April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Swimming Fool

by blackmagic - Jam Entry

Here is Swimming Fool.

There is no preloader so please wait until the whit screen become blue :)

It is a game about jumping and introspecting. Our view of minimalism was about, being a human, having lost everything and ultimately being an idiot.

After a difficult start we finally managed to put our game online!
We hope you'll enjoy it

Move: left and right arrow keys
jump: up arrow key/space


Code: @BlackMagic
Game Design: @gandhirules
Music: @HallouinMathieu
Art: @CarduusHimself

SOUNDTRACK AVIABLE !!! OMG OMG !!!

http://snd.sc/ZVMEoZ

Post-Jam:

Built a new version :
-no longer stuck in dialogs, you can leave the crasy people alone now !
-a random phrase is then thrown , more dialog more fun or not... XD
-only elvis sticks you
-changes fonting in intro, font embedding was ugly
-updated css, woooww new centered button
-lessened run speed for more precision & efficiency

- as a side note we have to say we put a lot of love to write meaningful texts that matches the theme and mood. They may seem cryptic but they sure as hell are written to mean something despite our poor froglish capacity.

- as a side note we won't make the game less easy or one button, come on guys, enjoy control and challenge !


XOXO and loud thanks for playing !

Swimming Fool Team

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#21Graphics(Jam)4.44
#35Audio(Jam)3.90
#75Mood(Jam)3.65
#79Humor(Jam)3.14
#126Overall(Jam)3.53
#194Fun(Jam)3.10
#237Innovation(Jam)3.10
#424Theme(Jam)2.78
#1471Coolness44%

Comments

Tyro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Would love to try it, but when I click the link I'm just met with a blank white page. Not sure what the problem is.

blackmagic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Is there a precise error ? 404, page cannot finalize or anything ?
The game is running on stage 3d, some low end pc can have issues running it. You should ahve latest flash and latest video driver to enjoy ( a non intel gpu is a must too ) ...
thanks anyway, we hope you ll reach the game :)

blackmagic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Hi tyro, found this, http://forums.adobe.com/message/4730337 it may indeed involve flash if not a web err. xoxo.

Tavrox says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:06pm

The game is really slow to start but it comes after a little time :) If there is a white screen it's the preloading taking some time ;)

Waynetron says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Graphics are super pretty but I find for such a fast paced run the speech parts really slow the game down.

LionelJitro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23pm

" Sorry! We could not find www.blackmagic.vg

It may be unavailable or may not exist. Try using the suggestions or related links below, or search again using our web search. "

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:30pm

link doesn't work for me?

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

awesome game. The text dialogs were a bit too much and irrelevant imho. Art style reminded me of the story "the little prince". :)

FlashRocks says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:31am

This is very nice game. Looks professional, and had me addicted. I couldn't stop (or even change the browser tab!) until I finished it. :)

blackmagic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:53am

Apparently the DNS record is not propagated all over the world... We replaced the url by the IP based one. Sorry for the inconvenience !
Enjoy !

Yakka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:55am

Too hard for me, but very polished! I loved to play it.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:48am

Awesome art, awesom music, awesome everethyng except unscippable dialogs :) I carefully avoided all dialogs after the second one.

Thotor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:11am

Very nice game play. Both Music and Arts are awesome.
I also wished we could skip the dialogs.

blackmagic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:44am

Thx dudes, it's moving to have some feedbacks, we will do something to skip the dials :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Awesome animation and idea! The main character's trajectory was kind of erratic and not space-like though. Overall, very nice and polished, congrats!

Demurgos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:57pm

That's strange because I felt that the game was rather slow (but people say it was fast).
It's sad that dialogs are not really linked together and the map is so small.
One last problem : why is it easier to go down instead of up... when there's no up or down in space ? It was really confusing.

About the good points, the graphics and music are good but I'm not sure if the music fit the content :/

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:02pm

I'm stuck on a white screen :( Screenshots look good, I want to try :D

blackmagic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:34pm

@masadow have you tried to update flash and update video drivers ?

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:03pm

GRrr, not the dialogues... Too much retries too... No time to play it grr :D

Very nice graphics but damn, the waiting and retries kill the fun for me ;(

Roffe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Really nice graphics!
Controllers felt a litle off though
Overall nice game !

ayamflow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Sick graphics, music, humor...But the gameplay is a bit hard/confusing, got stuck forever on a small jump.

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:49am

Fun game with awesome graphics and sound.

robotality says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Nice visual and sound. The screen was a little bit to big for my laptop resolution. ;)
I needed some time to get the hang of the controls but then it was fun.

blackmagic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Aha yeah its an HD ready resolution 720p

Tipyx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Very nice, beautiful and fun to play ! Maybe a little repetitive and long when the people are speaking :)

Verazael says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:27pm

I can't see where the hell I can download the source. Is there some hidden button or something?

