music was really amazing, I wish I could do music this good

fun game, I liked it
well done

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:31am

Very cute. ^_^

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:50am

This is nice. :) Loved the fact that you managed to mix the gameplay elements, like the paddle/lifebar, jumping/scoring. And the music fitted the game very well, very good job on that department.

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:23am

Some neat concepts good job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:41pm

I got 77 on my second attempt. Fun & challenging game, it kept me entertained for a couple of minutes. (;

galman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:49am

Nice game idea, played it for a while and my high score is 38! Well done :)

BumpkinRich says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Great idea. Got 43 once I realized that you can 'cheat' and jump during the tutorial.

Looks pretty too.

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Thanks again everyone, all comments are totally welcome. I'm working on this more post-compo and hope to have an improved version up and running soon :)

lotusgame says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:58am

A nice begining but not correctly balanced. I did not jump for 1mn, then i died quickly without any escape solution. By the way, i really like the size of the paddle showing your life ;)

marnaouf says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:53am

fun game. Loved how the bat represented your healthbar, very minimalist. Also, the music was incredible, I really loved it a lot. Nice Work.

Sebastian says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:56am

Neat idea and I love the way the health is represented. Excellent soundtrack!

foyosoft says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:44pm

41 jumps! The placement of the spikey things seemed a little too random, but it's a fun game none the less.

finefin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:44pm

hehe the idea of merging the paddle and the health bar is genius!

JohnnySix says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:18am

Nice concept, easy to pick up, hard to master. A little acceleration on the bat, especially going backwards relative to the mines would be cool.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Fun game. Nice idea with the paddle.

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Combos and tricks would make it more interesting, instead of just trying to survive.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]