April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SOLIX

by bentog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a minimal game where you control a different shape every level. The shape's contact with other colors make something different happen. Play it and you'll see :)

EDIT: I corrected the bug that made the last level unbeatable(or at least ridiculously difficult). This is allowed by the rules, as it is a correction of a last-hour mistake that makes the game unbeatable ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#19Innovation4.18
#117Fun3.60
#139Overall3.69
#218Theme3.91
#399Audio2.98
#651Mood2.78
#830Graphics2.68
#875Humor1.82

Comments

AnnynN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:48am

Very interesting game mechanics. The puzzles aren't that hard in the beginning, but get harder after some levels, so there is some challenge. Overall it's a fun game! :)

YM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50am

Really nice puzzle mechanic, fun to work out and complete.

The friction on surfaces got very annoying though and when combined with the timing elements proved too much for me.

zairon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43pm

This is a really fun game, although the controls are a little bit hard to use (just a little fast for me). I think that the puzzles are great.

Skye says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:44pm

It got a little hard there! Nice work though.

Narayan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46pm

I like the concept, well done !

orange08 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Good concept... but somewhat poor implementation. Most levels are pretty straightforward and require no critical thinking... the movement and friction are a bit glitchy as well, you might want to look into that.

shines says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Great game, the timed third level is a bit overly tough for the learning curve (just in getting the guy to go through the passthrough) but great game!

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:55pm

At the first view, I though I made the same game. In fact, it's completly different and very amazing ! Congrats

Felix20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Very nice concept, and it fits the theme well. The levels are not very hard though. The last one was only difficult because of the slightly wonky controls.
The graphic style is good though, as well as the music and sfx.

AstroEngiSci says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Very fun game. The concept was innovative and clever. The music got annoying after a while, though. But the feeling of victory after accomplishing a harder level was very satisfying. Well done!

QXD-me says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Ok, so this game is great, far better than my sleep-deprived brain can fully appreciate.

The only issue I has was that on the last level I thought the controls were a bit icky, but then I realised that I was just trying to solve the puzzle wrong and everything was fine.

multikorv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Nice idea and nicely executed! The music hurt my ears though. :)

dem0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Really unique idea! The puzzles were nice, too

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Really nice interesting game mechanic. Well done on developing it and the design of the levels. Good job!

cmayhem says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Really nice unique puzzler. The walls are a bit too sticky though and it's easy to accidentally bumb on a cube twice.

May 2, 2013 @ 6:58am

Clever mechanic. Thanks!

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Very clever game, a great challenge. And I like the Wurlitzer music, although some variation could be added for different levels. Well Done =]

Super Hamster says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:03am

Interesting concept, the controls seem a bit glitchy but that's ok. Keep up the good work! :D

Christian S. says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:27pm

I especially liked it, when you get four smaller cubes.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Unique mechanics in my experience. Very nice blending part of character into background to get through things... Organ Music ! Especially love the way you introduce more features, moveable walls, moveable switches

Pokemonsta says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:23pm

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

May 3, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Nice puzzler!

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:05am

Very simple, very fun... The color aspect is even better when applied to the mazes and moveable switches.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:18am

Very clever puzzle mechanic. It's deceptively simple, yet the puzzle gets gradually more clever. I've been stumped a few times, but in a good way. Nice job!

oatsbarley says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Clever mechanic and nice music! Well done.

Jorjon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:48am

This is similar to Zip! Nice game, maybe levels are too straightforward.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Great puzzle! It's a bit weird that you have inertia, but nonetheless great game.

klianc09 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Really great game, the idea itself is pretty smart^^ I just want to suggest some improvements, the switches that can be moved should be somehow marked differently from the stationary switches, it took me relatively long to realize I can move them, it would be cool if the player wouldn't abruptly stop when hitting a wall, but instead sliding along the wall, this would solve the problem with the inertia, some of the others were complaining about.

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Nice entry! Similarly to many physic based puzzle games, I just don't like when there's no determinist way to solve a puzzle (By that, I mean that you need to be do almost pixel perfect moves and collisions).

Oye Beto says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 5:53am

Wow this is very creative. I'm giving you 5 in innovation and fun. Clever game and level design.

The music is funny haha.

About your comment on my game: A door appears when you collect ALL the yellow squares and that's the only way to finish a level and get the "you win" message you are suggesting :)

I beated your game, did you beat mine? xD

bentog says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Oye Beto, I did get to the bottom. Don't know if I won, though :)

Oye Beto says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:46am

Did you collect ALL the yellow squares? because you have to in order to get the win message.

May 19, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Very nice game! I would like to see more levels. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]