ArkadyDracul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Nice :D

blackmagic says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:04am

@Verazael : maybe the third link on the top of this page? :D

Verazael says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:56am

Haha, no shit! No, I meant, from there, I can see how to browse your project but the downloads section seems empty. Do I have to get all the files one by one or something?

blackmagic says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:04am

@Verazael
You have just to check out the project with SVN, u have a checkout button with all the information you need to proceed de checkout :)
https://code.google.com/p/blackmagic-ludumdare/source/checkout

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:21am

Well done! Easy to grasp yet sometimes frustrating... And I would agree with the slow dialogs. But I am speaking about the 'official release' here.
Anyway that's a good Job team! bravo les gars :)

blackmagic says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:23am

Merci Mec ! On t attends pour la post Ludum Beer

TurboDindon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Excellent entry! It's fun, coloured, animations are hilarious. Loved the intro, loved the art. Good to see so polished games in that competition.
5 stars of course.
Super bon taf, bravo !

blackmagic says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Thanks dudes :) and GG for Mustache Army ! Hilarious !

imagnity says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:36pm

I don't know which portion wouldn't get 5 stars. It's just PERFECT!

_Rilem says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Great visuals and audio, minimalist gameplay. I'd say a very nice entry for this theme! :) I found it a bit hard though, or I just suck, lol. So the checkpoints were much welcome. :D

May 3, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Lovely game! nice music and graphics. Too much talking, detracts from "game"-part

BrothersT says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:00pm

The game mechanic is really fun! Unfortunately there was a lot wrong with the dialogue which really slowed the game down, which you've already addressed :) but I've got to mark based on the compo version! Everything else was nice. Graphics, music etc. congrats!

0beah says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Takes a while to load. Really love the graphics. Controls are little odd, I had difficulty changing directions once I jumped.

axcho says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Looks great, but runs at about 2 fps for me. :/ There's no reason that a Flash game should have to depend on GPU-acceleration for this kind of art style...

May 6, 2013 @ 12:43am

Great graphics and sound. It was hard to control, I couldn't predict which way I would go and got by mainly on trial and error. Maybe you can actually show the gravity wells somehow to better inform the player.

Milo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:25am

This is a beautiful game - it's so well-polished. Every bit of the exterior of the game - its graphics, its audio, its dialog, has a nice character. It was a satisfying story, although I wish there was more substantial gameplay outside the dialog.

shawn42 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:07am

Wow. Good work. I just had to finish this game. The mechanic was a lot of fun.. just a little off.. will try to time it up better.. jump / miss .. SOO close.. Fun.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:22am

It's a great experience. Challenging.

blackmagic says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:13am

@axcho indeed we are pretty used to flash games ( see motion twin on google... ) but we can assure you it could not run without gpu accel being coded in 3 days (optimising for flash requires lot of work...). See ya :)

May 6, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Looks nice, even with the notice that I have to upgrade video. But as aiming is hard and the game is slow it gets a bit frustrating.

LionelJitro says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:43am

Glad I came back to play this.

Really nice work. Great graphics and sounds.

acro says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Played the 72h version to rate, haven't looked at enhanced. It's really cool, and a really impressive amount of animation, content and style for 72 hours - it's very polished in appearance. The gameplay feels nice and fluid, with some challenging parts but seems to have less finesse than the graphics. My only slight moment of frustration was the trial-and-error aspect of when moving planets disappear.
Only things I'd have wanted improved for enhanced version were: I had really no idea what the captions were supposed to be saying, they didn't make much sense. And the loading time for that amount of graphics/sound was just ridiculous.

lasergans says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Nice graphics and music. :)

ataxkt says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Looks and sounds amazing! The text took forever to scroll though, which was annoying, and I expected planetary gravity rather than the floaty jump as is. Nice fun.

mungoman1 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:55pm

All around great game, well done! The art is fantastic, love the animations and music, could see this being very popular on the app store & google play. One recommendation is to use less dialogue to tell your story.

May 10, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Great stuff, I guess you're all professionals in the games/web industries, ain't you ? :)

May 10, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Brilliant, loved it!

GaTechGrad says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:41am

Nice graphics. The difficulty curve seems to be a little steep, as I could not get past the first checkpoint with the three suns. Leaves very little room for error.

stqn says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Very nice, great graphics and music/sound. Unfortunately with firefox / intel hd graphics the game also has very low FPS and it was sometimes hard to choose the correct direction for a jump.
I would have liked to restart from the latest asteroid after a death instead of restarting from some checkpoint far away.

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Jumping between asteroids interested me. If you continue to develop this, it was hard for me to predict what the arc would be. I wasn't sure what the influence was from asteroids if any on the trajectory.

TheSheep says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:36pm

The unskippable, cheezy dialogues ruin the mood. Not sure what affects the path. Otherwise a nice "planet jumping" game.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:45am

I'm experiencing some really bad lag playing this game. It was difficult play.

Codexus says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Very pretty, nice character animation. I gave up quickly though as I couldn't figure out how to make a jump.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]