April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Strategia

by frr171 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The mechanics didn't end up as well as I had intended, and the lack of path-finding screws AI up, but the game is at least playable.

Strategia is a Puzzle-RTS - every level should only have one solution, requiring you to tactically use different unit types.

There are 8 levels.

MAC + LINUX USERS: You can still play the game! If you have Love 0.8.0 (https://love2d.org/) installed, then you can just download the .love file and run that in the engine.

Controls:
Left-Click - select a unit (hold shift to select multiple)
Left-Click and Drag - box selection
Right-Click - assign a way-point for all selected units

R - Restart current level
Esc - Leave current level and return to level select

Use the scroll wheel to zoom in and out.

Hints - http://pastebin.com/GGELWV8y
Timelapse - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-kGFariyQ7c

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#205Fun3.43
#400Audio2.97
#539Mood2.90
#553Overall3.17
#664Theme3.43
#815Graphics2.70
#890Innovation2.67

Comments

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:29am

I really enjoyed this, found the music and sound effects to make it feel cute while you massacre the reds

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37am

Nice, quite an achievement completing an rts in 48. Well done. Well made, with a nice amount of polish and juice.

San says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44am

Original for a LD game, simple graphics, simple sounds, really in the theme. I've not yet finished it but the lack of real pathfinding is a bit annoying. Still a good job!

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:56am

Liked this pretty good, played all 8 levels.

ericlass says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41pm

I enjoyed. Played through all levels.

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Simple and fun, enjoyed turning the tables, it never got challenging, which is a relief considering a lot of the LD games I've reviewed are brutally hard.

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Very fun game. Nice to see another RTS in this LD. :)

LoneStranger says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:08am

I liked it. The pathfinding was annoying, and did throw off a little of the fun, but for the most part you could plan around it.

Andy West says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:08am

Surprisingly fun... and minimal!

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:09am

Cool to see games that work out the box with very little effort. Had no problem whatsoever to run it. Nice take on the classical RTS game. Very simple to pickup and enjoy.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:30am

epic win! -- nice and easy to play and followed the theme -- awesome job!

bushmango says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:38am

Very nice, although I think the later levels are easier than the early levels :)

dalbinblue says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:48am

Nice easy controls for a typically complicated genre. Two comments: would like to have seen a few harder levels as it wasn't too difficult, and on the last level I got a few shooters lodged in the wall somehow and couldn't get them out. I was able to complete the level without them though.

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:39am

Pretty cool game, the mechanics coupled with the relaxing music really do make it enjoyable to play. Nice job!

weesals says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:50am

Very nice, the puzzles were a little easy, but quite enjoyable and satisfying to complete.

paulopn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Really good, specially considering you made an RTS in 48hours!
One bug: Sometimes units got stuck inside walls and there was no way of progressing.

klianc09 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:16pm

I like it, could have been more challenging though.

someone says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:54pm

That was great. Simple but effective. Well done.
Occasionally the units would get stuck, and once ended up spinning round in circles.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]