April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Quanta

by hmm - Jam Entry

The aim of the game is to cut the block into as many pieces as possible. Avoid the pieces as you go.

WASD shoot
Arrows move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1894Coolness17%

Comments

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Cool concept, quite fun to play. I don't know if it's a bug or a feature but a freshly cut rectangle can sometimes go crazy, making the game randomly hard to play.

Rubi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

The idea is great, this is pure minimalism!
I don't like the character rebound with the edges. I miss some music!

TravisChen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:17am

Simple fun. Great work.

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:52am

I agree with Rubi, you are right on the money as far as good minimalism idea goes. The lack of audio hurts any sense of mood and the splitting sometimes going the wrong direction hurts the fun element.

Don't get me wrong I still think you did a great job, you are a couple bug fixes and 1 audio track away from being one of the best entries in the whole competition. Keep at it! :)

hmm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:22am

Thanks for the comments! I agree on the audio absolutely, and would love to give the game a bit more atmosphere. Unfortunately time was against me.

The blocks going crazy is an artefact of the physics system. I can fix.

Metamist says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Pretty tricky game, would have been way better with some fast paced music along with it! Great job on this!

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Too bad collision doesn't work properly on small rectangles. Audio would have been great too.

Otherwise, very good game concept and gameplay experience, that's a 5-star for matching the theme, you could have add some color changing though.

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Heyyyy this game is really cool. I mean a great idea. I wish WASD and the arrows were reversed, but nice work. Very minimal indeed.

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Simple and fun. You really exemplified the theme well (5 stars from me). Frame rate dipped pretty low on one game where I had 450 pieces (though I am playing on a macbook air). Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]