April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pixel Ninja

by numpad - Jam Entry

Hey,
this was my first Ludum Dare. And it was awesome!
Learned a bit about programming and so.
Note: I had not much time. I only worked 5 hours...
-----
What is this game about?
This game is about smashing "fruits" aka rectangles.
There are 3 different types: Bananas, Strawberrys and Apples.
Bananas give you 25-30 points. Apples give you 25-40 points, Strawberrys 35-40.
When a Fruit is not crushed and falls of the screen, you'll loose.
That's it. (I'm thinking about porting it to android as post-compo :) ).

Enjoy!

Edit:
Included a changelog, made some changes for 2 guys :)

Post-Compo:
Made a change for someone :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#133Theme(Jam)3.67
#199Fun(Jam)3.08
#234Humor(Jam)2.29
#358Audio(Jam)2.49
#359Overall(Jam)2.90
#370Graphics(Jam)2.85
#405Mood(Jam)2.53
#468Innovation(Jam)2.27

Comments

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Probably best game thematically I've seen so far, deserves more people playing it

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11pm

I can see that you were going for innovation hard with this one :p

I actually really like the way the fruits break up. I did feel that the controls didn't feel as precise as Iw anted. It's not clear what that line actually means.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Not bad, the mechanics are their, still needs something extra to make it more fun to play, but for 5 hours pretty good!

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:14pm

haha, fruit ninja with cubes/pixels :) awesome interpretation. love it!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17pm

It was kind of confusing that I had to click twice to start the game again and the sound effects started hurting my ears after a while but I like that you varied them a bit. :)

I quite enjoyed playing it, the only thing I'm missing is a highscore so that I can keep track of my progression.

Good job!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Great. Really good for a game made in 5 hours. Pretty fun, could use some more content but I suppose that would defeat the theme. Nice job.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20pm

A bit too easy for me, but hey: It works great and of course congratulations for your first Ludum Dare entry! :)

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34pm

ahahahha.. cool game!

numpad says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Thank you all for the feedback!
Made some changes for "SuperlevelSebastian" and "nintendoeats" :)

Felix20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:41pm

This was pretty good. It's very annoying that you'll lose if only one fruit falls down, one time it spat like 6 fruits at once 8o
Otherwise it was pretty sweet

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Sometimes the clicking seemed to not register, but for 5 hours - nice work!

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:20pm

I have no Java installed, sorry :(

sekaru says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:59am

I opened your game and was prompted to click to start. After I clicked the screen the game started and I was not sure what I was suppose to do right away. I got the hang of it after playing for awhile.

FREEZX says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:02am

Although the idea is not original, the game itself is pretty fun!

Xanjos says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:00am

This is probably the best minimalistic take on Fruit Ninja I have ever seen.

acro says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 10:53pm

1151 is my high score! ...Is that good? Anybody?
Never played fruit ninja myself, but there's just 1 flaw in this that you wouldn't get on a phone/ipad: clicking frantically outside the window, only to realise the inevitability of losing when the game gets mouse focus back!
All told, I really like this, and it's a very complete thing for the time you spent.
Also - you might not realise it, but "click to start" is a actually quite a clever touch, getting around Java sometimes not gaining window focus. I wish I'd thought to do that!

numpad says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Thanks for the feedback acro :)
1151 is a nice score! (My highscore is something about 900 :/)

HelkeGames says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Funny game, well done!

hgouveia says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Really cool fruit ninja like! i enjoyed it, but it seems the controls sometimes does't work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]