April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Atmo

by Sab - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Atmo is a puzzle game based around a simple mechanic, you only have a limited amount of 'energy'. You have to get to the green tile and have exactly 0 energy. Any more and it won't let you win. Every tile you move loses you 0.1 energy, and you start off with 1. Certain tiles add or deduct energy.

The part of Atmo that I'm most proud of is the transitioning. Since the game is made from simple colours, I wanted to make something out of the transitioning. Personally, I think it looks good WITHOUT ruining the whole minimalist effect. Note: Occasionally, it may bug, but the tiles will appear, just without the effect.

SOURCE IS AVAILABLE, although it is very untidy and cluttered. Don't claim, etc etc. You will be able to see the start of a level editor. I didn't get around to finishing that as it would take to much time.

Game made in Game Maker 8.1.

Enjoy the game - Sab

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1864Coolness20%

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:05am

This would be a neat mobile game :)

Sab says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Thanks! I'm considering doing that!

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Nice mood going here - the music fits well, and I like the level fade in animations.

Xgor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Nice game, I kinda wish you got more feedback if you lost a level as it's just the same as the win one.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41pm

It's a very nice game!

phi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Nice idea and good music! Level design needs to have some more work put in I think.

Gravel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Great! the best entry I played so far.
I love the mood, the sounds and the finition's quality.
Good work!

Sab says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Thanks for the nice comments on the game! Really nice to hear!
Phi - I definitely agree. Level design isn't my strong point and making them suitable for minimalism was a pain. I scrapped a few decent levels since they were overly complex.
XGor - Yeah, definitely. I'll do that once the judging is over!

Thanks again!

May 3, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Most original game I've played. Very nice puzzle game with an original concept.

elbowroom says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:56pm

This was beautifully made. The graphics despite the minimalism and the simplistic visual effects (of spinning squares in space) are simply gorgeous. The music is very good and fits the game like a glove. The design and mechanics obviously hits the nail right on the head as far as the theme goes. The difficulty lvl is a bit on the easy side. The good thing is that there is a smooth challenge curve. I thought the "energy needs to reach 0 the moment you get to the exit" idea was pretty innovative. All and all I am glad I saw this entry and played it. As the Newgrounds' saying goes, "All my fives are belong to this".

lando walters says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:03am

Really solid entry. Enjoyed the minimal feel. However, it feels a bit on the easy side :/.

MinionStudios says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Super fun and simple! I love the music!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]