April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Soccer

by kochb - Jam Entry

I wanted to use Haxe 3.0 dev, and NME 4.0 dev but there seems to be some bugs that have yet to be worked out when rendering in flash and freeing memory in HTML5. So I used them anyway and could only export to Windows (Linux doesn't compile either).

Anyway, I have made a game where you get the ball(s) to the goal by making circles and rectangles. The code is setup to add joints (both solid and powered on key press) but I don't have any more time to put into this.

Make sure to extract the whole zip before running the .exe.

Controls:
Mouse (click,highlight)
Z enable dragging
R enable rotating
BACKSPACE delete selected shapes
CRTL-A select all shapes
+ unpause
- pause

The trick is that you can only build while the game is paused and before the level has started.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#332Theme(Jam)3.13
#417Audio(Jam)2.00
#452Innovation(Jam)2.33
#499Mood(Jam)2.00
#537Fun(Jam)1.91
#540Graphics(Jam)1.91
#549Overall(Jam)2.13
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:43am

If there is an actual game here I cannot discern it.

Farjuan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Nice, minimalistic crayon physics, just hard to figure out how to play

Yakyb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Crashed immediately on load for me I'm afraid

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Can't play, don't have windows :(

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Nice concept. The interface was a bit hard to figure out though :(

hannesdelbeke says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:34pm

no idea what to do

Cyboot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Interesting game. I took me quite a while to figure out the interface.

But nevertheless good job.

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Had another go, managed to pass the levels. Making the goal zone a different colour would help.

Didn't figure out how rotating elements worked.

kingsman142 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:47pm

I like the concept, but the ball physics were a bit awkward (it studders and seems a bit slow). I wish the buttons would toggle instead of having to make click rectangle or circle everytime to make an object.

nseward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:54pm

All the pieces are there but the UI and graphics need a little cleaning up. It is too much to ask people to remember hot keys these day. Great potential. I hope to see a polished version of this for you project next Wednesday.

radmars says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:36am

Also crashed for me, win7 64.

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:09pm

I took quite a while to figure what to do but it's a nice job. Cheers!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]