April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mono Caves

by Jools64 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Update:
I made a small fix to prevent a game breaking glitch where key's wouldn't pick up.
I also fixed a typo bug where enemy projectiles wouldn't enable the invincibility frames. (As far as I know both these fixes are within the rules).

If you wish to play the UN-altered original version then click the "Glitched" link. Otherwise the Newgrounds one is the one to play. ;)

CONTROLS:
Z - shoot
Enter - Select continue if on main menu or advance any other screen.
Directional Buttons - move
Use the mouse to click menu buttons

This is a classic explore the dungeon, shoot the bad dudes kinda game. It features only two colours and two tracks in the music. (Kinda goes with the name I guess.) ;D

I used the following tools:
Flash Develop
FlashPunk
LMMS
GIMP
SFXR
Ogmo Editor

I didn't know I was actually going to enter this until the last moment so I didn't really get to make a dev diary. I did how ever record my efforts so I'll get a timelapse up soon.

Of the 48 hours I really only spent about half my time working on this game because I didn't think I was actually going to enter. In the end I really wanted to finish what I'd started though so here we are. I'm happy with what I came out with even if it's very short and simple. It's my second flash game ever and the first time in ages that I've touched AS3 so there's a few really hackish things in the code. Feel free to use it for what ever you like though. Also sorry if you find the music irritating, it was a real rush job at the end.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#65Audio3.70
#124Fun3.59
#158Overall3.66
#180Graphics3.72
#234Mood3.31
#611Theme3.48
#627Humor2.13
#1077Innovation2.32
#1619Coolness36%

Comments

syawqy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16am

I like your drawing

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38am

I'm digging the music and audio aesthetic. I can't figure out how to get the key, though.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43am

The pace is very frantic. I didn't know any way to avoid two of the hits, so getting the second key must be difficult...

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Nothing but the essential. Good game.

FenrisWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:07pm

The music in the game is what sold me on it! Really well done there. My only complaint is that I wanted to shoot up and down the whole game. Apart from that a very impressive 48 hour game!

kannas says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13pm

The art is fantastic, man. And i like the game in general, though i don't agree with your philosophy of only orizontal shooting xD

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:34pm

I like the audio and the graphics of this game. This is a good game.

rxi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Really digged the 1bit graphics, the animations were nice and the music and sound worked well. I was doubly impressed since you say you completed it in half the 48 hours. The controls felt smooth, and the game play felt very fun.

I liked the fact that you could only shoot side ways yet move in any direction, I also liked the fact that you could only shoot in the direction you were running. Both these elements added a sort of extra challenge. The shooting side ways gave it a feeling of a side-scrolling space shooter.

The levels felt well made, there were plenty of them yet the game didn't feel as if it dragged on, the variety of enemies kept the game interesting. After dying on a level you often learnt something, like knowing a better place to flee in that particular area, so when you encountered it again you were able to beat it without frustration and without many failed attempts.

Overall I'm fairly impressed with this entry and had fun playing it! Though deceptively simple it was very enjoyable.

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Great job on this one! Solid gameplay, and great level design.

Axelhein says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Very good! I accidentally clicked the new button after dying a number of times. This was very frustrating and eventually lead to me quitting the game. I think it would have been better if the level had just restarted automatically when you died. Other than that, I think it's a great game. I love the music. The levels are very well designed and there is obviously a lot of content there.

saguaro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Not being able to shoot up or down got me in a little trouble, but I liked the added challenge. You nailed the theme on this one, very nice.

Volute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:05am

Great mood ! Amazing job on the music.

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Only sideways shooting with enemies coming from all angles can get a little frustrating. Other than that it's pretty decent, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]