April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Left vs. Right

by Canobie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Great Struggle is a game where you are a blue square and you have to get a red square. That's it, kinda...

*Not tried on windows, assuming it works*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#249Theme3.88
#515Innovation3.17
#864Fun2.65
#967Overall2.78
#1165Graphics2.19
#1194Mood2.00
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:35am

Really fun, once you play a few times it begins to get easier. It'd be nice to have some kind of shade to show the range of the blue square in the next turn.

TP2k says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Launches fine on Linux, but it doesn't recognise any keyboard input for me. :(

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Tough! Couldn't quite figure out a strategy and gave up after losing about 10 times.

Also, I think the computer cheats. Sometimes after I make my 3 moves, Blue remains in the same space, which should be impossible, right?

Coruon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Cool game, had me stumped a couple times, but once I started winning it became fairly easy. As Ludipe said, some way of seeing where the computer moved would be nice. Or the option of different board sizes? I'm just thinking of other ways you could expand on this idea. For the simplicity of it though, it's a pretty decent game.

berkano says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Works great on Windows here. Took a while to get the hang of it! Would be good if the blue square moved more slowly so we could understand what it's doing. Needs sound :-) Nice job!

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:17pm

That's a pretty neat game idea. The biggest problem I have is that it seems to be a bit too simple and predictable, such that it is easy to make a strategy that wins every time. Like tic-tac-toe.

Frolacosta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Really fun but quite a challenge at first! Took me 9 rounds to win :D
I do think some sort of shadow of which blocks the CPU moved through would be nice

ananasblau says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:01am

I often lost without the blue being near me. maybe its correct position wasn't redraw? An animation with the blocks moving from one field to the next would solve that issue.
Other than that, nice simple gameplay.

zazery says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Took me 9 rounds to beat the CPU. I like how minimal the rules are and yet it's quite interesting. The trick I found to defeating the CPU is to more 1 square a turn by moving a space, forward, and back. I also noticed blue didn't move sometimes.

TheCze says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Simple Gameplay but quite fun gj.

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Awesome game! Something that could be better is see the CPU moving it's 3 squares, sometimes feels like the player is playing forever without taking turns (the CPU moves too fast). Other than that, congratulations!

free_napalm says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:22pm

It would have been nice to actually see the attack of the blue square.

f7f5 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Works well on windows, but sometimes the computer doesn't move? Simple but somehow interesting strategy game, kept me playing for some rounds.

Shugor says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:53pm

This is an interesting idea for a game; it can be hard to figure out a strategy based on what the computer is doing. It seems like the computer plays by slightly different rules than you, but since that's working as a balancing factor of sorts it's alright. It's a simple game, and it follows the theme well~

SnoringFrog says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:53pm

While it makes no sense that the computer can opt to not move sometimes, I was fine with that since that was usually what enabled me to beat it. Found a couple patterns that generally always made the comp slip up, but even then I had to play to round 43 before I had won more rounds than the computer.

As others have mentioned, some animation showing the computer's moves would be nice, and maybe a little sound too.

PPLo says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:15pm

So hard to beat the CPU. 2 victories in 10 rounds :/
But good game anyway! A 2 player versus boardgame version of this game could be nice.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]