April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

LD 26-B0xPaiNt

by ecool377 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first FULL 3d game. shoot n stuff, extra room, first time using JS. EDIT: I am continueing the game after the LUDUM! The full game will cost 2.50 http://ecoolsagamedev.wordpress.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#791Humor1.93
#984Theme3.06
#1036Mood2.36
#1045Audio1.48
#1051Innovation2.38
#1060Graphics2.35
#1179Fun2.19
#1230Overall2.39

Comments

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:49am

It reminds me my first entry to the LD !It's a very good start, don't forget to add some music or sound effect for a better ambiance !

ecool377 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:33am

this is my secound ludumdare but my first 3d game dident have time for that.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:44am

I clicked a bunch and the physics were amusing, but I wasn't sure if I was supposed to go anywhere. I ended up jumping off into the void. The text glitched out when I clicked too fast, but I can only assume there was some deeply Zen ending.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:44am

Keep working on this after the competition is over with. I think you can end up with a pretty neat, visually pleasing and fun game.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46am

Really neat concept. I would love to see a more complete version. Playing this now is a bit of a pain... mouse sensitivity was over the top and I couldn't invert. The words were kinda obscured because sometimes there were multiple things of text right on top of each other and it became an illegible jumble. I really believe you have the start of something good here, though.

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:32am

nice idea for toy mode!

mohammad says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:57am

I could see that you've definatly imporved
These re not complaints and I will not deduct points on this, these are just unity tips, as im using the source to show you the tips in actions and even more.

-Your gun seems to be in one place, and fires in one place, this could be fixed by making the gun a child of the camrea, so when it shoots, It shoots in the direction of the camera, and wont be in one place.
-An ending, optional, but it doesnt seem like a game when the story is a sentance broken into scrambled parts
-At least some music or something, again optional
-The toy mode is nearly impossible as the enemy AI is too fast and unspottable, and dispite bieng zombies are quite smart
-A retrun to menu button
-Restart the game if you fall out of the level, tedious as all hell
-And finnaly maybe some more enimes rather than just a bunch of walls in story
If you don't feel like working on this, no problem, i'm doing it for you. Just saying, when you compare it to mine you see what I mean.

ecool377 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:34am

http://ecoolsagamedev.wordpress.com/ if your into my stuff, heres my blog. Btw mo, I had limited time, so yeah im going to continue B0xPa1nt. Also, I have been making games for about 3 years now, this is a large improvement, its just a small game though.

ecool377 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:44am

have you guys found the secret level yet?

mohammad says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Yes, click the box to your left

vinull says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:08am

this has the start of an interesting visual style - I would keep playing with this one to see where it takes you =)

Jellycakes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:26am

Those boxes were scary! Pretty cool game though, was really nice to play! Good work!

May 1, 2013 @ 4:28am

Oh! The secret level is a nice touch.

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:58pm

I like it, strange game with nice colors

mohammad says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:05pm

ERIC! I'VE DONE IT! I FIGURE OUT WHY THE TEXT IS BARGARSGDAJHABS!
You set the triggers to activate if ANYTHING collides with them, instead of just the player!

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:06pm

An excellent start to making games, fun use of colour, just be aware of how materials and drawcalls work. Those enemy blocks are fast and relentless. Don't stop learning and making games. Well Done =]

ecool377 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Mohammad, i changed the text recently, you will see it in the demo of the game, and i thought i all ready told you that.

intripoon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:13am

"Sometimes, we just need to"
do what? do whaaaaaaat?!?!?!

May 5, 2013 @ 11:58pm

"File Belongs to Non-Validated Account.

The resource you are trying access belongs to an account that has not yet been validated"?

Can't download it. :/

May 8, 2013 @ 2:36am

How do you lose? Even jumping into oblivion just kept going.

DaveDobson says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:43am

Interesting game - the block physics is really cool, and I like all the changing colors. I wasn't really sure what to do - I reached the lower platform with the collapsible wall, and that seemed to be it. Smooth motion, fun shooting, not a ton to do, although it was fun to just play around. I entered an infinite fall at one point, and there was no way out of it. Fun to play with - nice work...

avidgamerNino says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:16am

The visuals are there, I just didnt feel any gameplay, keep working on it you have a good start.

May 17, 2013 @ 3:13am

nice with the boxes all over. :D super sensitive movement might be disorenting for some ppl. nice blooms on lights.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]