April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Labyrinthine Tower of Misery and Flashing Colors

by BipoleMoment - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Read the README for installing directions (or just how to play, if Python and Pygame are already installed), and WASD or arrow keys to move.

If it's not downloading for some reason, email me at crocojim18@gmail.com for it. Actually, just email me in general about this game.

And yes, walls can disappear.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#274Innovation3.48
#294Theme3.82
#455Mood3.00
#596Overall3.13
#801Audio2.27
#835Fun2.68
#1142Graphics2.23
#1503Coolness41%

Comments

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:32am

Access denied to the download link, please change the sharing settings of the file so it will be possible to download

jpverkamp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Ditto that.

Paul Sinnett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:36pm

The download link doesn't appear to do anything?

BipoleMoment says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Does it work now?

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58pm

WORKING ! Thanks ! Lovely idea, minimalistic, really fun. 2 things I did not like are that you have to wait if you missed that background color you needed. And the sound.

shohs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:39pm

I enjoyed the game. I liked the long title for some odd reason, and the concept was executed very well. The two things I didn't like were getting stuck in a wall and the music. Otherwise good job.

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Great take on the jam theme! I would definitely keep playing this with more levels and a little more time into it. :-)

Paul Sinnett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:35pm

I can download the files now, but when I click the pyw file, nothing happens. I'm running Windows 7 if that's a problem?

BipoleMoment says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:39am

Did you install python and pygame? Or rather, did both install correctly? It should run on Windows 7 (that was one of the platforms I tested it on). Sometimes the installers don't work on specific computers, so you unfortunately have to find the right ones for your system. I put links for both in the README.

BipoleMoment says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:42am

And by the way, thank you guys! ^u^
You're the best.

I do plan on fleshing this out for an actual post-mortem game, so all of these things really help me. I can't say thank you enough.

And yeah. The music is creepy.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:25am

Felt a bit easy though slow. In most cases, you could just hold the intended direction of the destination and just wait for the colors to rotate. Suggest change up the color order or redesign levels so that you need to follow specific paths to get through the level rather than holding one direction and waiting. Also, that music gets painful pretty quick.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:42am

A little easy to get stuck if you're across two colors when the switch happens (mostly happened to me around the letters).

I like the color switching mechanic. A little harsh on the eyes, admittedly. (And the audio drone gets a bit annoying.)

Takes too much patience for me to personally like most of the puzzles, but there are some proper brain-twisting bits in there too.

If you want to make changes, you don't need quite as many rooms where the only thing you really need to do to get through is to brute-force it by waiting through the entire cycle.

If you're going to have lots of rooms that are relatively straightforward, maybe make it about finding a faster route than brute forcing it? Maybe a few rooms where if you hit the timing just right you can get through a lot quicker. You don't need to punish the player if they go the long way (the delay is punishment enough) but some rooms where the right approach means you just sail through would be a nice change of pace.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:42am

Oh, and I like the title and the text in the game.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:43am

I've played a lot of "you can't see all of the level" games this LD and this is my favorite by far. I wish it didn't end in a cliffhanger, but I really like that I'm being rewarded for what I notice about the level structure and not just tedious caution.

Excellent job!

brookman32k says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Cool idea, but the sound is very creepy. Also, you should use softer colors, my eyes hurt now ;) But overall good job!

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:56am

Good concept, good game, well executed except maybe the tune which was annoying after 2 seconds ;)

euske says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:26pm

One of my favorites. Very nice.

hnjslater says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:33pm

I hate to disagree with everyone else but this wasn't really my kind of thing. Was it perhaps to teach children patience? :)

ohsqueezy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:45am

I think the best part is when it says press escape to quit. It's like we could escape the entire time but we decide to walk through the tower of misery instead. Maybe this exists already, but imagine a game that was your character dying immediately after as you spawned over and over. After 100 times, it says press reset to start again or something like that. A lot of comments are suggesting ways to implement more strategy, but you could also go the other way and make it more punishing as a statement about the nature of misery.

HelkeGames says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Nice game, well done !

bowlercaptain says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Very nice game. I'm not sure if this is a new idea, but even if it isn't, it's the best execution I've seen. The only qualm I had with the music was that when it changed notes it didn't do so on a down beat, so it kept screwing me up. :/ Also, at times it became a tad difficult to find where the walls were and where the floor was.

Cosmologicon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:56pm

I like the basic idea and I appreciated what thinking it made me do. I even liked the music and the harsh colors. But any fun I would have had was lost by the really slow pacing. My least favorite was the screen right before "NO", whose solution is apparently "hold left for 40 seconds, then up for 40 seconds, then right for 40 seconds".

someone says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Nice concept, though it could do with something to make it more of a challenge than just waiting for the colours to switch.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:42pm

It sucks waiting for the colors to cycle. Other wise it was a great mechanic

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Was a nice game. A bit hard in some places which require pixel perfect precision but other than that, was a nice concept. Good job

Mach60KAS says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Nice entry, seemed a little short though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]