April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nirvana Quest

by dremelofdeath - Jam Entry

In the year 20XD7, Steve is stuck in a dead-end job, but he's about to quit and seek the fruit of spiritual enlightenment.

His journey is... NIRVANA QUEST

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#25Audio(Jam)3.98
#71Humor(Jam)3.19
#154Fun(Jam)3.22
#179Overall(Jam)3.36
#208Graphics(Jam)3.45
#220Mood(Jam)3.12
#307Innovation(Jam)2.84
#555Theme(Jam)2.06

Comments

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:49am

Love the audio. Great game!

Phase says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:55am

Interesting concept, level design needs a bit more tweeking

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:08am

The most interesting platformer I have ever seen. It was a completely different idea and very interesting.

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:51am

Really really cool. One of my favourite games I played here so far :)

TheChris says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:05am

I really like the art for this game. The design of the levels made it pretty hard at times but still a good game.

Oye Beto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:05am

- I can't see the theme anywhere but I liked the game.
- Nice opening screen.
- The controls are a little awkward.
- The parallax city at the background of level 1 looks pretty cool, reminds me of Canabalt.
- I didn't finish level 3. That level had my favorite music in the game.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:18am

I really liked the music, and I really missed it when it stopped playing. Then I realized that I'd grown an attachment to the music and that it was standing in the way of my ascendence.

I never completed my quest to Nirvana. I never managed to pass the spot with the rocks falling to knock you off the clouds. In the end, I think the game-over screen says it well.

Good job!

Ryusui says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:43am

Love the "meditation" mechanic, though it took me a while to figure out I was actually controlling the game's speed. That said, the first level is really a pain, design-wise - and I think it would've made more sense to start at the top and work your way down.

Leginar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Welp this is one of the best Ludum Dare game's I've played, and one of the better flash ones on top of that. Very good work to everyone involved

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Not sure how it fits the theme. But I enjoyed the effort that went into this. Amusing audio too. Good job all!

ENDESGA says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:27pm

very cool :D

atraxgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Haha, i loved the settings, it's a very original platformer, and the music is very good!

cakemonitor says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:23pm

A lot of fun and really nice graphical style, Good work!

GertJohnny says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:43am

Neat idea - wish it had checkpoints in the level though.

May 7, 2013 @ 9:37am

Loved the music! Great game.

Suese says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:34am

Kinda the opposite of sonic the hedge hog :p

brookman32k says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:36am

Fun game... i very much liked the music. The meditate mechanic was a nice twist to the gameplay.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Nice backgrounds and sprites!

Geoege says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:27pm

That game is kinda cool. Really like the meditation mechanic, that slows time, it's really smart.
Music is absolutely amazing and that start screen was pretty hilarious.

Nonetheless graphics are sometimes really good (canabalt like background in level 1) and sometimes absolutely MEH... (foreground in level 2 and 3, animals sprites in level 3).
There is also that level 3 (that i finally finished), wich is pretty ambiguous :
The game is kinda slow, i mean that there is a lot of waiting time due to the meditation mechanic and when you have to wait the plateform you want to jump on is near enough. Especially in level 3, it's nor good nor bad, just a choice you made.
But in level 3 wich is very long you decided to put a lot of waiting time couple with a lot of hard move that lead to immediate punition on a failed jump.And if you failed a bit much you have to start at the beginning. And that really long Anti-loose cloud isn't a viable solution, to let a chance to the player to win.

Here is the ambiguity, if you want to make a slow plateformer game with long levels like Mario, you HAVE TO place checkpoints and way to win more lives (after the level 1).
And if you want to make a Ultra speed and Hardcore plateformer game like Super Meat Boy, levels needs to be pretty short and there must be no lives and infinite restart possibiity.

dector says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:45am

Game reminds me old-style games in '90s. Thanks for that feeling :)

evilseanbot says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:06am

Good job supporting the concept behind the game!

I think the part that could use the most improvement is that the first stage requires a lot of waiting for platforms to move into position.

joe40001 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:29am

I liked it alot, one thing you need to fix though:
If you are like me when you get to the end you want to meditate so you press space bar, trouble is the game starts loading the ending and pressing space bar skips the end. I don't want to play through again just to see the end so I'd recommend having a delay or something so people can't accidentally skip the end, otherwise enjoyed the game a lot, music was awesome.

SamoojaMies says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Great music! Meditation skill was interesting :)

kibertoad says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 10:04am

great looking and well-balanced platformer. awesome job.

MinionStudios says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Hilarious and fun, love the audio and the meditation meter!

kddekadenz says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:06am

Eh, cool intro, but then the screen wents black and I just hear the sounds.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:18am

@kddekadenz, we thought we had fixed that bug... it might be possible that your flash player is out of date? Could you try again and let me know if it works for you?

kddekadenz says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:03pm

@dremelofdeath: Yes, my version of Flash is outdated. Adobe dropped Linux support and the packages they provide are hard to install. The bug still occurs.

DST says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Very interesting game!

Dotanukii says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Really great music and i love the health system. i found the platforming to frustrating at times though, and i didn't think it went with the theme as well as it could have. Really great game though!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]